We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shangri-la Boutique Hotel

TravelocityUS$ 32*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 32*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Shangri-la Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 110: English reviews
Start your review of Shangri-la Boutique Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This my second time here in Kathmandu, Nepal and my second time in this hotel. I didn't hesitate to stay here again the location is good the accessibility wise, the management is very good and friendly and finally the service is as good as everything here. They picked me up from the airport at and take me back there in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Khalid A
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed at shangri-la boutique with three people for a total of 4 nights. The staff is immenselyst friendly and works hard to make you feel welcome and at home. The rooms are great, the bathrooms are ok and everyone is trying to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The hotel has a great rooftop restaurant/bar/chill-out area and several...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We pre booked the hotel & airport pick up. Got picked up but taxi didn't know where hotel was !! He parked up 1 min away from hotel then just drive us around Thamel for 40 mins. Eventually got to hotel who appogised, offered us arrival drink in bar & said bags would be put in room. After 30 mins...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James C
Keshab K, Manager at Shangri-la Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Namaste James. Thank you for your review. We would like to begin by assuring you that we did in fact have a guest injure his ankle and need to extend his stay by 3 additional days during your stay. In fact, during this quite busy 2017 trekking/tourism season we have had a handful of guests suffer the same fate and...

Geraldton, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our last night in Nepal and we'd driven in from pokhara through heavy traffic so we were pretty exhausted when we arrived at the hotel. We were told that unfortunately our rooms were not in use due to a fault so the reception guy took us to a "different building". This turned out to be the backpackers hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wt9044
Keshab K, Manager at Shangri-la Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Namaste. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Upon check-in we should have explained that on the day of your arrival we had a guest that needed to go to the hospital who then returned to the hotel later the same day occupying one of the 3 rooms available. Although we still had the 2 remaining...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I first arrived here a month ago and it has served as a wonderful home base during my time in Nepal! The location is perfect, the beds are comfy and the food is fantastic. But, the best thing about Sganri-la Boutique Hotel are the people. I always look forward to the staff's warm greetings and genuine inquiries about my trek...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
Keshab K, Manager at Shangri-la Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Namaste Colleen! It has been such a pleasure hosting you. At Shangri La Boutique Hotel we want our guests to feel right at home and are happy to know that you felt both warm and welcomed. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Sincerely, Keshab

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hostel/hotel offers bunk rooms and single rooms. They're clean and tidy. The ground floor room was a little bit cold but to be expected of Kathmandu in March. The two rooftop areas are the best part of the place and the owner's and staff's easy-going and happy nature gives the place a good vibe.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank layla m
Keshab K, Manager at Shangri-la Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Namaste! Thank you for the great review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you into our home again in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Shangri-la Boutique has rocked our socks off. The staff have been friendly and helpful, airport transfers were cheap, breakfasts and bar delicious, and the hostel is located right in the middle it all. Thanks for accommodating myself, Brad, and Jeremy. A great place to meet people from all over the world. Will see you next time!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
Keshab K, Manager at Shangri-la Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Namaste! Thank you for the great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at our little oasis in Thamel and look forward to welcoming you all again in the near future. Sincerely, Keshab

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

I could not fault Shangri-la. Everything is perfect. Every basic comfort that a traveler craves at 5star service.. Unbelievably comfortable rooms, Daily hot breakfast, Towels supplied, Unlimited rolls of toilet paper, always hand soap, always hot showers, drinking water, use of computer and printer, wifi on every level, rooftop hangs, always friendly staff (staff doesnt sound right, these guys are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ella R
Keshab K, Manager at Shangri-la Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Namaste Ella! Thank you for such a great review. It was truly our pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back into our home in the near future. Sincerely, Keshab

Reviewed 5 March 2017

Wow where do i start. I never write reviews but i just have to sing about Keshab the owner and his family's hospitality who went out all the way to treat us like family. It all started when our luggage did not arrive at the airport, and we were delayed by and hour and a half. Running out, we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna F
Keshab K, Manager at Shangri-la Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Namaste Joanna! Thank you for the wonderful review! At Shangri La Boutique Hotel we feel that we really are a family and love welcoming guests into our home. We are thrilled that you allowed us to help make your travel dreams come true and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future! Sincerely, Keshab

Reviewed 20 February 2017

I stayed at Shangri-la several times during a recent trip to Nepal. I absolutely love this place. Room rates are a bit more than other hostels around the Jyatha area ($7-$9/night), but the few extra dollars are well worth it. The rooms are extremely clean, warm, and comfortable. Additionally, the beds were the most comfortable and warmest that I experienced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Than J
Keshab K, Manager at Shangri-la Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Namaste! Thank you for the great review and recommendation! At Shangri La Boutuque Hotel our goal is to provide a clean comfortable room, complete with hardy breakfast, allowing our guests to just relax and feel right at home. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed our Nepali hospitality and look forward to welcoming you back in the future....

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (14)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.6 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#69 of 193 in Kathmandu
435 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Mustang Holiday Inn
Hotel Mustang Holiday Inn
#133 of 193 in Kathmandu
31 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#8 of 193 in Kathmandu
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#60 of 193 in Kathmandu
170 reviews
0.3 km away
Alobar1000 Hostel
Alobar1000 Hostel
#41 of 432 in Kathmandu
241 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Amaryllis
Hotel Amaryllis
#2 of 432 in Kathmandu
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shangri-La Boutique Hotel is a unique fusion of classical paintings amidst an urban atmosphere that perfectly captures the essence of Kathmandu, hosting guests from all around the world to share a space and indulge in conversations about their homelands as well as of their travels around Nepal. Located very centrally in the tourist hub that Thamel is, our hotel is tucked well inside, giving our guests a quiet sanctuary from the buzzing streets, where they can breathe fresh air from the surrounding greenery. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shangri-la Boutique Hotel

Address: Jyatha Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: ₹ 713 - ₹ 2,658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shangri-la Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-la Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shangri-la Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Shangri-la Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lower floors have better wifi connection from the Reception and higher floors, better wifi from the rooftop connection.”
joannaf603, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for the larger room if you're not looking for a hostel environment. The electricity can be a problem so have a bath bright and early!”
, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I'd say that all rooms are probably equal.”
Man_from_Dola, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The higher the room, the less pollution from the street (which is unavoidable really).”
alik475, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the first floor and had the balcony view. Do not miss visiting the roof top!”
, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$ 32* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Hotels.comUS$ 32
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates