We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dar Sultan

Certificate of Excellence
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Dar Sultan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 82: English reviews
Start your review of Dar Sultan
 Click to rate
Oslo
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved this small hotel, situated on the perfect spot in the Medina of Tangier. You will be amazed by how sweet the staff is! We felt so welcome from the minute we arrived and loved our stay! I will absolutely recommend it to everybody! The hotel is on a little top which gives you the opportunity to get a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne555315
Bridgehampton, New York, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the moment I walked into the Riad, I was taken aback by all the wonderful decor and smiling faces of absolute genuine and generous people...along with being offered hot mint tea. My room, on he second floor, was perfect. Comfy. Clean. Amenities such as water and treats on a tray...great bathroom extras, such as the countries 'black soap' from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victor J
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights in January. The reception area was nice and in the evenings there was a log fire which was lovely to have a glass of wine by, however, our room reeked of cat wee and mustiness. There was even a fresh cat poop on the floor outside our room one of the evenings. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ali r
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewed 28 December 2016

I reserved a specific room with a private terrace and view do the Straight of Gibraltar. We were given a different room which I didn't realize until the host left us. Tia was our one night in Tangier and the room was nice but disappointing since it wasn't what I had reserved. The host didn't speak the best English and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goeverywhere_11
Jean Pierre D, Propriétaire at Dar Sultan, responded to this review

Due to the heavy rain which had affected Tangier for several days, the room you had rented was not ready to be rented. That's why we have provided for a more comfortable room fotr this season. This room was less expensive and we have reduced your invoice of €20. However, we hope you like our House and we are happy...

cornwall
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We walked up to the Dar Sultan from the port with a guide carrying our bag (5 euros). We were welcomed with mint tea and shown our room, which was on the roof. The owners were a little worried because in the recent rain there had been a leak and we were offered a different room. However, the leak had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayakschool
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We thought the rooms were a little cluttered, easy to bump into things but we also appreciate that they were trying to set a "theme". When we asked for directions, the hotel owner walked us to the main roads but during this time we were unaware that he was also arranging a persona guide for us. Originally we were taken...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SamandKaren-Travels
Santa Rosa
Reviewed 18 October 2016

When looking for a place to stay I need a convenient location (so time is spent experiencing not getting to the experience), cleanliness, outdoor access, en-suite bathroom, and most importantly, a comfortable bed. Dar Sultan has it all with the service staff and proprietors being the big bonus! The location is within the Kasbah and at the top so that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth W
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

What you'll find in this small hotel in Tangier you can not find in any luxury hotel in the world! Situated in the highest point of the kasbah, in a very intimate building, Dar Sultan is an excellent place to stay in the city. It has not big rooms, but they are very well furnished; bathrooms are small, obtained as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcopretelli
Dubai
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We took the top floor room with the private terrace which was fantastic - the room is small but the fact that you can keep your doors open onto the terrace and have the amazing views was so worth it, we slept with our doors open all night, it was truly lovely....the other rooms which we saw are very very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
Niceville, Florida
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I took an entire day to get from Rota, Spain to Tangiers by bus, cab and ferry. After carrying backpacks in the blazing sun, we decided to take a taxi from the Tangiers ferry to the Dars Sultan. There was no real sign for the hotel until you get to the alley where the entrance is sequestered....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Majorabina
Darsultan, Propriétaire at Dar Sultan, responded to this review

Dar Sultan was closed for 48 hours for the Eid holiday, but as the result of an error on the schedule by Booking.com, some rooms remained open for sale. As soon as we knew that a reservation was made, we immediately reported it to Booking to cancel it, but probably too late to warn you. We also written in this...

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangier hotels
7.8 km away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
4.8 km away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#7 of 43 in Tangier
670 reviews
0.2 km away
Dar Chams Tanja
Dar Chams Tanja
#1 of 47 in Tangier
344 reviews
0.5 km away
Dar Yasmine
Dar Yasmine
#6 of 47 in Tangier
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Dar Sultan

Address: 49 rue Touila, Tangier, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Price Range: ₹ 6,917 - ₹ 7,887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Sultan 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Sultan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dar Sultan staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Dar Sultan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The top room is the very best, because you get a magnificent view and your own terrace with a double sunbed”
Marianne555315, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Check the exchange rate when paying in euro/dirham”
384alir, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't count on getting the room you reserved”
goeverywhere_11, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The blue room at the top of the house has the best view. Lots of steps though!”
kayakschool, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Charf room is small but a great view.”
SamandKaren-Travels, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Hotels.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates