We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort

Save
Share
Wavamunno Road, Kampala Uganda
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$312
Tripadvisor$312
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com$312
ZenHotels.com$318
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (356)
Room & Suite (58)
Pool & Beach (39)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 295 hotels in Kampala
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Set on 90 acres in the Speke Resort complex and with a majestic view of Lake Victoria, Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is Uganda’s leading 5-star resort. Specifically constructed to host the 2007 Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM), Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort has earned worldwide recognition as ‘the Presidents’ resort. It has hosted numerous high profile guests, from Heads of State and foreign dignitaries to international celebrities, who consider it a home away from home. Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is dedicated to providing unrivalled comfort and unmatched services. The resort has 59 Presidential suites with a unique blend of traditional Ugandan and ultra modern furnishings that merge into the Pearl of Africa theme which is carried throughout the entire décor. The many room features and amenities ensure a seamless transition from pleasure to business and vice-versa. The meeting rooms, suitable for any occasion, are designed around your requirements and are all situated under one roof. We have comprehensive wellness and fitness facilities that assist body and mind to work in harmony. Munyonyo’s strategic location, close to business, shopping, and entertainment areas, make it the ideal choice for leisure and business travellers.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Babysitting
Wifi
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Kitchenette
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Modern
859Reviews4Q+A94Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 690
  • 96
  • 42
  • 20
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Edrine S wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The stay was very amazing, very good amenities. The massage at Calabash was extremely relaxing and professionally done, Nyanja restaurant had very good food and an amazing band. Overall it was an amazing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhilesh Malik, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest Greetings from resort ! On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We pride ourselves in getting things right the first time and exceeding our valued guests expectations. Thank you for visiting us. We glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort in the not too distant future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MUTABAZI J wrote a review Dec 2022
Kampala, Uganda7 contributions
The cleanliness around and inside the resort was so charming more so in the rooms. The customer care services from the point of entrance, checking in, checking out. Its was so different of which calls for continous visit of this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhilesh Malik, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest Greetings from resort ! On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We pride ourselves in getting things right the first time and exceeding our valued guests expectations. Thank you for visiting us. We glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort in the not too distant future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nomad594237 wrote a review Nov 2022
1 helpful vote
We enjoyed our stay. The rooms are cosy and tidy. The staff is very friendly and kind. Breakfast is fresh every morning with many options to choose from Really enjoyed our stay, and definitely coming back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the lake -BEST view ever
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhilesh Malik, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Responded 24 Nov 2022
Dear Guest Greetings from resort ! On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We pride ourselves in getting things right the first time and exceeding our valued guests expectations. Thank you for visiting us. We glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort in the not too distant future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jo wrote a review Nov 2022
Ahmedabad District, India1 contribution
One amazing place to visit in Uganda. Food is freshly cooked. It takes time to receive food but worth a wait. Fresh fruits for breakfast. Staffs are friendly and help full. View of the lake. Beautiful gardens. Clean. Breath taking place. I will go back to this place again. Big thank you to the staff who can't do enough for you. Look forward to coming back. God bless you all.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhilesh Malik, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Responded 12 Nov 2022
Dear Guest Greetings from resort ! On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We pride ourselves in getting things right the first time and exceeding our valued guests expectations. Thank you for visiting us. We glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort in the not too distant future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arianna D wrote a review Nov 2022
+1
I'm from Italy and I went to Speke to represent my country invited and (in theory) paid for by an international competition called "Miss Planet International" and arrived at the hotel, the bitter discovery of having been the victim of a scam by this woman Monika Akech. I had to pay for my stay, but thanks to the kindness, availability and friendliness of one of the managers, Vivek, the burden of the scam eased and I was able to enjoy a wonderful holiday feeling welcomed, protected and safe. I highly recommend the structure from every point of view: hospitality, services, cleanliness, food, friendliness and magic. Thanks Speke, heartfelt thanks Vivek.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhilesh Malik, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Responded 12 Nov 2022
Dear Guest Greetings from resort ! On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We pride ourselves in getting things right the first time and exceeding our valued guests expectations. Thank you for visiting us. We glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort in the not too distant future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John Kuot Kuany Diing wrote a review Nov 2022
Juba, South Sudan7 contributions
Well kept. Clean and with fresh breaths as gardens grow green throughout the year. The touch to lake Victoria is seen from the windows and you can walk around the place. Sit outside and sip your coffee/tea. Friendly workers. Be prepared to carryon enough cash as this place is somehow expensive compare to prices in downtown Kampala
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhilesh Malik, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Responded 8 Nov 2022
Dear Guest Greetings from resort ! On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We pride ourselves in getting things right the first time and exceeding our valued guests expectations. Thank you for visiting us. We glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort in the not too distant future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rajas B wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
One of the best experience that I ever had in my life. The property is spread with quite and calm environment and I must say that I'll surely recommend this property for a night stay. What makes this hotel amazing is the staff; especially Mr. Vivek Negi who is all rounder and always anticipates guests request on time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhilesh Malik, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Responded 8 Nov 2022
Dear Guest Greetings from resort ! On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We pride ourselves in getting things right the first time and exceeding our valued guests expectations. Thank you for visiting us. We glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort in the not too distant future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Himanshu K wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Since I entered the hotel to departure the hotel staff took great care of my stay special thanks to Mr Vivek Negi. He did make sure that everything was in place as I requested him thank you for accommodating me.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhilesh Malik, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Responded 26 Sep 2022
Dear Guest Greetings from resort ! On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We pride ourselves in getting things right the first time and exceeding our valued guests expectations. Thank you for visiting us. We glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort in the not too distant future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dolly wrote a review Sep 2022
Jaipur, India12 contributions5 helpful votes
Everything from experience to hospitality till food was perfect. Service is always perfect, food is always on point, and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. Always looking forward to this place with my friends. Special thanks to Mr. Vivek Negi for being kind & helpful
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhilesh Malik, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Responded 15 Sep 2022
Dear Guest Greetings from resort ! On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We pride ourselves in getting things right the first time and exceeding our valued guests expectations. Thank you for visiting us. We glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort in the not too distant future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harish B wrote a review Sep 2022
Kampala, Uganda6 contributions
Checked-in Friday 9Sept expecting to spend a relaxing weekend but the pricey room facing lake & swimming pool became a nightmare by the loud noises created by fabricators of an event company, not stopped until 2 am until complained heavily. Started again in few hours …! Management what’s the protocol for the event companies?
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhilesh Malik, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Responded 11 Sep 2022
Dear Guest I would like to thank you for taking time to express the unpleasant experience you had during your recent visit with us. It is only through feedback, that we are able to improve on our services making your next visit with us a lot more comfortable. I really empathize regarding the points you mentioned and I have brought this up to the rest of the management team. Please be rest assured that corrective measures are being taken to address all your concerns. I must say your experience is certainly not the practice we envision as Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort that is known for offering excellent services that add value and exceeds your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the frustration and inconvenience caused due to the excess noise form the swimming pool area while at the resort. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better whenever you decide to visit us again. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$309 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
UgandaCentral RegionKampala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
114
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MUNYONYO COMMONWEALTH RESORT (Kampala) - Resort Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort?
Nearby attractions include Munyonyo Martyrs' Shrine (0.7 km), Munyonyo Beach (0.8 km), and Planet Sports (2.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Chateau Brasserie Belge, Khazana the Verandah, and Coffee At Last.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.