We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fairway Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Fairway Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 218: English reviews
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 21 October 2015

The Fairway hotel is located in the capital of Uganda and having a good view and location in the area. it is near to the city and a guest can easily access to the market to fulfill his requirements. Fair Way hotel has a good swimming pool, gym for exercise and a lots for the refreshment at morning and evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wali K
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your business trip. We appreciate all your compliments and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will return because we would be delighted to host you again.

Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

I spent three nights there and i was waiting to go back home. The room was ok but the bathroom was a disaster. No hot water and when i asked they told me that the boiler is taking time to make the water hot. And i never got a hot water. The gym if we can call it is also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fliss L
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We apologize for the glitch in our service provision. There was an unexpected breakdown in our hot water system hence your experience and we were working around the clock to get it fixed. However, we should have been more communicative to you. Once again, we apologize for this and can assure you...

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 14 October 2015

I have stayed in many hotels in Kampala. However, my experience with Fairway Hotel is unique. To begin with, staff is very friendly at the same time professional. Rooms are comfortable and spacious (particularly the Executive rooms which are recently renovated and furnished). You will get Asian as well as local food at the restaurants; my personal favourite is the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sudipto D
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to review us. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant UNIQUE experience with us compared to other hotels and enjoyed all our services and facilities. We wish you safe travels and can't wait to host you again to another wonderful experience when you return to Kampala.

Reviewed 14 October 2015

This hotel is one of the worst hotels. At a rate of $100.00 for B&B is not worth it. Do not get fooled by the website. Amazing photos probably photo shopped. Spent two nights. The beds smelled bad, the bathroom if you can call it a bathroom was crap, hardly any space. I think they forgot to put a bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anil S
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for dissatisfaction you experienced. We understand your frustration because the room initially allocated to you did not get vacated as expected and our personnel should have communicated this to you and offered you a discount before giving you the budget room you stayed in. The photos on our website are factual but as...

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 13 October 2015

I checked in on 10th October 2015. I came from Tanzania on a early flight was jet lagged a bit. I paid USD 300 towards the deposit and heard the front of lady telling that I need to pay another USD 75.00 in total for my entire stay for 3 days. After 2 days I was checking my receipts suddenly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shreekanth2015
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Once again, we would like to sincerely apologize for this incident. Immediately you reported this to us, we launched a thorough investigation and confirmed that it was an oversight by our cashier. It is for this reason we reimbursed you the difference of $185 (not $285 as you’ve stated). Please note that...

Reviewed 12 October 2015

The rooms are average, infact, some of them even smell of mite because of the old carpets. But if you talk to the front office, they are more than eager to help you any way they can. Service is very good. There are no elevators but its okay. Room size is decent. Food is very good at both the restaurants....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tarun S
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you traveled on business. We appreciate all your feedback and are glad to hear our front desk was able to assist you in every way, because your comfort is our priority. Looking forward to hosting you again.

Mumbai, India
Reviewed 9 October 2015

I am here for my business trip(14days) in Kampala and experienced Excellent hospitality service The room decor is very good with fast service any request they help us as soon as possible, I like the In House Restaurant Asian Fusion & Chef Nasur preparation was excellent.. @breakfast served in Tree top unable to provide variety in Indian breakfast. All staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raman S
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to spend your 14 day business trip with us, we are honored! It is great you hear you experienced exceptional hospitality because that is one of our mission statements. We will pass on your appreciations to the staff you have mentioned. We look forward to hosting you again when you return

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2015

My partner and I enjoyed our stay in this hotel. We stayed in one of the bigger rooms which I appeared to have been newly decorated. The room was modern, calm and the bed was very comfortable. The restaurant situated outside in the hotel compound served tasty food and was very well priced. We tried the spa which was just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tee L
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate all your compliments and are delighted to hear you enjoyed our new rooms and services. We look forward to hosting you to another pleasant experience when you return.

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 5 October 2015

It was my stay at this hotel , Hotels is comfortable and clean, My room is facing Garden which was very relaxing , staffs are friendly and helpful. Very good part of this hotel is food is excellent , Hotel ambience is awesome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nishant K
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad we achieved one of our goals of giving our guests a home-away-from-home experience. We can't wait to host you again.

Reviewed 3 October 2015

You reach hotel anytime the staff is very friendly. I reached almost at 1:30 AM and they took care of checkin plus allocating room in 5 minutes.. Amazing experience. Great Asian Fusion restaurant and Ice lounge.. Last time Mr. Singh - Front desk coordinator was cordial enough to arrange for food late night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ashutosh A
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are delighted to know that you had an amazing experience with us. Regardless of the time a guest checks in, we will always have a team ready to welcome and settle them in comfortably. We hope we will host you again.

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1.1 km away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#5 of 93 in Kampala
303 reviews
3.3 km away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#10 of 93 in Kampala
170 reviews
0.7 km away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#12 of 93 in Kampala
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 93 in Kampala
583 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Africana
Hotel Africana
#21 of 93 in Kampala
168 reviews
0.5 km away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fairway Hotel is one of the oldest and most reputable hotels in Kampala serving the community since 1969. Located on Nakasero, guests can enjoy views of the Uganda Golf Club, the lush Kitante Valley and the Kololo Hill. Our rooms are spread over four blocks within a plush landscape of trim lawns, flower bushes, and diverse palm species. We are within a 10min walk of town, malls, movie theaters, grocery stores, restaurants, and golf course. We have restaurants, a lounge/bar, pool, gym, conference/meeting room facilities and large gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Address: 1 Kafu Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: ₹ 7,628 - ₹ 10,080 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel Kampala
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#10 Business Hotel in Kampala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairway Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Anchorage, Alaska, United States

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Fairway Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“New Wing is quite good”
 of 5 bubbles Sandy0711, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Air conditioned rooms from room 401 or Executive rooms away from the road-facing side”
 of 5 bubbles DanielJ490, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Enjoyed my room overlooking the garden.”
 of 5 bubbles OmarG722, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Away from the front, but ALWAYS check everything before moving in”
 of 5 bubbles Srivatsan, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Executive rooms”
 of 5 bubbles RalfS315, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay