We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

430 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 345: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Very clean, quiet, and modern rooms. Hearty and tasty breakfasts cooked by Karan himself. Beautifully decorated place with a lovely sitting area on the 2nd floor (make sure to check it out if your room is on the ground floor). Interesting location in a non-touristy part of town. (Visiting the major sites by longboat required an extra cross-river boat hop,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank monkeypapaya
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It's our pleasure having you and your family here. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and enjoyed exploring Bangkok like locals. Hope you've arrived home with lots of memorable experiences. All the best :)

Maryland
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Loved staying here :-) Staff: the staff make this place! They are so helpful and willing to help you in any way! Rooms: The rooms were nice and spacious. Large bed, hot shower, and AC! Location: The Focal Local is pretty far away from downtown Bangkok. This wasn't a problem for us because we had a guide pick us up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NextVacay
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We're glad you enjoyed staying with us and found the location was not a problem. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again in the future. Kob Kun Krub :)

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 11 January 2014

It is one thing to say that the rooms at Focal Local were imaginatively decorated, the breakfast choices ample and delicious and the expert travel assistance readily available (all true!) but our stay was so much more. Focal Local was like being home. Karan, his Dad and his aunt and all staff truly cared for us during our recent 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hovancsek
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you've arrived home well after unpleasant weather in the States. It's our pleasure having you all here. You made this little B&B lively. We'll look forward to seeing you again some day. All the best :)

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Well, where do I start..  Karan, we are very thankful to you & your staff for making our stay in Bangkok a wonderful experience. Apologies for a late review though. As usual, I booked this based on Tripadvisor reviews/rating & it was worth the research/reading!. Karan made our stay/travel in Bangkok very delightful & easy. They serve breakfast every...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank shree81
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. It's never too late, all reviews are important for us. Your enjoyable stay will keep us going. We're gald to be a part of your memorable trip in Bangkok. Hope we'll have a chance to serve you again in the future. All the best :)

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2014

After an overnight train ride which broke down and arrived several hours late to Bangkok it was a delight to arrive at Focal Local. I loved the location and spent my first evening just wandering around the side alleys and checking out a local veggie restaurant that the staff recommended. Your offered a free tuk tuk to the rive or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CliodhnaZtoical
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local. It's our pleasure having you here. We're glad you were not disappointed and enjoyed staying with us. We'll look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kob Kun Krub :)

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I would recommend this place to people who want to stay in a more local Bangkok style. The surrounding neighbourhood does not have many tourist attractions but you see how Bangkok-ers live, eat and play. You won't get hassled for tuk-tuks or ping-pongs shows. I would not recommend it to younger crowds looking for parties. I also would caution those...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matthew T
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad you had a good time here and got the core concept of Focal Local, which is being away from busy city life. However, you still can reach many attractions by river boats and Skytrain. Hope we'll have a chance to serve you again in the future. All the best :)

Zwolle, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at Focal Local for 4 nights to discover Bangkok. Yes, the place is not very close to the tourist attractions, but these spots are easily reached by boat or skytrain (and we don't understand the complaints about this, because you know where the hotel is when you book it... right?). We slept in two rooms: Yesteryears and Simply...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariekehn
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying at Focal Local. We really appreciate knowing that you enjoyed every aspects from location, rooms, breakfasts and service. Your satisfaction is a great fuel for us to run this little B&B. Hope we'll have a chance to serve you again in the future. Kob Khun Krub :)

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 1 January 2014

A lot of people knock the location of this lovely BnB, but as Brooklyn residents who always feel sorry for tourists who only visit Manhattan, we liked the idea that we were staying a bit outside the main center of Bangkok. I found the location to be an advantage! We walked around the quiet streets, waved to children riding on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 428March
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing Focal Local. We're glad you enjoyed local atmosphere and loved being on this quiet side of Bangkok. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again in the future. All the best :)

Kansas City, Kansas
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Focal Local and loved every minute. We stated in Splash which was decorated with fun bright colors. The breakfast was phenomenal every morning from shrimp fried rice to sweet and sour chicken. We walked several times to the BTS station which took us about 10 minutes, or Karan was great setting up a tuk tuk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wedwards444
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us. It's our pleasure having you here. I'm gald you enjoyed your stay. We'll look forward to seeing you again. Kob Khun Krub :)

Vadodara, India
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Thanks to TA, otherwise it would have been impossible to search out such a gem in Bangkok. All the good words mentioned here by the reviewers are perfect. And the so call disadvantage, i.e. being far away from tourist spots, is the best part of Focal Local. Exploring the busy city through sky train and river pier was a fun,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sushovan57
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us. We really appreciate being a liitle part of your memorable honeymoon trip in Thailand. We'll look forward to seeing you again. All the best :)

640 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (247)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (83)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (330)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Living Nature II ( Double Bed ) (55)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Siamese ( Double Bed ) (63)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)
Viewed
The Pastel ( Family room ) (62)
Viewed
Yester Years I ( Double Bed ) (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 851 in Bangkok
4,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 851 in Bangkok
7,907 reviews
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 616 in Bangkok
508 reviews
W Home Bangkok
#3 of 616 in Bangkok
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Price Range: ₹ 3,405 - ₹ 4,240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local b&b
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Focal Local Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Rayong Province, Thailand
7 months ago
Andover, Massachusetts

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Focal Local Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We loved our quiet Living Nature room, on the end of the row of ground-floor rooms.”
seaburytraveler, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We loved our quiet Living Nature room, at the end of the row on the ground floor.”
bethg537, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Quieter rooms are located further from the roadside, though overall, I'd say that they're all pretty quiet due to the location.”
Capilano_13, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Living Nature ground floor at the end of the walkway is great if you want a quiet room.”
binderdundat, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had two rooms on the second floor during our first visit, and two on the first floor on the second visit, and they were all excellent.”
MNavin, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5