We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

780 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
See the most recent reviews
Showing 692: English reviews
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

This hostel is great for first time backpackers or those who want a bit of the rough edges of backpacking smoothed off for a few days. That said, we also met many seasoned travellers so there was a good mix. Hanoi is a busy city so the resources pack they provide with tips about how to handle the city/potential scams/useful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
Scott_Hockey_VBHGM, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Amy Thanks for the amazing review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Our food is a little more expensive then on the street but it is prepared by trained professional chefs. The castaway trip is defiantly worth it and it great to hear that you had an amazing time. The second building is in...

Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Thanks to all the staff here we had a brilliant time - we based ourselves here while exploring the city and between trips to Halong Bay and Sapa. We loved our time here and after our trips it began to feel like a home from home. Dorms lovely with working AC, free breakfast and the lunch food is good! Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niamh M
Scott_Hockey_VBHGM, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Niamh Thanks for the amazing review. We loved having you here at the hostel. You were all amazing craic. We truly hope to see you here with us again. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

Immenstaad, Germany
Reviewed 5 September 2016

I didn't stay in the hostel, I just booked the halong bay castaway tour with them. Don't Do it! The bay obviously is Amazing and the cabins were okay ( we had a cockroach in ours but well...) but the Service was Poor. The lunch and Dinner was Allright but not enough für Everyone on the boat. The Toast in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sophie L
Scott_Hockey_VBHGM, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Sophie Thanks for taking the time to review our Hostel. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your experience on our Castaway Trip. We strive to make all of our trips to a standard that everyone will enjoy and make our trips the highlight of everyones time in Vietnam. I have passed on your feedback to our...

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

The private rooms were very small and basic, quite a disapointment. They were also located in another building than the dorms and the bar. Breakfast is okay. The private rooms in Hué are terrible by the way, but the ones in Hoi An are delightful!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derkien D
Scott H, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

HI Derkien Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We appreciate the feedback. Our private rooms are basic, $20, clean and have all of the essentials that everyone needs. We have the rooms in a different building so that our guest are away from the bar noise and have privacy but are always welcome to come and join...

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the private rooms building for 3 nights in 2 different rooms. Going up to our rooms was accompanied by various smells of urine and mold. When we entered our room not surprisingly it felt suffocating, the walls were dirty by unknown material and the bathroom had mold all over. Breakfast was very poor, warm fruits or fried...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Romi O
Scott H, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Romi Thanks you for taking the time to review our hostel. We appreciate any feedback so that we can keep improving our hostel. We were not aware that you had any issues with your room. If you had raised them with us we would have happily sorted them out straight away. Our private rooms have all just been repainted...

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Visited this hostel in July and had such a great time here, staff are all so friendly and speak great English, rooftop bar upstairs is constantly offering free beer and have events going on everyday! They also organise a 3 day tour/party to Halong Bay called 'Castaways' and hands down has to be my highlight of Vietnam!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Molly S
Scott H, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Molly Thanks for the amazing review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us at the Original Hostel. The free beer and daily events always gets everyone together on the rooftop and kicks of our nightly parties. Castaways is amazing I think everyone would agree with that. Enjoy the rest of your trip Safe Travels Scott...

Reviewed 16 August 2016

This place is really good located, with good price and amazing breakfast. The staff were really helpful. There is computer and a roof with cheap beer. The beds are comfortable although only one bathroom to share with 8 people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrés Felipe B
Scott H, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Andres We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us at the Original Hostel and thanks for taking the time to review us. Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff and I will be sure to pass them on. Safe travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel during my time in Hanoi, between other trips. The staff on the desk were absolutely amazing, helpful and friendly with one in particular being a standout. Amber the kiwi was always there to answer a million and one questions we had, while helping us out when we realized we had booked a trip that posed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarmenCarla111
Scott H, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Carmen Thanks for the amazing review. I will pass on your kind words to Amber. We try and make sure that everyone can always have a fun social time at our hostel and we are so pleased that we could provide this experience for you. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Felt this hostel had fulfilled the basic requirements of a hostel. However, on the day my friends and I reached the hostel, there were a few hiccups - their system was down to register our check-in and we were made to keep our passports with them till their system is up again. After which, they claimed that they were unable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raihanahahmad
Scott H, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi there Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We have had some system issues recently as it has had to be shut down to update our system. I apologize that you had some issues checking in and we train our staff weekly to avoid these issues. If you do require a receipt for your stay please shoot...

Ko Samui, Thailand
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Myself and 5 of my friends stayed in this hostel for a few nights in Hanoi. I was brilliant, the hostel organised a few trips for us and even reimbursed us a nights stay when we took a overnight trip to HaLong Bay (also highly recommend). We got a free breakfast every morning, which included a choice of three and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
Scott H, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Fiona Thanks for staying with us and the amazing review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying in our Original Hostel. We try at all time to make sure that our customers have and amazing time and try to be as accommodating as possible as we know that plans change all the time. Our Vietnamese Mexican and USA...

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.9 km away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
0.6 km away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#10 of 299 in Hanoi
1,079 reviews
0.5 km away
Hanoi City Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
0.0 km away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#8 of 299 in Hanoi
219 reviews
0.7 km away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Address: 48 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Price Range: ₹ 674 - ₹ 1,685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room with a lot of people”
 of 5 bubbles 341sebastieng, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't sleep under the AC”
 of 5 bubbles oisat, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms on in the second building are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles connore492, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“no elevator - get your glute workout on!, amazing staff, book your tours through this hostel”
 of 5 bubbles 684melb, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Well worth the walk”
 of 5 bubbles 910tanikak, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay