We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Ruch

Jumia TravelUS$ 100*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hotel Ruch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ruch
See the most recent reviews
Showing 53: English reviews
Chioggia, Italy
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

I spent seven days at this hotel which is located in a very quiet area of town and near the center .The rooms are clear and tidy comfortable .The internet connection is good .The staf is very kind , friendly and always a smile and always ready to help .The hotel restaurant offers good food .The breakfast is good and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Massimo L
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Rooms good hospitality perfect and I have to personally recognizance the hotel staffs like the Manager himself, Receptionist( lady), Jacky, Robert kitchen staffs cleaning staffs, security guys Irimaso Josphert and Janet all were good friends while in the hotel. My opinion and what the hotel is missing most is a small gym or swimming pool one of these will make...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisodhiambo18
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel several times. The staff are very friendly and most accommodating. The restaurant next door has excellent Indian dishes. Hotel is well located, within walking distance to many popular areas. My rooms have always been clean and the beds very comfortable. It's quiet at night and I always get a good sleep. Breakfast is usually...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ahmedabad, India
Reviewed 8 January 2016

This is one of the worst hotel i have ever experienced. No service, no facilities against the tariff they are charging. Free breakfast is not at all up to the mark. Rooms are not so good. Lights in and out the rooms are very very poor. Room services is zero. Over all environment of the hotel is worst. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CAPranav
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2015

To start with room wasn't cleaned. Used condom wrappers in bedside drawers. Blanket smaller than bed. Only 1 bedsheet no fitted sheet.1 pillow. Fan was same PowerPoint as tv, so you had to choose which one. We could have lived with all these issues as room was cleaned and adapter supplied after complaining. Butfor the Indian owner who played loud...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rugbfn01
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Hotel staff is pleasant and it is going an extra mile to fulfill your wishes. However, the building and its state is not up to high standards. Definitely needs some improvements, and especially making the "cold" environment more "warm" and attractive. Breakfast is self service without much of variety. So, just basic to keep you going through few hours. Unfortunately,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dragan D
perth
Reviewed 17 July 2015

The room was very nice and clean but I think a little over priced as it had no toiletries not even a small soap which was a little disappointing considering the price the room we had was 221.The breakfast was sparse and the service not very good or friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PerthJill
staines
Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

The rooms look nice on the website but when you get there, the towels are dirty the bathroom in 207 wasn't very clean, very few sockets, terrible service. The rooms are spacious as shown on the website. It's too expensive for such sub standard services. We pay extra 10$ for breakfast that is stale

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julietStaines
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

Budget hotel that reflects service, comfort and cleanliness in price. No desk in room, bathroom needs a good scrub, looks like an old run down hotel. Not the cleanest place. My last stay here for sure. Breakfast poor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joseph o
HotelsinKampala, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review

You chose the most basic and cheapest room (with minimum amenities) at our Hotel and were shown this room before occupation. In fact, you insisted on the cheapest $50 room the moment you stepped into the Hotel. You demanded for a desk on the next day and were politely offered the option to upgrade to a room with a desk...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 2 April 2015

It's a nice hotel in the heart of Kampala close to the Intercontinental. I was staying there for a couple of nights prior to my volunteering project. The staff is delightful and always trying to do the best for you. There's also a small restaurant where you can order pizza or other dishes, not so expensive and good food. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hfinke

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.1 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Uganda Ltd.
0.7 km away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 101 in Kampala
25 reviews
0.4 km away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 101 in Kampala
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Imperial Royale Hotel
Imperial Royale Hotel
#64 of 101 in Kampala
94 reviews
6.0 km away
Marie's Royale Hotel
Marie's Royale Hotel
#53 of 101 in Kampala
3 reviews
0.3 km away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 101 in Kampala
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Ruch is a hotel in central Kampala where a warm welcome and a quiet night's sleep is guaranteed. Being a no-frills Hotel, we pride ourselves on providing hotel accommodation in central Kampala, Uganda at competitive rates starting from only $70 per night. We are only 5 minutes walking distance from the centre of Kampala with easy access to public transport. Hotel Ruch is in between two 5* Hotels in Kampala, the Sheraton & Serena Hotels ; The city centre, super-markets and shopping centres are less than a 5 min's drive away. Unwind and relax in serene wild-life themed Uzuri Gardens. An experience unmatched by any hotel in central Kampala ; no noise, no distractions, Just you, your thoughts and nature. Excite your taste buds with delicious curries & naans baked in a clay Tandoor, YUM! With a 6-page menu & quality beyond any of the hotels in Kampala, you will be spoilt for choice! We are located in a safe, secure & central area of the Kampala CBD and has ample secure parking for over 30 cars. Relax, have a coffee or read a book all under a traditional hand-thatched roof. We are one of the few Hotels in Kampala giving back to the community by employing local crafts-men. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Ruch

Address: Plot 3 Kintu Road, Kampala 6219, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: ₹ 4,476 - ₹ 6,488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Ruch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruch Hotel Kampala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Ruch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no comment. Satisfaction is enough”
  • I was in roo 307
, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“As for a quiet room, they might put yo in the top floor”
tinao202, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“don't stay here, all rooms terrible”
Vanessa_Pearce, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose rooms near the réception for fast wifi”
mangalataty, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I liked the North Wing”
chrisodhiambo18, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Jumia Travel
US$ 100* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates