We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Golden River Palace Guesthouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Golden River Palace Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Golden River Palace Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 55: English reviews
Praia, Cape Verde
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The staff are awesome. They are incredibly kind and helpful. They treated my son so very kindly. The hotel is in the "Riverside" area of Phnom Penh, so it was very convenient to sight see. However, while the price was reasonable, it wasn't great value. The bathroom could use a shower curtain or stall. We didn't receive any maid service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chetsuabo
Reviewed 19 July 2013

After travelling in Vietnam for 4 weeks we had experienced a wide variety of hotels and didn't necessarily have the highest expectations regarding hotels. The golden river palace proved to be the worst hotel experience I have had for a long long time. The price at $30 per room is in no way justified. The staff service was non existent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davey1233
Goldenriverpala... G, Manager at Golden River Palace Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Honestly, I have never ever met customers from Europe like you. You called me to book a room with two KING size beds with the price of 30. When you came, I offered you superior deluxe TRIPLE room(45$) with the same price. You were so happy and also knew price. How come you did NOT you...

London
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Pros - good location and friendly staff. Ok price Cons - room smelt of smoke. Room half tiled and then had a weird iron bar/prison type door. Bathroom and fridge in separate annex room. Carpeted floor. not that clean. Bathroom didn't appear to have been cleaned, there was what looked like a urine stain on toilet seat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mini79
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Staff did their best with limited English, but wouldn't recommend using their laundry service as they use an external service and forgot to pick ours up on time, which meant we had to pack wet clothes at 7am on the morning we left. The room was very yellow with tiles going half way up and a strange security gate between...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in may and we would recommend. The rooms are spacious, clean enough and a great location too. But to top that the staff were very accomodating too. We only stayed one night as we were moving on but we would return. The location is very good for visiting the killing fields and other tourist...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess-Dave86
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The Golden River Palace Guesthouse was a fairly basic hotel located near the river and Royal Palace in Phnom Penh. The room was decently sized and relatively clean, though the floor was dusty when we arrived. This is more of a backpacker accommodation, so nothing fancy there. The location is great to get to all the bars and restaurants on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sm0t
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Paid £11 a night for double room with a/c. Arrived mid afternoon and was checked into room 001. The only room on ground floor. The view was into an alley and the room was very disappointing and nothing like the pictures displayed on hotels.com. The manager was not on site but we emailed him and explained we weren't happy: the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victron23
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We had received confirmation of our booking for two doubles rooms. When we arrived at the Golden River Palace Guesthouse in 35 degree heat after a full days travel from Chau Doc in Vietnam we were told the rooms were not available and they could send us to their "partner" hotel just around the corner for the same price. Even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwisinasia2013
Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Good location, infront of market, walking distance from bus station. We stayed Overnight. Aircon is good and wifi connection is fast. Drawback, no restaurant inside the hotel and no elevator. Not good for senior guest climbing upstairs. Although staff very helpful in carrying our luggages. Overall okey because the manager owner is very friendly, polite and offer help to check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank changme
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Rooms tiled to half way- strange decor in a bedroom- not sure it works. Rooms small. Air con, good. Bathroom good- modern, white and clean. Fridge good. TV reception sketchy. Location good. Staff nice and helpful. Having no window, isn't too bad, until you want to know if you have woken up in the middle of the night or the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GAMlondon

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 km away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#61 of 265 in Phnom Penh
583 reviews
0.3 km away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#180 of 265 in Phnom Penh
163 reviews
0.2 km away
City Centre Hotel
City Centre Hotel
#107 of 265 in Phnom Penh
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
0.2 km away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#79 of 265 in Phnom Penh
195 reviews
0.2 km away
Nordic House
Nordic House
#113 of 318 in Phnom Penh
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Plan your long weekends in advance...Plan your visiting Phnom Penh, Kindom of Wonder ahead to benefit from our great deals! We offer a wide range of discount rooms to accommodate you and your family at an affordable rate. The Royal Palace, National Museum, Riverside and the Night Market are just 3 minutes by foot. Nightlife, restaurants and entertainment are just around the corner on Sisowath Quay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden River Palace Guesthouse

Address: No.139, Street 13, Sangkat Phsa Kandal 1, Khan Daun Penh,, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Price Range: ₹ 772 - ₹ 1,094 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden River Palace Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden River Palace Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Golden River Palace Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look for a different hotel. Spend a few dollars more and you will be better off.”
briancO1269JB, 11 Aug 2014 | Read review
“If you are on a budget I highly recommend the two-bed dorm.”
jakobj720, 30 Mar 2014 | Read review
“I had room 201 and was very happy with it.”
265ginah, 22 Nov 2013 | Read review
“not on the ground floor.”
  • doors in the room
  • dirty coffe cups
  • spider webs
  • tapes around windows
  • 'view' from room
ola182, 5 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Do not accept a referral to another hotel. If you do check that the aircon works, doors close, noisy bars across the road and if the hotel is used for "other" purposes.”
Kiwisinasia2013, 26 May 2013 | Read review
5 of 5