We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Vondelhof Guesthouse

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Vondelhof Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 67: English reviews
Uberlingen, Germany
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The warm welcome to the guest house was just the thing to be comfortable and to relax after a long flight. The room was nice, spacious and very clean. The ideal place to prepare our trip through Namibia and Botswana with the four wheel drive by the pool. The guesthouse has a quiet location just outside the center of Windhoek,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wilfried Z
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived late the evening after flying in and were met by the owner who helps us to settle into our room. The room had two single beds and had enough space for us to set up our baby daughters cot inside the room. Breakfast was very good and the rooms were serviced daily. My only complaint is that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andre' L
Vondelhof, Owner at Vondelhof Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that the ceiling fan didn't provide enough relief. It's been unusually hot the past few weeks and we're desperately waiting for the rain to come and bring the temperature down. Although there is no malaria risk in Windhoek, mosquitos can be a nuisance in summer, but the mosquito nets in combination with the...

Leusden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We started and ended our holiday in Namibia in this guesthouse. Good location, friendly staff, nice size rooms, nice size swimming pool. I can recommend this guesthouse to people want to stay one or two nights in Windhoek

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 439karen
Vondelhof, Owner at Vondelhof Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm always pleased to receive feedback and hear that our guests enjoyed their stay.

Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been to Vondelhof 3 times this year. Its always a lovely experience. Staff is friendly and always willing to help were they can. There is always a wide variety for breakfast. A lovely pool to swim in for those hot days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candice V
Vondelhof, Owner at Vondelhof Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback. Guests who are returning time and again are the best advertisement we can ask for, and we look forward to your next visit.

Steinach am Brenner, Austria
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything was nice - stuff, breakfast, pool, rooms Friendly Stuff (breakfast, rooms, etc.) Near the historical Town (5 minutes to the great Street) Very good breakfast except eggs where missing (extra pay)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bruder3
Vondelhof, Owner at Vondelhof Guesthouse, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing your review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a month in Namibia with always good lodges and campings, we arrived here before we went to the airport. First of all the girl at the reception was not friendly. We booked the family room, which was very warm (no airco, only a fan), not very clean, small, on the first floor with a lot of stairs, and my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David D
Vondelhof, Owner at Vondelhof Guesthouse, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disappointed, but I would like to clarify a few things. Our family units consist of two inter-leading rooms, one with a double bed and the other with two single beds, each with en-suite bathroom. However, when we received your booking late October all family units were already booked and we only had a triple...

Vaassen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No facilities. You have to pay for the internet. There is no bar, no air conditioning. a very mediocre room. The van gives little breeze. Little comfort. Nice staff. I will certainly not recommend this to my friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit V
Vondelhof, Owner at Vondelhof Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I can't really provide feedback on your comments 'no facilities' and 'no comfort' as you'd have to be a bit more specific what was supposedly lacking. Our rooms indeed have no air-conditioning but are all equipped with ceiling fans that have three speed levels, ranging from low to medium to high speed. We are a...

Ruurlo, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room 3 at first floor was larger and more comfortable than room 7 at 2nd floor, although room 7 was also okay. Breakfast was simple. Could leave luggage at Vondelhof's until evening because of late departure to airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 826peterx
Vondelhof, Owner at Vondelhof Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. All rooms are slightly different; some guests prefer the ones on the ground floor (like room 3) and others like the ones on the first floor better (like room 7). Room 7 is indeed a bit smaller than room 3, but has a very spacious roof deck that makes many guests specifically ask for that...

Out and About
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great base for the start and end of our self-drive trip around Namibia. Plenty of secure parking, easy to find and access from the major roads (B2) avoiding the worst of the traffic in the city centre. Its location was, for us, a big selling point. The rooms are clean, well presented, the en-suite bathrooms similarly so. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank An0therDave
Vondelhof, Owner at Vondelhof Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. I'm always pleased to hear that guests enjoyed their stay and take the time to write a review.

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nice place in city centre of Windhoek for 1 -2 nights. Breakfast is average, pool seemed not very clean and plants in the courtyard garden were very dry because of lack of water. Unfortunately there were only 2 sun chairs in the garden in order to relax after a long trip. Staff very friendly and supportive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Conilc
Vondelhof, Owner at Vondelhof Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Due to the ongoing severe drought the Windhoek municipality has ordered that all pools must be covered in order to avoid evaporation and that gardens may only be watered once every two weeks. I realise that a cover over the pool doesn't look as inviting as an open pool and I hate to see how...

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.0 km away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
1,132 reviews
0.7 km away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
4.8 km away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#6 of 94 in Windhoek
327 reviews
2.1 km away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 94 in Windhoek
172 reviews
2.1 km away
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
#2 of 94 in Windhoek
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Vondelhof is a small and informal retreat where host Yvonne and her staff will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Vondelhof is located in a quiet street at the edge of Windhoek's city centre. The spacious rooms are individually styled and decorated with an African touch whereby the focus is on elegant simplicity. All rooms are en-suite and have a coffee & tea station, safe, refrigerator, telephone, ceiling fan and flat screen TV. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vondelhof Guesthouse

Address: 2 Puccini Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Price Range: ₹ 3,666 - ₹ 5,431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vondelhof Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vondelhof Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vondelhof Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room just needs an aircon. It gets extremely hot and the fan just blows the hot air around. ”
 of 5 bubbles 771candicev, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Good room but I have seen match better for that price! ”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room nr. 8 is a double room on the first floor with a nice and large private terrace facing the garden/pool. ”
 of 5 bubbles 271astridf, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor room with a large balcony to overview the area”
 of 5 bubbles peterbE9763DT, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had rooms down in the corner, they were ok.”
 of 5 bubbles gert2003, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay