We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Southern Sun Dar es Salaam

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

646 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
See the most recent reviews
Showing 590: English reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Well located in down town business distrct but still peacefull. Excellent helpful staff and food and beverage manager and staff go the extra mile to ensure an enjoyable and relaxed stay well appointed rooms with good high speed wifi Useful meeting place in quite part of business district and near government offices Selfdrive parking can be an issue

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbovaan
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review

Hi Mbovaan Thanks for the feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam! I think our location really is great next to the Botanical Gardens, yet slap bang in the City Centre I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon Cheers Adam

Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 24 May 2015

With limited options in this busy Capital City and anarchy traffic we needed a good location close by to the airport. The hotel is by far one of the better options available in the city, not only for its convenient CBD location but also keeps par with general international hotel standards and offers the business traveler all the typical amenities....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aqeel S
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear Aqeel S Many thanks for taking your time to review Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, I do appreciate your very kind comments! Agreed our traffic here in Dar is awesomely bad, and that does make our central location just that more convenient. There is a beach about 100m away from the hotel, and its a great walk to see...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 May 2015

Probably the best business hotel in Dar, alongside the Serena. The location is perfect; close to the business district but just off it to avoid the worst of the traffic. The grounds are amazing, very lush and open. It's a great building, beautifully decorated with East African and Zanzibar artefacts. The restaurant is a major plus as well. Breakfasts are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T-Africa2000
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review

Hi T Africa2000 Thanks for your very kind review of Southern Sun Dar es Salaam! I do think we have the best location of all CBD hotels next to the Historic Gardens! Food is as important as excellent wifi so I do like to think my team tries very hard to make both experiences seamless and in the case of...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 16 May 2015

Stayed there in the beginning of May for two days. Unfortunately it was raining and flooding heavily during those days so I didn't probably get the best impression of the hotel being locked inside while in the hotel. The location of the hotel is great, close enough to the airport and close to the city center but still on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jarno S
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear JarnoS I am sorry for the floods ! They were awful but normal for this time of the year. Anyway thanks for taking the time to reflect on your stay with Southern Sun Dar es Salaam! Our rooms will shortly be undergoing a refurbishment to bring them back to they way they were 15 years ago! Denzil and Chef...

Reviewed 15 May 2015

Stayed at the Southern Sun from 3-15th May, 2015. Had informed the front desk about my future reservation on the 19th of May as I had to come back to Dar for a conference. I made sure the same was done in person because I knew the hotel would fill up pretty soon near to the conference. Was given a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank grewalaman
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear Grewalaman Gosh I am so sorry, about this, and I am very disappointed that we did not handle your complaint better. Bottom line is that one of my team members made a mistake and forgot to confirm your booking in our system. (we had plenty of rooms). We are working with the receptionist concerned to understand what went wrong...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2015

Having been a Regular Guest of The Southern Sun in Dar es Salaam, for some seven years, while working in both Tanzania and Mozambique, I have consistenly been impressed with everything about this great Hotel, from the efficiency of the Reservations Team, and their unerring flexibility...I'm constantly changing my Scgedules! To the Warm Welcome from the smiling Doormen..'Welcome Home!' Not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L0ungel0ver
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review

Hey LoungeIover! Magic review thanks very much! At Southern Sun Dar we have an in house saying 'Karibu Nyumbani' literally welcoming you to our home - and under pins our operating philosophy to try and make all our guests stay here in Dar stress free and as comfortable as we can possibly make it We look forward to another return...

Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Reviewed 7 May 2015

I recently had the joy of staying at the Southern Sun Dar-Es-Salaam. I found the location to be excellent, the staff friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and functional. It ticked all the boxes for me as a business traveler. It was a joy when I found out the hotel is 10 minutes from the ferry port and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francois L
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear FrancoiseL Thanks very much for taking your time to post here on Trip Adviser. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of Southern Sun Dar es Salaam convenient for most embassies and the Zanzibar Ferry terminal! See you again soon I hope Best Wishes Adam

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2015

I've been here often. The rooms are a but small by US standards but awesome by UK standards. The hotel is first class in every way, the manager Mr Fuller is super friendly and extremely competent. A genius really for keeping this hotel the best in DAR es salaam. The best thing is the service and the food. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JDSC96
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear JDSC96 Thanks for your very kind compliments and for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor I am delighted that you continue to enjoy your stays at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam and look forward to your return Best Wishes Adam

Kigoma Tanzania
Reviewed 29 April 2015

Amazing service, staff are warm and welcoming from the moment you step out of your vehicle right the way through your stay. Rooms are fantastic, food is wonderful, cocktails delightful and alcoholic.!

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 382lucyn
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review

Hi 382Lucyn! Very kind of you to post such nice comments about your recent stay at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam! Thank you! Our People, The Food and Wine are the three critical elements that help make a great stay and I am glad the recede worked for you, Best Wishes and Karibu Tena Adam

Pretoria
Reviewed 28 April 2015

The hotel is the perfect home away from home. Staff are friendly and proactive The hotel has kept it's standard high and I will def come back. The internet is very good with excellent reception throughout the whole hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alida D
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review

Hi Alida D Thanks so much for taking your time to review Southern Sun Dar es Salaam! I am delighted that our team are still friendly and efficient, and that the internet was to your expectations. To be honest these are things that we try very hard to maintain, there is plenty of choice in this City and we think...

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
1.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
6.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
645 reviews
15.1 km away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#4 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
280 reviews
0.7 km away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#7 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Southern Sun Dar-Es-Salaam offers the best of all worlds with excellent facilities and within walking distance of the city centre. It is situated in a quiet part of town, close to the sea, next door to the Botanical Gardens and numerous diplomatic missions. The Hotel was recently awarded Silver status by the Heritage Environmental rating program in recognition of our commitment to reducing the Hotels environmental impact. A free Wi-Fi service is offered throughout the building. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southern Sun Dar es Salaam

Address: 1 Garden Avenue | PO Box 80022, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: ₹ 13,678 - ₹ 18,259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Dar es Salaam 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotel.de, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Southern Sun Dar es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Dar Es Salaam Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Southern Sun Dar es Salaam staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Bangkok
Springs, South Africa
Springs, South Africa
Bangkok

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Southern Sun Dar es Salaam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 102 not a good view”
 of 5 bubbles luka99, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Second floor rooms are very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles rabaria2016, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the seafront, or a 5 minute taxi ride.”
 of 5 bubbles djnow, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bar / pool area is a little noisy. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the other side.”
 of 5 bubbles Eclipsegroupie, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be sure you do not stay on the pool side if you want to avoid the noise”
 of 5 bubbles PDM77059, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5