We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alibi Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alibi Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Alibi Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 149: English reviews
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Reviewed 11 December 2016

The Alibi is in a beautiful French colonial house with polished wooden floors and spotlessly clean. It is situated down a quiet street. It is close to good restaurants, massage, riverfront and Grand Palace. The breakfast is standard, but good and served in a lovely garden. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenselk
Albany, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2016

My airport pickup was on time and the guesthouse kindly stored my bag until check in. We had a triple room which was very spacious and restful and had a fridge, secure storage box and even a small balcony. The house is elegant and breakfast or drinks in the garden were very pleasant. It is located down a quiet alley...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garo977
Frenchtown, Montana
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

The room was very clean, had a lock box, a TV and a refrigerator and came with a free breakfast. All that and still a fair price. Not to mension it's in a nice gated area off a dead end ally so it feels very safe and a little separated from the busy night life. It's also very close walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McKaylaRuby
Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Alibi. The location at the end a small street is quiet and yet you are close to the river and all major attraction. The building is a very elegant villa with tons of charm and cachet. The owner Cristian is discreet and efficient I found him full of advise and useful information. He keeps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Khudo12
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

This was the very first place where I stayed when my gf and I got in Cambodia. I'd say it is perfect to overcome the cultural shock you may undergo when you land in Phnom Penh - I mean, if you never travelled in SE Asia before. Utterly clean, fancy rooms, spatious patios and balconies and a very nice garden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoLapini
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Bed linen/pillows dirty. Had to ask for ours to be replaced upon checking in as they were filthy. Lugging suitcases to the 3rd floor up steep metal staircase was a bit back-breaking and not once were we offered help with our bags. Overall poor value for money when I compare to other places we stayed at. Reception staff a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zuluinlondon
christian h, Owner at Alibi Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the tuk tuk driver,i will let him know. Moreover it is not so fair for the all staff who is working very hard all the year to make us able to get a 8.5 on Booking.com or a 5th position on 320 Guesthouses in PP on Tripadvisor.For myself i am very sad that you had to spend...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Alibi Guesthouse is like an oase in the middle of scorching hot Phnom Penh. Located strategically in front of the Vietnam - Cambodia Friendship Monument, this guesthouse offers a good services with amenities and breakfast. Amenities include shampoo, soap, and towel, deposit box available inside the room, and breakfast consists of egg, baguettes, fresh orange juice, choices between tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sumomo C
Exeter UK
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We stayed here on three separate occasions on our recent trip to Cambodia. It's a lovely place to stay: the house is an old villa with a sweeping staircase and spacious rooms (we sampled three of them!) and outside is a courtyard full of plants making a delightful green and shady space in which to sit, enjoy a good breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller40
Reviewed 20 July 2016

This little gem is hidden on a side alley near a big park area and about a 10 minute walk to the riverfront. The rooms are decent sized with good hot water and air conditioning.. Rooms are no frills but while on vacation, we are never in the room anyway so all we wanted was a bed and air conditioning....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daniel k
Reviewed 28 June 2016

A lovely hotel, very helpful and when double booked, very kindly arranged accommodation in a hotel behind , this was appreciated. Very helpful staff with arranging sightseeing trips and the next bus trip

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathi D

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 273 in Phnom Penh
2,339 reviews
1.1 km away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 273 in Phnom Penh
1,064 reviews
0.8 km away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
One Up - Banana Hotel
One Up - Banana Hotel
#1 of 333 in Phnom Penh
562 reviews
1.3 km away
Europe Guest House
Europe Guest House
#2 of 333 in Phnom Penh
790 reviews
1.4 km away
Vacation Boutique Hotel
Vacation Boutique Hotel
#3 of 333 in Phnom Penh
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally-located villa-style guesthouse in a garden setting in a pleasantly quiet area.Easy walking distance to the Royal palace and riverfront area.Well furnished rooms with each their own decoration. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alibi Guesthouse

Address: Sothearos Blvd. | Behind Motor cafe, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Price Range: ₹ 1,368 - ₹ 2,084 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alibi Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Alibi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alibi Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alibi Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Alibi Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“second floor had a very nice sitting balcony right outside the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles danielkS7803LO, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Chosse another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Flapsy1210, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“First floor is best”
 of 5 bubbles MarianaTodosSantos, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“avoid rooms at the top level if you're not good with stairs”
 of 5 bubbles sumomoc, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“no elevator and seems all the rooms are about the same so pick the second floor so you dont have to walk so much.”
 of 5 bubbles danielkS7803LO, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5