We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 320: English reviews
Start your review of Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights at the start of my journey through Vietnam. You are provided with a banana and a choice of coffee in the morning. I stayed in the double bed room with an en suite. It was perfectly fine and clean. The window opens onto a brick wall but the aircon was the best I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owen I
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We spent many days during our 2-week-stay in Ho Chi Minh and it was very cool! The rooms are very clean and quiet. AC is okay! (Especially in room 4A) The staff is really nice and welcoming. You got free tea/coffee and bananas in the morning. It is well located in a quiet small steeet next to the main places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom N
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent location with great service all round. Bui Vien street near by to help you find anything you need. The pool table was very useful to kill the time when I was waiting my friends. With walking distance of all tourist attractions. I walk 15 minutes from my hostel to Ben Thanh market. Will definitely come back and stay at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Minh Xí T
London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ok, this hostel was friendly and well located, it was cheap £10 a night for a private room but the owners have let it slip. My room (102) was covered in mould, the sink didn't drain the whole time I was there, 3 nights, even though management said they would fix they never did. A/C was under the family kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spencer P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been here for a week with my friends. The staffs are friendly.This is the first time I visit Ho Chi Minh city and the reception show me on the map the place we should visit in the city, Yen even bring me and my friends to visit Thu Thiem Park. Its so great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank minh luyen v
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I chose this place for the location and in a hostel is easy to meet people, but anyway I like my privacy and therefore I book a private room. The problem was not the room itself but for the money payed I could have stayed in a B&B with much better conditions. The hostel at night is impossible to find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank antoniobernal77
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hostel is very clean, housekeeping lady and her daughter change the bed sheet and clean the toilet every day. Only have banana and coffee in the morning. They provide map and introduce tour to the tunnel and mekong. They have a pool table and its free. The air in 5th floor is wonderful, you can see a part of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lê H
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao, responded to this review

What a pleasure to receive your very favorable review of Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We are so pleased you had such a great time with us. Your endorsement of our service is such a positive reinforcement of our team’s goals We really appreciate the feedback. Please let us know when you plan to visit us again. We wish you the best...

Kilifi, Kenya
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Down a little ally that is full of local street restaurants and cool stuff, right in the heart of the city. Instant atmosphere The place was cute. You could see they try very hard. The small rooms were too small. I felt like I was in a broom closet but very clean and good value. I upgraded and got a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed the experience at Saigon backpackers Hostel. We hope you have a great time during the rest of your travels and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards

Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

great staff, nice room with big beds and own shower & toilet..but after using shower, the water goes everywhere like there's a small flood in the shower&toilet and ac is working but leaking..but still does it purpose..clean room (female dorm) and free bananas for breakfast :) hostel is a good place to meet a new friend..recommended for first timer, solo...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Edel Marjorie S
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review! we are so appreciated that you recommended us as a top choice of accommodations and highlighting our good place, nice and clean room....It’s always a pleasure to hear our great personal who want to ensure the guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We are sorry that you have problem with the...

Reviewed 15 February 2017

Very average hostel, we had to climb five staircases with all of our bags to get to the dorm. The wifi didn't work at all and it was very very basic - there are better hostels on the same road you could stay at!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeorginaBojarski
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review. We are so happy that you enjoy your experience in recent stay at Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We are sorry that you have problem with the WiFi. we really appreciate the feedback and will be sure to pass on critical points you've mentioned We hope you have a great time in the rest...

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (19)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (66)
Viewed
Dormitory Room (11)
Viewed
Private Double Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 km away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong Quynh
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong...
#12 of 519 in Ho Chi Minh City
213 reviews
48.3 km away
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
#3 of 519 in Ho Chi Minh City
418 reviews
0.2 km away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#2 of 519 in Ho Chi Minh City
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Saigon Youth Hostel
Saigon Youth Hostel
#28 of 519 in Ho Chi Minh City
216 reviews
0.5 km away
Suite Backpackers Inn - Saigon Center
Suite Backpackers Inn - Saigon C...
#17 of 519 in Ho Chi Minh City
147 reviews
0.5 km away
Lily's Hostel
Lily's Hostel
#10 of 519 in Ho Chi Minh City
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Saigon Backpackers Hostel Chain has been the first hostels in Ho Chi Minh City since 2009. Inspired by the energetic spirit of our guests, Saigon Backpackers Hostels is our latest and nicest hostel addition to Saigon's active backpackers' scene. Our hostels are located at the fringe of the city. To several budget travelers who just cannot get enough of Saigon, it's no secret that Saigon Youth hostel has the best location that you may ask for. The city center is just 5 minutes on foot. And just stone throw away is the Bui Vien street, another great area to explore. You will be stimulated by choices of Saigonese cuisine in the vicinity. It is undeniable that wonderful selections of food that can be nice alfresco roadside dinning and variety of restaurants, cafes and bars. At Saigon Backpackers hostel, we trust the environment will be the perfect place for you, foreign travelers, to meet friends from all over the world. We are obsessed in ensuring that our guests get more than just a bed with us with cozy atmosphere with color themed room design of Saigon culture. Saigon Youth hostel is a good place to feel home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao

Address: 373/20 Pham Ngu Lao | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: ₹ 771 - ₹ 1,413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, Asia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check room before signing up.”
248spencerp, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“beautiful view in 5th floor but no lift”
, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Since you are down an ally away from the strip its quieter than you expect. But go for the bigger roons”
102geoffb, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“303 is good”
229hanina, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Dorms Rooms are very comfortable.”
RaymondBala, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates