We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Protea Hotel Kampala

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Kampala
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel Kampala
See the most recent reviews
Showing 192: English reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 14 January 2016

We had to move from an inferior hotel, due to dodgy mattresses, neon lighting and poor food, (no names mentioned). As we have stayed in the Protea (Moshi) we thought we would enquire at the Protea, Kampala. The receptionists could win awards in courtesy, and very quickly had made me a good offer for our family. In fact we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Storm S
comradestuart, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Thank you for your words of appreciation on your review during your recent stay at Protea Hotel Kampala. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. We look forward to welcoming you to...

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

I found the hotel to be very well located, in a safe and secure suburb, walking distance to some bars, restaurants and night clubs. I appreciated the size of the room and the basic amenities that were in it. I however had to request for a fridge from the reception. The hotel staff were warm and helpful. I would go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hon Remmy S
comradestuart, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete your review and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where...

Reviewed 17 December 2015 via mobile

This is a hotel like no other, never again have I ever received complimentary drinks with every stay at the hotel The hotel is less crowded and ideal for a business trip and unwinding. The fact that it's not in the middle of the city it makes its conference rooms ideal for training The hotel is well placed out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kamau G
comradestuart, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Thank you for your words of appreciation on your review that you completed during your recent stay at Protea Hotel Kampala. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2015

If you want a big quiet room with a balcony and no WiFi, choose 303. See other comments - this is no new problem, however surprised they may appear. After a week of no WiFi in my room they lent me an internet dongle - why didn't I get this on the second day? I missed deadlines because of this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
comradestuart, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Good day Mr. Therkelsen, We are in receipt of your complaint regarding your stay with us at the Protea Hotel Kampala . Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, thus assisting us in continually improving our standards. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the disappointment you experienced due to the communication on the...

Cape Town
Reviewed 4 December 2015

Currently staying at the hotel - after I checked in I realised there are no water. Phoned reception numerous times everytime to be told it will be 30 minutes - 3 hours later still no water. The communication and way that it is being dealt with is terrible - reflects poorly on their customer service. Suppose to stay here 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnndeeCapeTown
comradestuart, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Good day Ms. Dippenaar, Thank you for your comment and bringing this to our attention directly. The water problem you are referring to started late Friday evening around the time you checked in. The hotel has back up underground water tanks in the event that there is a shortage supply on the national water grid. Early the following morning we...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 December 2015 via mobile

My favorite hotel in Kampala. Great setting, brilliant service... Clean, new and spacious rooms. Check your forex change on your way out though... Had a terrible experience on my way out the last time I was there, ending up carrying a fake $50 note presented to me by the hotel staff at 7am in the morning!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bahjat M
comradestuart, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Good day Mr. Mirza, Thank you for reviewing Protea Hotel Kampala on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your compliments of the hotel. With regards to the fake note as per your review I would like to draw your attention to the response sent to you via email regarding your written complaint to us on 28/09/2015. "Good day Mr. Bahjat, We wish...

Mombasa
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Just a small place, very clean, friendly staff. the restaurant a huge Breakfast Buffet and when you return after a long day of work, a nice a la carte menu. I missed the barbeque Wednesday dinner, I was advised it is unbelievably good... Even to jut pop in for a quick meal, I can just recommend the restaurant. Every checked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slofty
comradestuart, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a review during your stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively...

Mumbai, India
Reviewed 26 November 2015

Actually 4.5 rating and not 4. Great place. The weight of the rating goes to the service staff. Good food. Got all food combo. I did get a South African feel to the taste. But then again its just a guess. Spacious rooms and a good bath. The bath doesn't have a bath tub but I shall give it a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MSAhmed
comradestuart, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Thank you for completing a review during your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2015

This hotel is well placed and has a pleasant garden to eat in, though if raining, as it was, you have to run from the hotel building to the restaurant. The food is quite good and an excellent breakfast. Staff are friendly. The gym is good. For the price paid, which is alot, my bedroom was very small. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FionaDuby
comradestuart, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Thank you for completing your review of Protea Hotel Kampala during your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2015 via mobile

Spent a week in this place on a work trip. It was fine, clean and comfortable, quite corporate feeling and a bit glitzy. Wifi was in and out, food was ok but not great. A bit overpriced I thought. Very good location though, 10min from my meetings in town and walking distance to good restaurants. Overall a safe choice but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nagapie_eh
comradestuart, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Thank you for completing your review of Protea Hotel Kampala during your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should...

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1.6 km away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#5 of 93 in Kampala
303 reviews
1.0 km away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 93 in Kampala
584 reviews
1.4 km away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#16 of 93 in Kampala
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#10 of 93 in Kampala
171 reviews
0.7 km away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#11 of 93 in Kampala
224 reviews
2.8 km away
Kabira Country Club
Kabira Country Club
#9 of 93 in Kampala
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the upmarket suburb of Kololo in Kampala, only 35 km from Entebbe Airport, the Protea Hotel Kampala offers guests 4-star luxury and 5-star service. No matter which room you stay in, they are all fully air conditioned with free high speed internet connectivity, high pressure showers, large LCD screen TVs with 16 channels including BBC and SKY News. Keep up to date with our business centre and 24-hour reception. After a busy day, de-stress with a workout in the 24-hour fitness centre and then call down for a midnight snack with our 24-hour room service a little later. We have the perfect accommodation choice in the heart of Uganda's capital. Indulge yourself at Chapter One Restaurant, which serves a high quality buffet breakfast and sumptuous a la carte lunch and dinner. Travel to and from the airport in style with our BMW X3 and 5 series, which can be charged to your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Kampala

Address: Elgon Terrace, Kololo, Kampala 9421, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: ₹ 13,672 - ₹ 19,966 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Kampala 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Jovago.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel Kampala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Kampala staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Kampala staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A majority of the really good restaurants & clubs & pubs are in the same street as the Protea”
 of 5 bubbles Moorzinio, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best rooms are on second floor better view”
 of 5 bubbles Sidijess, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rear facing rooms”
  • View from Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles ankeet_sinha, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“avoid rooms overlooking the driveway up to the porte cochere”
 of 5 bubbles Sekurut, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“choose 2nd or third floor rooms on the upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles yhac, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay