We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rising Phoenix Magic Beach Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Accra
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Rising Phoenix Magic Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 43: English reviews
Start your review of Rising Phoenix Magic Beach Resort
 Click to rate
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

The Rising Phoenix Magic Beach Hotel is located in a very interesting part of Accra. All the rooms have sea views and that is one of its appeals. The staff are friendly but lack good management. The rooms could do with cleaning up with a lick of paint and all the beds could do with new mattresses. All the interior...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marthakowa
phoenix t, Owner at Rising Phoenix Magic Beach Resort, responded to this review

thank you for your comments. it is hard to know the right volume of noise. Many here seem to thrive on loudness! otherwise,we take note of what you say...

Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel, but we went to the restaurant twice. I'll start with the downsides - the restroom for the restaurant is absolutely disgusting and looks like it hasn't been cleaned in weeks or even longer - as other reviewers already stated there are people dealing weed in the restaurant and a lot of their costumers stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonniewillow
phoenix t, Owner at Rising Phoenix Magic Beach Resort, responded to this review

as to the toilets: we had one member of staff on Maternity leave, not much of an excuse, but there you are. I don't want the weed there. Sometimes we are too busy to chase it out. Sorry. Anyone reading this please feel free, if you come, to ask us to move the dealers on if we don't see it,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016

Nice location overlooking the sea and walkable to Jamestown, but the place feels rundown, our room was pretty grotty, communal areas full of people dealing weed, supposedly locked door between bar and accommodation was never locked meaning anyone could wander through, didn't feel safe

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rejey
phoenix t, Owner at Rising Phoenix Magic Beach Resort, responded to this review

Some truth in this, but we will be back lifting the place up and beefing up security. We have now improved our control of access to the hotel area, as you say, the old system was too easy to get round. Sorry if we disappointed you... But come back!

Hyougo
Reviewed 1 May 2016

It is located to Makola Market, it is popular local shopping place in Accra. You can walk to here from Tema station(Trotro terminal station) by 15minutes.Also it is close to James Town.It face to Gulf of Guinea, you can really enjoy panoramic ocean view from your room. There are few types of rooms , private one or domitry one. If...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank satoshi0414
phoenix t, Owner at Rising Phoenix Magic Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks. But everyone is welcome, not just rastafarians. Please don't categorise us like that! Everyone is welcome!

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 23 February 2016

We arrived at Magic Beach Resort and first of all, the payment system is quite difficult, and the discountsystem is very hard to figure out. The prices for the rooms are generally low, but when writing this review I am still torn between what was most important: The amazing view over the ocean, or the damp, stuffy condition of the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank EmilAhlmann
phoenix t, Owner at Rising Phoenix Magic Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks. Sorry about the omelette! This is a place which you can make your own. Feel free! If there is something you don't like, tell us, we may well change it. People smoke weed here sometimes, we don"t invite it, we tell people to go to the beach if it disturbs. I wonder which room you were in. Most are...

Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2016

Really chilled atmosphere and great place to meet some of the locals. Room could have been a bit cleaner but sufficed for our needs. Beautiful views of the oceans. Would recommend. Tip for finding the place: use to be called Akuma Village, some taxi drivers don't know the new name.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy K
phoenix t, Owner at Rising Phoenix Magic Beach Resort, responded to this review

Yes. Sorry of the room was not spotless...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at The Rising Phoenix Magic Beach Resort. The service was brilliant. The owner and staff was so nice. Chilled and relaxed and very good food. The hotel is a budget hotel but with fantastic ocean view and very high value for the money. Thanks Phoenix for all the help - Ida & David

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PaulJensen100
phoenix t, Owner at Rising Phoenix Magic Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks too!

Reviewed 14 September 2015

Currently writing this review in my room and the Magic Phoenix Hotel. Waves of the sea fill the my room and have just enjoyed a wonderful vegetarian meal at the bar. My room is pretty decent for a budget hotel, everything works and if you need something the manager will try to make it happen. This morning we were lucky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slikkit
phoenix t, Owner at Rising Phoenix Magic Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thankyou

Deventer, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 May 2015

The rooms are simple, but OK for the price (73 cedi). The only noise is from the sea. So no sounds from the restaurant and no sounds from the street, which is quite exceptional for a hotel in a city like Accra. The area around the hotel is not nice and looks like a slum. During the day this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
phoenix t, Owner at Rising Phoenix Magic Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thankyou. Sorry about the noise. We do monitor it, and will bear your comments in mind. I hope you can come again. I think the area outside is safe. To be doubly sure, take a taxi to the door, and let the night security welcome you!

Kpalime, Togo
Reviewed 30 November 2014

Extremely run down place, locks on the door didnt work, the manager said that he would get a smaller key, my guess was that just about anything fitting in that lock would open it, the room was dirty and broke in the extreme end of the scale.. We spend maybe 15 minutes at this place, most time was spend on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChezNono
phoenix t, Owner at Rising Phoenix Magic Beach Resort, responded to this review

we are a budget place. we will not be perfect. Some rooms are better than others, if you want those, choose them, Now: You spent 15 minutes! But listen to this: I currently have one guest into her fourth month, another into his third month, another back for a two months stay for the fifth time, another back again for...

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
1.0 km away
Afia Beach Hotel
Afia Beach Hotel
#31 of 95 in Accra
147 reviews
14.0 km away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
7.2 km away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Kings Royal Atlantic Hotel
2.9 km away
Niagara Hotel
Niagara Hotel
#65 of 95 in Accra
56 reviews
5.2 km away
La-Paradise Inn
La-Paradise Inn
#4 of 226 in Accra
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rising Phoenix Magic Beach Resort is a budget hotel, vegetarian restaurant, bar, and ecotourism center. Located on the cliff of the ocean with breezy views. It is also a live music and disco center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rising Phoenix Magic Beach Resort

Address: High Street, Accra AC 189, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rising Phoenix Magic Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 4b and 4a are the largest.”
 of 5 bubbles Slikkit, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
“They have started modernising rooms. 2 are now modern and with a/c but they are usually long time booked. The others are basic but clean and som with private bathroom. When they are modernised also this place will be really nice!”
  • Phoenix - beach, entrance, room
 of 5 bubbles jakob1971, 15 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Don't bother with their more expensive rooms (e.g. "Room Four A" or "Room Four B"). They're the worst ones (lack of bug nets, most run down).”
 of 5 bubbles 738erikw, 11 Dec 2013 | Read review
“errrrr book another hotel??”
 of 5 bubbles n5am, 17 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Go for one of the actual rooms (not the managers office).”
 of 5 bubbles vercordam, 17 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5