We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 150: English reviews
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 26 July 2016

i stayed there one night in March this year . the hotel is very expensive and cannot offer the price range that you can book on internet. no breakfast included. No swimming pool also, and it takes ages to pay and receive a bill. moreover , the lights were not working properly in my room and only one power plug...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vincent84110
Julieth M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vincent 84110, Thank you for choosing to stay at Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel following your stay with us. Your comments are very valuable part of our obligation to continually review and improve our services. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during...

Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel with all the amenities that you would expect...the staff is wonderful and very accommodating. The rooms are spacious and modern and the beds are very comfortable. The only improvements needed would be a pool and better functioning gym equipment. The hotel restaurant has wonderful food and an expansive menu. You can get Chinese and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
Ravindra M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to give us your positive feedback on your stay with us. I am sure the team, especially the staff would be encouraged by this. in this regard,I have taken a note of to improve our gym equipment's as well as functioning well.and will be sure to work on that areas. it is...

Paris, France
Reviewed 19 June 2016

This hotel is very practical and functional for business travellers. Well situated; spacious and clean rooms; good service; usually good internet connections. It is in no way however a "romantic" place: not by the beach, view on a car park. This being said, the price is very reasonable compared to the Dar es Salaam market rate. I have stayed here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adgent
Julieth M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adgent, We appreciate the time taken to give us feedback on your experience staying with us. Every guest is important to us and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our offer and service delivery met your expectation. Once again thank you and we look forward to serving you in the near future. Kind...

jnb
Reviewed 30 May 2016

The rooms are great and the service is good provided you find the English speaking staff. Wifi is fast and easy to use. Hotel needs to upgrade their water supply. Water pressure extremely low which makes showering that much longer. Newly opened cafe downstairs should offer a wider variety of food. They have a limited menu and there is only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pooldiva2014
Julieth M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pooldiva2014 Thank you for taking the time to give us your positive feedback on your stay with us. I am sure the team, especially the staff would be encouraged by this. in this regard,I have taken a note of where you feel we need to improve and will be sure to work on that areas. it is our hope...

Reviewed 23 May 2016

I have stayed in other hotels in the same location so when I was booked in Best Western I was a bit skeptical. Surprisingly it was a very pleasant hotel with good spacious rooms. The service was excellent as well. The staff were very friendly and polite. There were a few occasions when the WIFI kept dropping but overall good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
Julieth M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian S, We appreciate the time taken to share your experience during your stay with us. Every guest is important to us and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that our service delivery met your expectation. Once again thank you and we look forward to serving you in the near future. Sincerely Julieth Marandu...

Saint Pierre, Mauritius
Reviewed 7 May 2016

I was there for business for one week and that was my first time on the African continent. I had lots of apprehension for that trip but I must say that I was quite impressed with the hotel. Can't find negative stuff to describe, the room was nice, service ok, food ok, and most of all very friendly personnel Had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominique S
formula102014, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dorine_Dominique Thank you for choosing to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel - we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. We are delighted that we could contribute to your first African experience in a positive way. We do hope to see you again and look forward to welcome...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2016

This hotel is ideally situated within Oyster Bay and is conveniently placed for both the beach as well as local restaurants, cafés, and shops. For those on a budget, local bajajis, or tuk-tuks are available outside the hotel, in addition to the taxi service provided by the hotel to get to these venues. Within the hotel, the rooms are spacious,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John T
formula102014, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John T Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and the positive comments that you made regarding your stay. We are making extra efforts to improve our guest perception and it is gratifying to see that our guests are noticing this. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future....

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 1 May 2016

This hotel was booked with some skepticism due to the varied reviews and the low cost, and as we approached the hotel, my hopes were low. I needn't have worried as once inside the secure hotel facility, everything was top notch. The staff were friendly and awesome, the rooms were huge and clean and the WiFi was excellent. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
formula102014, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daniel C Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and the positive comments that you made regarding your stay. I am so happy that we could 'impress...after the skepticism. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services, like with the AC - which we will sort out immediately....

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 14 April 2016

While this hotel is not on the shore, the rooms and service more than made up for the not ideal (but still very good) location. First of all, the rooms are spacious, clean, and elegant. The bathroom and shower were excellent and their is controllable central AC, as well as a balcony. More importantly, the service was excellent. We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ADB832014
formula102014, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ADB832014 Thank you very much for your splendid review. Reviews like this just make us want to work harder to provide exceptional experiences for our guests each day. We always look for ways to ensure our guests enjoy that extra little bit of care that makes the difference, be it storing luggage, a late check out or the never...

Reviewed 18 March 2016

The hotel caters for the Indian community only, evident in the menu, all Indian food, whilst I love Indian food, I travel continuously and sometimes stay in the same hotel for 10 to 15 days at a time, lack of menu is an issue. The hotel smells damp and the showers are typical of hotels in DAR, no one thinks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
Julieth M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pete S, We appreciate the time taken to share your experience. Kindly note that every guest is important to us and your feedback will motivate us to improve. In this regard, we have noted your comment and will be sure to work on those areas, about our food offer we wish to inform you that we have been working...

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
3.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
1.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
3.2 km away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#11 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#15 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
293 reviews
5.2 km away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
134 reviews
9.9 km away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
“Modern Comfort, Convenience, Safety” Located off the main road in the affluent Msasani Peninsula area of Dar Es Salaam, the Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel is perfect for business and social gatherings with 45 contemporary and spacious bedrooms and suites with private outdoor balconies. The hotel mixes modern art deco with a touch of local Tanzanian flair and includes a full service Restaurant, Bar/Coffee Shop, Meeting/Conference facilities, a Fitness Center and stay connected with complimentary HI-Speed Internet. A preferred choice of many diplomatic agencies and NGOs, the hotel is conveniently located to many Offices, Local Shops, Restaurants, and Night Life, yet provides a safe and comfortable retreat. Awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence (2016), our team is dedicated to ensuring you have a memorable stay in Dar es Salaam. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel

Address: 4 and 6 Haile Salassie Road | Oyster Bay, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Atlantis Hotel)
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: ₹ 8,298 - ₹ 11,215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All seem ok from what I've seen so far”
ianb2017, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Access to beach”
endtoendc, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“there are both smoking and non-smoking floors”
405garyy, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“for non smokers 2nd and 3rd floor is better, for smokers, you are not discriminated 1st floor is smoking zone, all rooms are spacious”
sidneyrosalia, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great Location - Great Value”
craigsV8928NT, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5