We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nirvana Garden Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Nirvana Garden Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Nirvana Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 159: English reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Location: Very good in Thamel, just a few minutes walk from the main street with bars, restaurants and cafes, yet tucked away in an alley. Just 20-30 mins drive from the airport. Staff: Staff were polite and helpful Wifi/Internet: Only available in the lobby and we also managed to connect when staying in a room above reception. It's patchy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
nirvanagarden, Manager at Nirvana Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Richard, Thank you for your feedback with the details of our pro and cons. While your complaints may be genuine, it may not be practical if one does not realize the part of the world they are in and the category and the price of the hotel that they are staying in. One cannot expect developed western world...

Mumbai, India
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Hotel Nirvana Garden is conveniently located at the Thamel City Center, which is about 15 mins drive from the airport and is surrounded by numerous shopping streets, restaurants, pubs/ clubs.. ample options to suit every person's pick. The rooms are large and spacious.. with hot water supply.. the front garden is well-maintained and beautiful, well-lit during the evenings.. the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank asawari_86
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

As an avid traveller, I get used to the various standards of hotels across the globe, but there are some that just confuse me and this hotel is one of them. Plus points. Location, location, location as the saying goes! Fantastic little oasis in thruster of Thamel with all the shops you could want on your doorstep and just a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Piratebiker
basingstoke
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

Purported to be 3 star I doubt this hotel would reach a 2 star rating. Once upon a time a long time ago I am sure this hotel was a good place to stay. With its marble staircases and good sized rooms, many with balconies. But that time is long gone. It has grown very tired over the years and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simon s
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2016

We were based in this hotel for three 1 or 2 night stays during our trip to Nepal, Bhutan and Tibet. It's well located for Thamel, tucked away from the noisy street with a nice garden courtyard. The rooms vary a great deal in size and comfort, but all were clean and well serviced. You need a room with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roguejumbo
Asia
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Very disappointed with this hotel. The rooms and bathrooms are old and filthy with dirty and stained carpets. The hot water supply is inadequate and there was no heater at all. Breakfast is very poor and not a big selection. The hotel is very dark and not inviting at all. The only plus points are the nice garden and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frequent T
nirvanagarden, Manager at Nirvana Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, There is electricity cut up to 13 hours a day in Nepal now due to insufficient supply. Though we have a backup generator there is acute shortage of fuel due to fuel & LP gas blockade by India which has resulted in our lighting & heating in the room & the limited menu service in the restaurant.This is...

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2015

The reception and bedrooms are large and pleasant. The hotel gardens are quite pleasant if a little gloomy. The bathrooms are archaic with miserly showers, inadequate hot water (my partner was all soaped up when the hot water went off - not fun), leaking cisterns and peeling, stained baths (we friends shared 2 rooms and looked at another - all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
nirvanagarden, Manager at Nirvana Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for your constructive comments. Though some of the things that you have pointed out, such as the bathroom fixtures, have already been identified by us and are in the process of up-gradation shortly, others such as the electrical supply disruption in the country is beyond our control and is the cause of shortage of hot water,...

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Rooms are ok & clean, some are better than others. Best asset of this hotel is obviously it's garden, a true oasis in busy Thamel. Great place for a drink too, unfortunately the staff who serve the garden are so miserable that it's almost impossible to order a drink. So it's better to bring your own.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OBK2014
Burton Bradstock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2015

Nirvana Garden is a short walk from the bustling centre of Thamel but once you enter the Hotel it is an oasis of calm. The garden is lovely but can be a bit noisy in the day as it is next to a school. Rooms vary in size and it is best to go first floor with a balcony overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bbbythesea
Germany
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Our tour operator booked us in this hotel and it is perfectly adequate for a budget sty in Kathmandu. Rooms are quite large, and we had hot water and a balcony. Breakfast is nothing to write home about. The staff are very friendly and helpful. In fact the recalled that I had been there several years previously Wifi is available....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian J

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Access Nepal
Hotel Access Nepal
#42 of 191 in Kathmandu
266 reviews
0.1 km away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#84 of 191 in Kathmandu
249 reviews
0.3 km away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#31 of 191 in Kathmandu
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 191 in Kathmandu
1,077 reviews
0.3 km away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.1 km away
Mandala Boutique Hotel
Mandala Boutique Hotel
#53 of 191 in Kathmandu
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nirvana Garden-Hotel is located in a tranquil oasis right in the heart of Thamel: Kathmandu's hub of touristic area, within walking distance of the Royal Palace Museum, the shopping and business district and areas of touristic interest. One step away from the hustle and bustle of Thamel, guests can enjoy the serene comfort of an expansive and lush landscaped garden replete with a rocky waterfall and a profusion of flowers, trees and birds. The hotel is unique, starting from its prime location, a spacious parking area, the ambiance and decor of the lobby and rooms to the Nepalese architecture of the hotel structure. The service is friendly but efficient and polite but personal, catering to all the needs of a discerning guest. The hotel aims to provide international standard accommodation and service with a touch of warm Nepalese hospitality at very affordable prices. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nirvana Garden Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 5728 | Thamel, Chhetrapati, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: ₹ 1,974 - ₹ 2,723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nirvana Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Nirvana Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Garden Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nirvana Garden Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The upper floors are nicer, with balconies overlooking the garden”
 of 5 bubbles ddissarrayy, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Up high for the views. Less bugs.”
 of 5 bubbles NordicPNW, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayd on the 4th, 2nd and 3rd floors. They were all equally good.”
 of 5 bubbles fieldyfieldface, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Main building above the lobby for wifi!”
 of 5 bubbles richardfR6068JW, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the front garden are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles asawari_86, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay