We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Settha Palace Hotel

Agoda.comUS$ 141*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 205*
US$ 141*
Great Deal
US$ 174*
US$ 201*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Settha Palace Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Settha Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 342: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed here in November 2013 following a few days in Luang Prabang. I found this hotel lacking in staff focus, probably as a consequence of poor management. I never set eyes on any potential "management personnel" during my stay. Location is good but room was old and tired. The worst aspect was the large number of Mosquitos which seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rod m
SetthaPalaceHotel, General Manager at Settha Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. At the Settha Palace, guest contact is very important to our management executives and we do make it a point to meet as many of our guests as possible. We apologize, as it seems for some reason we were not able to have met you in person during...

Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Delightful heritage property with lovely staff, excellent food and very helpful management.200 min characters is silly when you have said all you need. Thoroughly recommend. Do not need to go on twittering.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1ec
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 3 January 2014

If you look something "old style semi-conservative colonial-style" hotel, but anyway easygoing, calm atmosfere, execellent service and food..peaceful area, anyway walking distance to everywhere. Whort of money! I just got good feeling and memories afterwards. Perhaps the history of the hotel knows how to serve clients ?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank db02182014i
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I have stayed in at least 10 different 5 stars hotels in Asia, especially South-East Asia, and I'm pretty sure that this Settha is very far from 5* and too expensive, even though I'm not a difficult guest! This is my second stay, the first one was in summer - it was not great but still acceptable. But this time,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angie_Nga
SetthaPalaceHotel, Manager at Settha Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I would like to note that Laos is experiencing unusually cold weather these few days and because it is so rare, the hotel just didn't have the equipment to safely heat up a room. Rest assured that we have provided extra duvet blankets in the rooms for this...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Amateurs , trying but just amateurs. No understanding of service, mattress very hard, had to watch over them to get boiling water, restaurant badly run ordered two dishes - not available then they ran out of butter. Creaking wooden floors (wakes up your partner). Location not great NOT value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon W
SetthaPalaceHotel, Manager at Settha Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. The level of service we provide and the experience you have during your stay with us as our guest is very important to us. We are very regretful that you had a disappointing stay with us and for that we apologize. I would like to note that Laos...

Hillsboro, Oregon
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. It is like an oasis of calm in a fairly gritty city. It's in the center of the city with many restaurants within walking distance. (Side note - the local restaurants may have no ambiance but they have the best food. The touristy places are not only overpriced, they also serve horrible food.) The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom N
UK
Reviewed 26 December 2013

A delightful hotel, beautifully decorated, spacious bedroom, effective air conditioning lovely swimming pool, very clean. The breakfast were very good in a lovely quiet dining room- you don't find many quiet breakfast venues in Asia, Lunch by pool was very well presented, superb staff. Hotel is situated on edge of town which makes it more peaceful although there are a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SheilajgUk
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The hotel was amiable located in the heart of the city. It’s very accessible to the local stores and others in the area and can walk from one place to another. The hotel’s location is what draws tourist in or back packers. I don’t know but maybe it was just me or the service was just poor. The staff need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlon G
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The first thing that I noticed when our ride dropped us off the Settha Palace Hotel was that it was straight out from Colonial picture. It has an antique feel and yet I fell in love with the place instantly. As soon as we went inside the place 2 guys who I know worked there opened the doors for us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Perhaps the only colonial era hotel in Laos still operating as such, the Settha Palace is a small gem. Its public and room spaces are quietly elegant, and very large by any comparison. Now that it provides free internet service, all is as it should be in a property that prides itself on its long history. Although cost is always...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AsianTraveler_8

213 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (191)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.8 km away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 94 in Vientiane
437 reviews
0.8 km away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 94 in Vientiane
895 reviews
0.6 km away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 94 in Vientiane
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 94 in Vientiane
426 reviews
1.6 km away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#7 of 94 in Vientiane
478 reviews
0.5 km away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 1930s French colonial heritage building, with high ceilings, period furniture and lighting, beautiful Italian-marble floors and richly crafted rosewood furniture at this luxurious colonial hotel will take you a step back in time. Beautifully restored to its former charm, the Settha Palace is a hotel you will never forget. Relax by the free-form pool with beautifully landscaped surroundings. Indulge your appetite at our French Mediterranean restaurant, La Belle Epoque. Stay connected with modern facilities like wireless internet service. Now with free WIFI in all public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Settha Palace Hotel

Address: 6 Pang Kham Street | PO Box 1618, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Price Range: ₹ 8,748 - ₹ 17,303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Settha Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Settha Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settha Palace Vientiane
Hotel Settha Palace
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vientiane
#4 Family Hotel in Vientiane
#5 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vientiane
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Settha Palace Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Settha Palace Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some of the duluxe rooms are small. Don't accept the first one you are shown.”
Cambus36, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“For a little extra you can stay in either the Prince's or Princess's rooms.”
JMasonNashville, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Take a room overlooking the Swimming pool ...”
petermN1142CV, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have small balconies”
francimar58, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The president and his entourage took the whole of the first floor (i.e. the one above the ground floor - maybe he knew something...”
MrMangetout, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$ 141* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 174
Expedia.comUS$ 201
TripAdvisorUS$ 141
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates