We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Festoon Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Festoon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Festoon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 160: English reviews
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewed 9 December 2014

[This is the third time I'm attempting to submit a review. The first 2 are very, very detailed in order to explain exactly why I am rating this hotel "poor". But for some reason TA does not seem to think they are publish-worthy. So I'm making this as less-detailed as possible just so I could submit my overall rating.] At...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Chito F
Jodhpur, India
Reviewed 18 November 2014

This fantastic Festoon gives a very very comfortable stay with excellent staff. We stayed here on Triple occupancy & they gave us a very spacious & beautiful room. Bathroom was on sharing with other rooms, but it was very cleanly maintained. Their WIFI speed is very good. I found their staff with great humble & support for 24*70. Just a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelLove1808
festoon414, Owner at Festoon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear VinaySharma9 Thank you so much for wonderful review at festoon hotel and we are pleasure that you had a fantastic stay at here, thank you so much for shearing your experience, Our friendly staff are always there to lend a helping hand when needed, we always do our very best to try and make our guests feel at home....

Reviewed 1 November 2014

During our tour we stayed at hotels in KAthmandu, pokhara, lumbini and this hotel was the nicest of them all. Large room and bathroom, several restaurants, internet cafe, etc. Quite an unexpected and pleasant surprise! Everything was very clean and service both in our room and all the public areas was excellent. Highly recommend Festoon Hotel I will definately choose...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jenny e
festoon414, Owner at Festoon Hotel, responded to this review

Namaste Jenny Thank you so much for the kind words on your recent stay at Festoon Hotel. It is such a pleasure to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us, thanks and probably see u soon Babu thapa

mumbai india
Reviewed 20 October 2014

We just returned from a wonderful week's vacation in Kathmandu, enhanced by our stay at the FESTOON Hotel. This is the place to stay! It has the charm while providing all the comforts and amenities expected in a hotel. We stayed in a preferred double double, which gave us a little more room to spread out. The room was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sun D
festoon414, Owner at Festoon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sun D Thanks for sharing your feedback with other guest, we are delighted that you had a wonderful time at festoon and see you soon Namaste Babu Thapa

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 11 October 2014 via mobile

During our stayed at Festoon Hotel, the receptionist - Sachi provided very good services to us. He helped us to take our luggages to 4th floor (two big suitcases) and didn't ask for tips, though when we came back from trekking we stayed again and gave him some tips for his help again. He is a kind person with good...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank zipzipzoe
festoon414, Owner at Festoon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Zipzipzoe Thank you so much for your sweet comment, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I agree with your view on our superb location, bit noisy, electricity problem, but issue is, you know that thamel is too small, and electricity is country issue, but i m sure i ll do our best. We look forward to your...

Reviewed 4 October 2014 via mobile

The people that run this place are lovely. Don't be afraid to ask them for advice or help of any kind, cause they are very genuine and helpful. First day we got a room that was too damp for us but when we told them they changed it right away to a very nice room. All the other rooms I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander H
festoon414, Owner at Festoon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alex Thank you for conveying your feedback following your recent stay at Festoon Hotel. We are appreciative of your comments and naturally pleased you were satisfied with your overall experience, and most of all interacting with our staff. Comments such as yours certainly make us proud to do what we enjoy doing every day. We are delighted we could...

Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Recently spent a week and a half at this hotel. The Thapa Brothers are extremely friendly and helpful, and made our stay extremely pleasant! The hotel is quite affordable and centrally located. Definitely recommending it!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ZeeshanArif41
festoon414, Owner at Festoon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Zeeshan Thank u so much for your wonderful review it is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Everything you mentioned is what we strive to achieve every day, and your comments certainly make us proud. We hope to see you again Soon. Thank you Babu Thapa

Reviewed 18 September 2014

I stayed for 5 days in festoon hotel, it was really good. Staffs were so friendly and the location was good for restaurants and shopping. Lil bit noisy yeah but for the price you get the best. I recommend this hotel if you are looking for short stay in lower prices.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kashi G
festoon414, Owner at Festoon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks Kashi , it is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay at FESTOON hotel! Everything you mentioned is what we want to achieve every day, and your comments certainly make us happy. We hope to see you again Soon. thank you Babu thapa

Reviewed 12 September 2014 via mobile

The team at Festoon, the Thapa brothers and the rest of the staff are very friendly helpful people. Made the stay extremely hospitable. The rooms are decent for the price you pay, sheets are clean and can be changed whenever you'd like for it to be. Showers are hot and generally clean. Only thing is the noise from Thamel and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cyntan92
festoon414, Owner at Festoon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cyntan92 Thank you so much for your fantastic review. There are some country issue, like electricity, or water in kathmandu and many more but we always try our best to exceed our customers expectations, like hot water all the time, free wi-fi in the room, free pick up from airport, etc and we are certainly thrilled that we were...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I recently stayed for a total of 4 nights at the Festoon and I can say above all things, the staff (Babu, Romesh and company) are incredibly friendly and helpful. They made Kathmandu so easy for us to navigate and enjoy. They even took my friend and I out on their motorcycles for a real-feel tour! The hotel itself is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steven K
festoon414, Owner at Festoon Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Stev Namaste from Festoon Hotel I am glad to read your comment on tripadvisor bro We are also delighted to be part of your experience of first arriving in the country. I had a wonderful time that evening where we went in moter bike ride, me and our friendly staff are always there to lend a helping hand when...

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (91)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Gallery Nepal
Hotel Gallery Nepal
#69 of 194 in Kathmandu
34 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Visit Nepal
Hotel Visit Nepal
#148 of 194 in Kathmandu
55 reviews
0.0 km away
Kathmandu Mantra Home
Kathmandu Mantra Home
#100 of 194 in Kathmandu
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#43 of 194 in Kathmandu
663 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Florid Nepal
Hotel Florid Nepal
#45 of 194 in Kathmandu
174 reviews
0.3 km away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 194 in Kathmandu
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Festoon Hotel is "Where Luxury Meets Affordability." We sure haven’t been to Hotel California but Eagles would certainly love this hotel as much for, despite that we do not have the Stars, we have bountiful of flowers to offer every of our prized customers with warm smile and welcoming embrace. In a world where luxury is often directly proportionally to the amount of green loads in your pockets, two of us young entrepreneurs undertook this sprightly onset with one objective of offering quality service in modest price. Hence our tagline: Where luxury meets affordability. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Festoon Hotel

Address: Thamel-16, Z-Street, Kathmandu, Nepal | G.P.O Box 6711,, Kathmandu 6711, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: ₹ 654 - ₹ 1,047 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Festoon Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Festoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Festoon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one of the big double rooms and if you're lazy a room on a low level”
 of 5 bubbles holliea103, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great Location”
 of 5 bubbles 316arjunas, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have less A/C unit noise"”
 of 5 bubbles subast2015, 23 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Don't miss this hotel, don't miss the room, don't miss the free breakfast, stay happy, have a fun.”
 of 5 bubbles RajbabuS, 10 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side are quieter"”
 of 5 bubbles anju300, 9 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5