We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 100: English reviews
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

If you are doing your research and wondering about this place then let me state a few facts for you. It is 30km away from Vientiane, it's in a rain forest and it's by a river. That means that you stay pretty much on site (tours not withstanding), it's wet and occasionally even a little mucky and that 5 star...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and off course the fact that you know before it is a ecolodge in the jungle it can not be that eco stands here for very dirty and we had one off the private bungalows i did not look at the ones who shared the bathroom.I asume they are even worse. Old is not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mimiton
BarnsLaos, Manager at Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge, responded to this review

First of all, having looked at the prices of the previous accommodations you have reviewed (luxury safari lodges in Africa at $495/$240/$75/$150 per night etc) I have no idea what you expected at an ecolodge in rural Laos for $38 per night. I feel no shame whatsoever at asking such a price, especially considering about $8 of it covers the...

SIN
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed here at the end of our Laos trip last year and am finally getting around to writing up the review. We only spent one night on our way back from LP before flying home to Singapore and chose Rivertime specifically because it was out in the country. Pickup from the airport was smooth and we had a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CT_Mtn_Biker
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We booked this stay on a whim, but we were really glad we stayed there. Barnaby, his family and all of the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We spent our time rekaxing by the river swinging in hammocks and dangling our feet in the floating swimming pool. On our last night we had arange to have a tradtional Baci...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katieanddale
BarnsLaos, Manager at Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge, responded to this review

I'm glad you liked it! It was a pleasure having you both here. However, I do need to clarify that the hole was in the ceiling panel not the roof! We had already bought the new panel and varnish but hadn't had time to fit it. I apologised for it while you were here and you said it wasn't a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Do go: If you want to kick back and relax on an amazing floating restaurant in rural Laos. If you want to meet local people, see local villages and way of life. If you are easy going and understand that things may not always work properly or happen when they are supposed to. Don't go: If you need 5 star...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mic_check12
Vientiane
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My weekly weekend retreat from Vientiane. I think I'd go mad here without this beautiful place. Barnaby and all his staff are great. Sit (guest manager) will bend over backwards to take care of "his guests". Very rural and very very authentic Laos. Food's great, rooms are just as you'd expect for an eco resort. Beautiful Villages nearby with some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laos-Marc
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Rivertime was our firsthand introduction to Laos, its people and the culture. The 30 minute trip from the airport was a good indication that this wasn't going to be a boring 5 star experience. We got to see villiage life and stay in accomodation that was simple, peaceful and authentic. The staff were good humoured, relaxed and so accomodating in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian G
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I stayed at the ecolodge in February this year and I can honestly say it was one of the most memorable and enjoyable experiences of my trip. Staying at the ecolodge is a really precious opportunity to experience Laotian village life...far away from the tourist traps of the major landmarks; and isn't experiencing other cultures and ways of life why...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vonotron
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I recently stayed 4 nights at Rivertime, did absolutely nothing and yet the time just flew by. Barnaby is a fine host, welcoming but also honest in his words. The same can be said for his staff, they are willing for a chat and eager to please. Through drinking at Rivertime with some locals I was invited into their village...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Rivertime was exactly what we needed after a couple of weeks traveling from city to city. A hidden oasis amongst the trees with a beautiful river at the doorstep. It also gave as a real taste of Laos life, surrounded by small villages and staffed by friendly locals who are willing to sit down over a drink or two and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dougalshaw
BarnsLaos, Manager at Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge, responded to this review

Thank you for a more rational review of what we try to offer here. I'm glad you liked it and didn't expect it to be something it's not!

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
26.3 km away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#23 of 97 in Vientiane
180 reviews
25.3 km away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 97 in Vientiane
364 reviews
26.1 km away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 km away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#5 of 194 in Vientiane
436 reviews
25.6 km away
Moonlight Champa
Moonlight Champa
#2 of 194 in Vientiane
270 reviews
26.1 km away
Mixay Paradise
Mixay Paradise
#15 of 194 in Vientiane
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a riverside ecolodge resort only 30 km outside of Vientiane which offers a true taste of rural Lao life but with most of the comforts of home. We have a floating restaurant on the river and offer a range of activities such as local village tours, tubing, cooking classes, massage, a sauna nearby, boat trips, fishing, free bicycles etc. We do our best to live in harmony with both the local people and the surrounding forest. We also donate $2 per guest night to local education and community projects. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge

Address: Ban Thadokkam, Vientiane, Laos (Formerly Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Price Range: ₹ 1,003 - ₹ 1,337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivertime Resort And Ecolodge Hotel Vientiane
Rivertime Hotel And Ecolodge
Rivertime Hotel Vientiane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are private and set delightfully in jungle with interconnecting paths.”
 of 5 bubbles ShotleyGate, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else until renovated.”
 of 5 bubbles bryanb169, 8 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Wifi available in the office only. Detached bungalows are the best option.”
 of 5 bubbles B3422ESianm, 17 Mar 2015 | Read review
“definitely opt for the private cabins rather than the shared room, it's worth a few extra dollars.”
 of 5 bubbles michelledM7761DK, 3 Dec 2014 | Read review
“besides private rooms they have also dorm which can accommodate until 4 persons”
 of 5 bubbles Charlotte7463, 3 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5