We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Victoria Falls Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
Victoria Falls Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Victoria Falls Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 113: English reviews
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Do not whatever you do stay in Giraffe room. It shares a wall with the main communal bathroom and you can literally hear everything. It should not be rented out because the bathroom is used all night (and day) long by many people. And some people have traveling belly. It's not pretty. Not only the wall is a problem, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aimee S
Level Contributor
192 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

I had a nice stay at the backpackers but for what it is it's over priced and the ownership is not kind. slept in a tent with beds for $40 a night. the owner won't let the locals come in to hang for a drink which is rude and wrong since they are friends and nothing but kind people. really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily M
J P, Manager at Victoria Falls Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Emily We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us :) In comparison with other accommodation in Vic Falls $40 a night for a Twin Safari tent is cheap. Our Wifi is $3 per person per day but this is for the best available Wifi package in Zimbabwe at the moment. Also It's mainly For safety and security reasons that... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Was here for a night after a hard amount of travelling . Even though there was no electricity not so the time the place was comfortable. The is a communal kitchen which is great. Transport is readily available with taxis at the gate most of the time . The town is safe and beautiful. The Falls are a short walk... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Phila D
Kansas
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We stayed there for 3 nights recently, only because everything else locally was booked. This place was filthy. Very old and run down. Cots in the tents were uncomfortable and smelled of mildew. The bathrooms and showers were very dirty and unsanitary. Don't look like they were cleaned for weeks. American travelers should take note that this place is nowhere... More 

Helpful?
Thank kdw61
B M, Manager at Victoria Falls Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Please note that we take extreme pride in keeping our property up to the highest of backpackers standards Our cleaning staff clean the bathrooms every day, although we might have had a... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2016

The place is beautifully artistically designed. Lots of quirk artwork to notice. It's the quieter of the two backpackers of the two in town. The beds are cheap and the food is really good. They have a traditional dinner you can buy as well. I'm writing this review for Jay, the front desk worker. I'm a world traveler. Never in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Serena P
J P, Manager at Victoria Falls Backpackers, responded to this review

Many thanks Serena! for your awesome review:)...I'll pay you later :) ...thanks for staying with us!....kind regards, J. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We stayed at this place a total of 4 nights in a private room with shower. The place is great! We really enjoyed the company of so many budget travelers from all over the world. The employees, Blessings and J are great people. The internet connection was good and the food at the bush kitchen is also good. As far... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jet1011
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

I booked a 3 night stay in a mixed dometory and the booking process was simple. Easy to get there on foot or taxi from the "city". The dom has mosquito net per bed but bring your own insecticide! Was taken aback by fact that the dom does not have a door. Strange. There are safes at reception to lock... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ayanda007
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2016

We stayed in a private en suite with bathroom for one night while visiting the falls. The hostel is walking distance both to town and to the park. Probably about 45min 30 min to town and an additional 15min to the park from there. You can also hire a taxi for $5 (staff at the hostel can arrange the car... More 

Helpful?
Thank JPB_36
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2016

This backpackers is a wonderful friendly quiet place with a garden filled with statues and wall art and inspirational messages, a clean pool and a fishpond. The cottages are thatched and pretty and the showers hot. Self-catering kItchen and Bush Cafe make food an easy option. Really, really friendly and super helpful staff (Blessing & J). It's a little way... More 

Helpful?
Thank indigo2brown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

The outdoor area is really lovely and would be quite zen if it wasn't for the unfriendly vibe of the owners/managers. They'd help but you got the impression it really was the least they could do. The final night my partner had ants in her bed and when i complained i could hear the owner yelling at the staff member... More 

Helpful?
Thank Camille S

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
1.2 km away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
438 reviews
1.5 km away
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria Falls
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria...
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
214 reviews
2.4 km away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,014 reviews
1.6 km away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
479 reviews
1.0 km away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Victoria Falls. En-suite,Twin,Dorms and camping available, we are a short walk from town. Facilities include:- Car Parking Available- Unlimited Wi-Fi- Laundry Service- Linen provided- Towels provided on request- Mossie Nets- Adventure centre - Best advise and activity packages !!- Platform with view of the Mosi-Oa-Tunya (Smoke that thunders)- Beautiful Garden- Swimming Pool- Video / Lounge Area- Nightly Boma Fire- Swings- Home cooked meals- Safety boxes- Self catering kitchen- Capture the exotic flair of Zimbabwean culture and indigenous art with affordable comfort and friendly service. Our eye catching accommodation is scattered across our luscious garden of which our swimming pool and fire place forms the center piece providing a delightful setting for interacting with other travelers or to simply relax. Let management arrange your adventure activities for you, from bungee jumping to riding on an elephant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Backpackers

Address: 357 Gibson Rd | P.O. Box 151, Victoria Falls 263, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Price Range: ₹ 1,163 - ₹ 4,035 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Falls Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Victoria Falls Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Backpackers Hotel Victoria Falls
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Victoria Falls Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Victoria Falls Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the crocodile dorm is easily the best”
 of 5 bubbles G3200BXjamesh, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Elephants room wasn't perfect, maybe try find another?”
 of 5 bubbles Stefan_Banach, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The safari tents are rustic but great. Dorms looked a little cramped.”
 of 5 bubbles claireg981, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms are much nicer than dorms.”
 of 5 bubbles steffny, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“NOT Giraffe - shares with bathroom and you hear everything”
 of 5 bubbles 297aimees, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay