We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
3/12/2017 4/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Chameleon Backpackers Hostel

    5 7 Voight Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    3/12/2017 4/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in WindhoekSee available hotels in Windhoek
    Traveller (98)
    Room & Suite (36)
    Pool & Beach (12)
    Overview
    • Excellent50%
    • Very good39%
    • Average8%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “elephant room” (8 reviews)
    “friendly vibe” (7 reviews)
    “quiz night” (7 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Airport Transportation
    Family Rooms
    Bar/Lounge
    Multilingual Staff
    Laundry Service
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Turn Your Opinions into Points!
    Turn your opinions into JPMiles
    Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
    *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    50
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    Reviews (379)
    There are newer reviews for Chameleon Backpackers Hostel
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    91 - 95 of 296 reviews

    Reviewed 7 June 2016

    I really enjoyed the service and location of the hostel. The staff were friendly and efficient and had an overall good vibe to the place. I appreciated the fact that they put on a breakfast as well. I would definitely recommend this place to travelers...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank juggla
    Reviewed 25 May 2016

    nice vibe good place to meet travellers and share stories, very central, quite cheap, relaxed and quiet place. staff @ reception/bar not always very friendly and forthcoming :-( that's a pity. some stuff got stolen @ pool and no use complaining :-( i would still...More

    Thank desert_explorer83
    Reviewed 18 May 2016

    We stayed just for one night in the deluxe room for couples (Birdlovers) in the first floor and we liked it a lot. Very chilled, also the pool and the bar was nice. Also walk-able to the most important streets and museums. I would definitely...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank ArminD
    Reviewed 11 May 2016

    OK for one night, nice design, good atmosphere. Breakfast is lousy and takes looong time to check out. They care allot about the environment - by itself a good reason to visit. Overall not bad value for back packers

    Thank Nadavw
    Response from Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers HostelResponded 13 May 2016

    Hi Thanks for taking the time to review us and I'm sorry to hear that your check out take a long time.When you return in the future our service will be faster. Looking forward to accommodate you again in the future. Cheers Rosa

    Reviewed 9 May 2016

    For a hostel, this place is very comprehensive. Lounge areas, wifi, community kitchen, pool, hot showers. However, my friends and I, all well-traveled in sub-Saharan Africa, were dissatisfied with the service we received throughout our stay. We asked for advice on basic movement within Windhoek,...More

    Thank panthergirl25
    Response from Chameleon0, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers HostelResponded 13 May 2016

    Hi Thanks for taking the time to review us and I'm sorry to hear that you had conflicted information from the staff at the reception. Is it possible that you can please send us an email with more information so we can do staff training...More

    Hilton Windhoek
    1,413 reviews
    #1 of 17 hotels in Windhoek
    0.5 km
     
    AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
    534 reviews
    #2 of 17 hotels in Windhoek
    0.6 km
     
    Hotel Thule
    231 reviews
    #3 of 17 hotels in Windhoek
    3.0 km
     
    Hotel Heinitzburg
    379 reviews
    #4 of 17 hotels in Windhoek
    1.1 km
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Airport Transportation
    • Breakfast included
    • Laundry Service
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 18
    • Location
    • Namibia >
    • Khomas Region >
    • Windhoek
    • Also Known As
    • Chameleon Backpackers Hotel Windhoek
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (98)
    Room & Suite (36)
    Pool & Beach (12)
    Dining (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (57)
    Bathroom (5)
    Nearby
    AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
    534 reviews
    .59 km away
     
    Hotel Heinitzburg
    379 reviews
    1.09 km away
     
    Hotel Thule
    231 reviews
    2.96 km away
     
    Hilton Windhoek
    1,413 reviews
    .55 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Nice Restaurant & Bar
    447 reviews
    .78 km away
    Skybar
    300 reviews
    .53 km away
    Craft Cafe Windhoek
    263 reviews
    .31 km away
    JoJo's Music and Arts Cafe
    69 reviews
    .36 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Namibia Craft Centre
    207 reviews
    .33 km away
    Christuskirche
    468 reviews
    .87 km away
    National Museum of Namibia
    331 reviews
    .85 km away
    Trans-Namib Railroad Museum
    67 reviews
    1.58 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    redrose12K
    6 July 2017|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from onelastwish | Reviewed this property |
    I bought at their travel agency 2 day trips in Windhoek. Whole day to Naankuse - 1800 NAD including a wonderful lunch (feed carnivores in the morning and meet the San people in the afternoon). Then afternoon trip to Katutura... More
    1
    Vote
    Viktor S
    9 August 2015|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Claire G | Property representative |
    Hi Viktor, Namibia is traditionally a tough country to travel independently if you are used to relying on public transport and budget accommodation however with 4 weeks you could probably get around to some of the sights if... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "The ground floor single rooms are excellent,"
    Read review
    "Book the elephant room if you want a private and quiet space!"
    Read review
    "The guest lodge rooms were fabulous! (I recommend the Love Bird room for couples)"
    Read review
    "Ask for a room with air conditioning, although all the rooms have fans..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing