We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 118: English reviews
Start your review of Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 4 nights in Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel. Located very centrally in the old quarter, about 5 mins walk from Hoan Keim Lake. Room was small, twin beds vey close together and the bathroom was tiny. Shower wasn't great either. Staff were friendly and helpful. Laundry service was quite slow...took 48hrs to get back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie C
County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in in my life !!! Travelling with g adventures for many years now and have to say I am extremely disappointed in their hotel choice . I have never had a problem before of anywhere else along my trip with hotels ! This hotel was dirty and staff very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niki B
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel was ok. It was relatively clean and the rooms - while small - were also comfortable. The thing I didnt like about this place was the staff and the bathroom. The bathroom had a nice shower/bath combo but the entire bathroom stayed wet dyring my 2night stay.. in fact, when we arrived - it was wet and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronli T
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel is OK. Rooms are a bit small comparing to other hotels I have seen in Vietnam, but maybe because it's the capital city. The lift is very very slow, and they only have one lift, so I would try to stay on lower floors. Avoid 8th floor if you can, or you may be stuck waiting for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank radanliev
Hongngochotelgroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear radanliev, Although it is great to read your comments about how good our buffet and service is; we are sorry to learn our lift service causing many inconvenience to you. We will gladly share your constructive comments with the engineering team, so we can continue to improve the level of service we offer at Hong Ngoc Hotels. Thanks again...

Ilminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Good value for money and very central to old quarter. Clean rooms as well which is always a bonus. Free wifi. I stayed here at the start of my tour with GAdventures and found the staff to be really helpful at the front desk, where they provide maps for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AshleighLN
Hongngochotelgroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AshleighLN, Thanks for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review of your stay with us. We are pleased to learn you had a good stay and our staff were very friendly and helpful . I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Hanoi in the future. Kind regards, Hong Ngoc Hotels Management team

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Only stay one night. Arrive late and left early morning. They opened breakfast early for us. Room was clean and the bed was great. Bathroom was so nice. Wish I stay here longer. Breakfast had lots of chooses.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 7ria
Hongngochotelgroups, Sales & Reservation Department at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comments We hope to welcome you next time Have a nice day Thanks & Best Regards Ms Dao Thi Thuong

Budel, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Hong Ngoc is a good hotel close to the center of Hanoi. The rooms are good and quite big, the service is good and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast is ok, but the food choise is minimal. The restaurant is too small for all guests that stay in the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joost V
Hongngochotelgroups, Sales & Reservation Dept at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your feedback We will try our best to improve our menu for breakfast as well as rearranging of restaurant for how our guests can feel comfortable when they stay here Thanks & Best Regards Ms Dao Thi Thuong

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Staying in this hotel as part of a tour and I can quite honestly stay I have NEVER stayed in a hotel this bad!! Whilst the actual hotel is okay, the lady on reception is awful! She is rude, ignorant and will not help you in the slightest! She doesn't deserve to work there! I have stayed in many different...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rea21100
Hongngochotelgroups, Sales & Reservation Department at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for writing comments On behalf of Hong Ngoc hotel, we would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you met during your stay here After receiving the email related to your feedbacks, We have investigate the incident and checked all with our staffs at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel We are very surprised and sorry...

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

We stay here just for one night due to cancellation of our cruise. The location is ok, in the middle of everything. The lady in the reception was not very nice. Our room was in the 3rd floor, very small, horrible window view and really really old. Nevertheless, the room was clean. It seems like a hostel, lots of young...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guada R
Hongngochotelgroups, Sales & Reservation Department at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for writing feedback On behalf of Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, we would like to sincerely apologise for any inconvenience we made for you About the room, in fact that most of hotelsl in the Hanoi Old Quarter serve rooms with slightly small size because of the limit of of the area in this crowded...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The rooms themselves are not very large, however the decor and layout is very tasteful for the style of the room. The beds themselves are exceptionally comfortable. The rooms come equipped with a TV, air conditioning, complementary water and tea making facilities. There is ample space in the wardrobe and plenty of draw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
Hongngochotelgroups, Sales & Reservation Department at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for spending time on writing feedback We appriciate your comments about the hotel's room and services We hope to welcome you back another time Have a nice day Ms Dao Thi Thuong

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 km away
Hong Ngoc Dynastie Hotel
Hong Ngoc Dynastie Hotel
#134 of 576 in Hanoi
335 reviews
0.1 km away
Hang My Hotel
Hang My Hotel
#206 of 576 in Hanoi
205 reviews
0.1 km away
Green Mango Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel
#243 of 576 in Hanoi
63 reviews
1.2 km away
Hong Ngoc Cochinchine
Hong Ngoc Cochinchine
#174 of 576 in Hanoi
206 reviews
0.2 km away
Gondola Hotel
Gondola Hotel
#90 of 576 in Hanoi
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At Hong Ngoc hotel group, we are proud to provide one of the most exclusive hotels in central Hanoi.At Hong Ngoc Tonkin, we will offer you a drive back to the 19th century to explore the hidden charm of the Vietnamese culture. Located overlooking the glittering Hoan Kiem lake and the famous Water Puppet theater, Hong Ngoc Tonkin is an ideal choice for travelers looking to explore a highly exclusive experience in the historical, energetic entertainment and shopping areas. Our 40 guestrooms offer some marvelous view of the city and they all have a high contemporary design blending seamlessly with period architectural features. These elements have made Hong Ngoc Tonkin become a luxury hotel and a beautifully preserved piece of history. In addition, our restaurant has a superb reputation with a wide range of selective Western and Vietnamese cuisine and our Hong Ngoc spa is a serene retreat for effective therapy. We believe our unique and outstanding service will make this luxury hotel a destination in its own right. Welcome back! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel

Address: 14 Luong Van Can St | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hong Ngoc 2 Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Price Range: ₹ 2,218 - ₹ 3,696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Ngoc Hanoi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms near the end of the hallways are quieter than in the middle”
 of 5 bubbles Quinntology, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in Room 402 with two twin beds”
 of 5 bubbles 834leahj, 5 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Clean rooms, kind staff, witty manager, interesting location”
 of 5 bubbles yuzurus2015, 23 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Choose a suite at the front. Even though it was a suite the price was very reasonable.”
 of 5 bubbles chewat, 8 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Try to get a room at the very front of the hotel i.e. looking out onto the street, or at the very back, as these rooms are generally bigger.”
 of 5 bubbles Gabs98, 26 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5