We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cardboard Box Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 84: English reviews
Start your review of Cardboard Box Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Cardboard Box backpackers for one night and were quite disappointed for the price payed. Positive aspects were the good location in Windhoek and the really friendly staff. Our small, simple dorm in the basement was ok, the sheets were clean and lockers were provided, the fan wasn't working properly though. There are several bathrooms but each...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanja S
Kampala
Reviewed 31 January 2017

This hostel was a low-ish price for the dorms (170 NAD/ZAR) but you don't get much for the price. The dorm room we had was dark and sad, and the single outlet in the room did not work. The bathroom we used had no hooks or shelves, so my clothes ended up falling onto the (damp) floor. The bar is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

I would not recommend this hostel. The room wasn't really cleaned before we came. The kitchen wasn't clean as well. The pool was very dirty, green with algies. Breakfast included two pieces of toast. The location isn't to great either. And it's noisy at night because there are locals drinking at the bar. One pluspoint was that the staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa B
Chad_WWindhoek, Manager at Cardboard Box Hostel, responded to this review

Hi There Lisa. Really sorry to hear this. We unfortunately had a 10 day period when the rains arrived that turned the pool green. We battled for days to get it right but only when the professionals came back on the 9th Jan could we get it sorted. The pool is currently sparking blue. Our building is a bit old...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

We've been on the road for 5 months, mostly camping , frequently at backpackers - sometimes staying in tons at backpackers and hostels. So, after 5 months, we thought it time to rate the best and the worst places we've stayed. The Cardboard Box in Windhoek is the dubious winner other worst place we've stayed. Friendly staff. It goes downhill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rikathedog
Chad_WWindhoek, Manager at Cardboard Box Hostel, responded to this review

Hi There. Thanks for your review. Sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you will be well aware as you were here that some serious rains arrived in late December. The lightning and rain turned many pools in Whk green overnight. We tied for days to bring it back and only once the professionals ( Licpools) tested...

Reviewed 8 December 2016

We arrived in Windhoek having driven up from SA and spending two night at Fish River canyon - so all the people overwhelmed us a bit. The hostel was easy to find with a satnav and we left the car outside for a bit whilst we booked in (there is space to leave your car overnight on a gated drive)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmaewins
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

STEALING ALERT!! Most awfull backpackers place we already went, if you can call it a backpackers place.. every evening noisy locals coming here just to get drunk. NEEDS renovation BADLY! There is already so much stolen! Its a real PROBLEM! Everywhere they hang papers that you have to take care of your belongings but when I was cooking in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fdb123
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We managed to book a private room the morning we arrived in Namibia, and were greeted by the receptionist who was lovely to talk to. Even though we weren't able to check in right away (too early), she showed us around and let us know where to grab breakfast which consisted of tea and two slices of toast with jam....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ktam1124
Otjiwarongo, Namibia
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Having heard about security issues I was a bit concerned about staying at Cardboard Box with some colleagues last month. Since we were able to book an entire dorm for our group, however, we were able to lock our rooms and be sure no one would be coming and going. So if you're staying here with group I would suggest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonesem92
Reviewed 31 August 2016

This is my second time staying at the Cardboard Box and I really enjoy it. The staff is sweet and accommodating, rooms simple yet clean and the vibe with different people both local and backpackers makes this hostel different than other hostels I have been staying at. I came alone, but made lots of friends during my first stay. Lastly,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth S
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for just one night in August (low season in Namibia) and did not particularly enjoy it. First my booking via Hostelworld had apparently not gone through (although it definitely did and so did their booking pre-fee from my credit card). So they squeezed me in, which was okay - didn't want much, only a room for two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ibn N

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
2.2 km away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
181 reviews
7.7 km away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
204 reviews
2.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Furstenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
2.2 km away
Tilla's Guesthouse
Tilla's Guesthouse
#27 of 97 in Windhoek
26 reviews
6.1 km away
Hotel Pension Etambi
Hotel Pension Etambi
#45 of 97 in Windhoek
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Cardboard Box Hostel

Address: 15 Johann Albrecht St | West, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Cardboard Box Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cardboard Box Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wifi works best in the reception.”
 of 5 bubbles 852AlisonT, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Private room would be "Ritz", Dorm rooms with utilities would be Mount Nelson"”
 of 5 bubbles 89russelll, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Mount Nelson is the best dorm to stay in”
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“i would guess a different hostel”
 of 5 bubbles marcryf, 19 May 2015 | Read review
“Rooms that take you past the kitchen, down the 15 stairs in the lower level next to washer and dryer that are left outside (they might move the washer/dryer) this is the best way I could describe it. Also, I came in January the hottest and rainiest time of year, so blankets deemed unnecessary.”
 of 5 bubbles Mtnchic2009, 30 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5