We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Tamboho

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Tamboho
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tamboho
See the most recent reviews
Showing 99: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 18 January 2016

It's always nice to stay in a non-chain hotel with some unique decor and friendly service. The rooms are great and the Tana waterfront is a peaceful bubble in a bustling city. The food isn't amazing - it's OK for a few days but for two weeks left me a bit underwhelmed - and there are millions of mosquitos (mostly)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 164ulysses
Tambohohotel, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Early in the evening, there are mosquitoes; that is why we have installed a mosquito net at the window. Kind regards Dimitri

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Located in a gated waterfront area, the hotel is subsequently feels cut off from the rest of the capital which turned out to be great when confronted by the usual traffic and chaos of the rest of the capital. Used the hotel as a base between a few internal flights and found the staff simply amazing as they remembered our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hondo533
Tambohohotel, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Many guest discribe our location is like an oasis in the town. We tried to serve you as we do at home. Kind regards Dimitri

Newport News, Virginia
Reviewed 1 November 2015

Only stayed one night at the Tamboho. It is a very nice hotel from my experience. The rooms are extremely nice. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I came in late and ordered room service and it was pretty good food. The hotel is in a gated development so it is pretty secure. There are shops and a food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Apollo1021
dimitrilouvre, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for sharing your opinion. We put the net on the windows to allow our guest to have fresh air in the room. See you Kind regards Dimitri

Wilmington, MA
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Normally I wouldn't be interested in a property in a gated development, but I chose this hotel for the last night of our Madagascar trip, figuring that we were likely to be a bit tired and worn out -- and possibly sick -- and might appreciate the comfort and safety. Which turned out to be true. This hotel is uniquely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa M
dimitrilouvre, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your review. We are happy that you appreciate our location near the lake and the shopping centre. See you Dimitri

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Our wonderful tour operator, Benja from Madagascar Touring, booked us into theTamboho for three of our four stays in Antananarivo. In the end, we only stayed there twice as it is on the opposite side of the city from the airport and traffic in Tana being what it is (horrendous) we did not want to risk any delays on our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SariG300
dimitrilouvre, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for sharing your opinion with the tripadvisor community. Our F&B manager told me that your zebu was overcooked and asked you if you want it changed. I apologise for the inconvenient. We change our menu every 3 months as we prepared mostly fresh food from the market. Hope you will try it in the future. Kind regards Dimitri

Trou aux Biches
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

Very peacefull hotel.. Appreciate my stay for 5 nights.. Good food and good staff.. I must when you are in tana for business.. I will definitely come here again and why not with my families.. Situated in Tana Waterfront you have everything nearby..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maurice F
dimitrilouvre, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Regards Dimitri

Toronto
Reviewed 13 October 2015

We stayed at this place at the beginning of our trip to Madagascar, while in Tana. It is a nice hotel, the staff are friendly, the food is good, the rooms are spacious, modern and clean. The agency that booked this hotel for us was Madablue Madagascar. They arranged our entire trip. I recommend them when traveling to Madagascar.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank webguzs
dimitrilouvre, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review Regards Dimitri

Windsor, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Beautiful hotel by the lakeside in Antananarivo with beautiful views over the water and the gardens. Food on the small menu is excellent and the service is impeccable. Small swimming pool. The hotel is in a gated community, with access to a supermarket, a food court, pharmacy, hairdresser and other shops: whether this is good or bad is a personal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GavinKoh
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Happy that the hotel suits you. The bubble is the good term away from the traffic. See you Dimitri

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

This hotel is a mix of tradition and modernity: wifi is excellent and available everywhere, which is very convenient during a business trip, and the decoration is locally inspired, with pictures, artwork and craft made in Madagascar. The service is very enjoyable, and the location is perfect, with an amazing view. Food at the restaurant is very good as well,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review. We will try to change the menu more often. See you for your next rip in Madagascar Best regards Dimitri

South Africa
Reviewed 27 June 2015

I stayed there in April 2015 and was surprised how chic it was. The room was spacious and well equipped. I had access to the garden and pool directly. The restaurant served great food and it was fresh evert day. I fish carpaccio was heaven and the desserts excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Geckoland
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review, and I will tell to the chef and the restaurant staff for the carpaccio. regards Dimitri

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
3.4 km away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
9.3 km away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#3 of 62 in Antananarivo
284 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 62 in Antananarivo
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
#11 of 62 in Antananarivo
222 reviews
1.3 km away
Les Trois Metis
Les Trois Metis
#5 of 62 in Antananarivo
107 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 62 in Antananarivo
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Hotel Restaurant Tamboho
Hotel Restaurant Tamboho
Cuisines: European, French
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in an exceptional location, with a combination of authenticity and modernity, in a peaceful atmosphere, close to downtown and the business district. This boutique hotel is ideal to stroll around Antananarivo, and get into its specificities: the Zoma market, the Independance Avenue, the Queen's Palace, the Tsimbazaza zoo with Madagascar's Nature's beauties, the lemurs, the various handicrafts markets, wood sculptures, semi precious and precious stones.The Tamboho hotel and restaurant comprises 30 air-conditioned rooms with all the required comfort, offering a refined cuisine serving European meals as well as delicious local and spicy flavored dishes.You will enjoy the designed style of the lobby, the western services quality with all the Malagasy charming care. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Tamboho

Address: Tana Water Front | Ambodivona, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Price Range: ₹ 7,619 - ₹ 11,464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tamboho 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Tamboho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Tamboho staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Tamboho staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms are not wheelchair accessible or require descending narrow staircase.”
 of 5 bubbles LindaGCalais_Vermont, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the second floor with enclosed showers.”
 of 5 bubbles puttvin, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not choose rooms on the ground level. upper floors have a better view”
 of 5 bubbles PGIT, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Prefer rooms that are not on ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles Lucipara, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for upstairs lake-view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles DanO68, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay