We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,349: English reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

If you want a good party vibe you should go here. The bar is a great place to meet new people and in the day time there is a good pool to hang out by. The hostel is very clean and the staff is very kind and helpful and everybody speaks English very well. I r8 8/8 gr8 hostel m8

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davey O
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, Davey. It was a pleasure to have you stay here we hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel.

Reviewed 9 August 2016

Mad Monkey is the tits. Had an amazing 3 nights here. Beds are comfortable. Everything is clean. Lockers are huge and lockable. Bar is cheap and so much fun. Myles took such good care of me. I didn't want to leave.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Finn N
London
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I stayed in one of the dorms and made so many lovely friends there. The bar is always packed in the evening, with people playing beer pong and what not. The beds are a decent size for singles and have plugs next to each one. It's all very clean. The staff are nice too, although the food is a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

What a gem of a review Louise! Good people have a good time here and you were a fantastic guest. Thanks again and we really hope you enjoy your trip! Thank you for staying at our socially responsible hostel.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

The hostel is nice, beds are clean and very comfy and spacious. Pool is good and all surroundings are good value for money. Unfortunately my experience with the staff means I would never stay here again and would warn others off it. I found a lot of the staff seemed annoyed when you were asking them questions about local activities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sirvs
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear sirvs, Thank you very much for the important review. I wanted to respond in person, firstly thank you for your positive feedback and response for the hostel, we are very sorry that you had a bad experience with this one employee. We have spoken to the individual involved and reinforced that the most important thing is our customer having...

Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Had a great stay! The rooms were quite nice and the pool was great during hot days. The bar and staff were extremely nice and super helpful and really made the atmosphere awesome. Only complaint is to stop playing so much Justin Bieber!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Tom - thank you for your kind review - it makes this business all the more pleasurable when we have lovely guests like you and your party staying with us, do enjoy your trip. Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel.

Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

This is a pretty good hostel in terms of amenities (bar, restaurant, cleanliness etc.) and is very very social and good for meeting people. The actual hostel get 5 stars but I have given it 1 for an experience at this hostel. I thought I would write this review to let those staying there of a ongoing scam by a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Friendly and fun party hostel. Clean dorms and bathrooms. Was particularly struck by the helpfulness of the staff, especially bartender Paula (what a babe) who helped me find my purse when I lost it and retrieved all of the cash inside too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Asha R
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Hi ya Asha! Thank you so much for your fantastic review - i am really pleased you had a good time here - do come back and visit us soon. Thanks again! Love The Mad Monkey Team! Thank you for staying at our socially responsible hostel.

Reviewed 2 August 2016

Location: City Centre, easy access to attractions. Room: Biggest I have seen in SE Asia, the bed was huge and comfy, the room was roomy as well. Shower: Ensuite so only the people in the room are using it which is nice. There's no hot shower during my stay there, but the weather is very warm at the time so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yu En H
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Thanks Ninihsu0918 for sending your review. Regarding the price, this is the best rate that we offer based on the season you stay. Of course if it is during peak times, the rates are higher and vice versa. By staying in our hostel, you get what you pay for. We may not be the cheapest but we make sure that...

Reviewed 2 August 2016

Awesome hostel! The facilities were clean, food was great, wifi fast, and staff was incredibly helpful/fun. And on top of that, the pool area is a great place to hang out during the day, and organized activities every night at the bar are a great way to meet people and have some fun. Would definitely recommend staying at this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tess E
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to have you here as our valuable customer, Tess. Thanks again for staying with Mad Monkey and keep on rocking!

Ringwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Good fun hostel can chill if you want or party hard.. The dorms have good layout with decent beds.. Awesome helpful staff that will party with you or give you advice about the city.. don't stay anywhere else in Phnom Penh!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaz E
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Thank you for finding the time to write us a positive review, Gaz. You were a great guest and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

273 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (244)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (155)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.9 km away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#6 of 210 in Phnom Penh
618 reviews
1.4 km away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 210 in Phnom Penh
225 reviews
1.6 km away
Billabong Hotel & Hostel
Billabong Hotel & Hostel
#3 of 210 in Phnom Penh
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Lovely Jubbly Villa
Lovely Jubbly Villa
#19 of 210 in Phnom Penh
267 reviews
0.3 km away
Envoy Hostel and Tours
Envoy Hostel and Tours
#5 of 210 in Phnom Penh
138 reviews
0.3 km away
Top Banana Guesthouse
Top Banana Guesthouse
#8 of 210 in Phnom Penh
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mad Monkey Phnom Penh - the original Mad Monkey! This is the best place to meet people and experience Phnom Penh. We can help you arrange tours, travel, visas, you name it. We're also the perfect home base for your adventures. Relax by our refreshing swimming pool (a must in the Cambodian heat) and enjoy our poolside bar. Eat a filling and delicious meal in our restaurant with new backpacker friends from around the world. Upstairs in our Rooftop Bar we have new events on every night of the week. We can't wait to meet you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Address: Street 302, Building 26, Phnom Penh BKK1, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Price Range: ₹ 917 - ₹ 1,114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mad Monkey Hotel Phnom Penh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If seeking a private room, ask about any options above the main office as this is away from the noisy rooftop bar.”
 of 5 bubbles jesseh842, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room in the pool building and not in the bar building.”
 of 5 bubbles ignaci0vp, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“family room”
 of 5 bubbles 199sashap, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you are a not party goers, just ask room that far from the bar or in other building they owned.”
 of 5 bubbles elizabethsQ5560QA, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms/dorms in the reception/pool building are far quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles travish328, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5