We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn Altoona

2.5 km from Altoona centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
2101 Adventureland Drive, Altoona, IA 50009
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Altoona
See the most recent reviews
Showing 96: English reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2015

We have stayed several times while visiting the nearby casino. The rooms are a little dated, but always clean with a good free breakfast and the staff has always been friendly. We liked the shuttle bus to and from the casino. We enjoyed the hot tub

1Thank Amykunzfoley
Northwood, Iowa
Reviewed 5 December 2014

2 nights early December, 2014- comfortable room. Nice and assisting staff. Will stay here again. Did not use the pool, but look appealing. Check in was easy. Parking plentiful. Room was clean - could not ask for more. Questikon - why does trip advisiorn ask for 200 minimum characters

Thank john g
Reviewed 19 September 2014

My husband and I stayed at the settle inn for two nights. Initially we were only staying one but after we got into our suite we decided to stay. We stayed in the oriental suite. Everything was perfect the staff was more than helpful! Breakfast was good the beds were divine. I cannot express how pleased we were with the...

1Thank aimeejM
Valerie H, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Congratulations to you and your husband. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are very happy that you had a wonderful time with us. We enjoyed helping make your special day a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

For the price of the rooms you expect something better. The ice machine is broken, no hot tub, the pool is dirty, hallways feel like your going to fall through. This place is nasty and I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here.

5Thank RoxanneLynn
Erin L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. Unfortunately, the hot tub was removed March 13 and we have had all the online info regarding a hot tub removed. The staff are trying to make sure all guests are informed of this when taking reservations. I apologize if...

Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Settle Inn July 10-12, 2014. The only room left was a smoking room. Upon check in we asked if there were any non-smoking rooms to which the clerk said no "we are booked solid all weekend." We stayed in room 316, as soon as we entered the room it smelled as you could imagine, the smell...

3Thank Indy251
Erin L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. As I told you directly, unfortunately when you booked your room via Expedia, you did book a smoking room, which is all we had left the week you booked. If we would have had a non-smoking room available, it would...

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Hello! My husband and I wanted a weekend getaway. First problem was we booked a non-smoking room and was asked to sign a paper stating we would not smoke or have pets. As we got to our room, we notices ash trays and it smelled musty, & like old cigarette smoke. Upon calling the front desk, were told there is...

2Thank Samantha O
Erin L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for your less than stellar stay! I saw that you had booked your own reservation through the Settle Inn website. The description (which I am cutting and pasting directly from the website) states: 1 King Presidental Bedroom Themed Whirlpool Presidential. Abraham Lincoln era room. 1 King size bed, 2 person in room whirlpool tub, wireless high...

Edinburg, Texas
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We travel regularly and try to find mid range price hotels. We came from Texas to take our d a daughter and son in law and 4 kids to adventure land First night there we're bad storms. The staff made sure we were all safe and knew the place to go. The manager and staff are some of the best...

3Thank reedcb
Erin L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Thanks so very much for taking the time to write a review! We are so happy you had a great stay and felt safe and comfortable. My staff and I are really working hard to make the improvements we can and provide better service. We so appreciate the feedback! Erin, GM

La Porte, Texas
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I was looking for an inexpensive, but clean place to stay. While the price was right, the cleanliness was not. Hotel is very run down and dingy looking. The bathtub was dirty and stained. I feel like I could have got a better room for the price. The hotel lobby reeked of pesticide. On the plus side the beds were...

Thank Lynn K
Erin L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Although I did not take over as General Manager until 5-13-14, I am truly sorry that your stay with us was sub standard. We do appreciate your comments and the detail that show were we need to pay closer attention to detail and that was taken up with all of our staff. I do wish we could meet your expectations...

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 8 March 2014

planned to stay 2 nites. Checked immediately upon checkin for bedbugs and did not find any or signs of but felt like I was getting bit in the middle if the night anditching. Pulled bavk comforter in the morning and one was crawling on the bed. Caught it with the sticky part if a bandaid took it down to front...

1Thank marythemom53
Loretta L, Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

We here at Settle Inn Altoona take all insect issues serious. We get them brought in from nature. We always check the room out three times after an issue has been brought to our attention. First the manager and head housekeeper check the room, with tearing the bed completely apart and check all areas bugs can hide, that investigation showed...

Batavia, Iowa
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have stayed at the Settle Inn before. We stayed in the Vineyards King Whirlpool Suite Saturday evening. The price was wonderful. The room was elegant. The bed was very soft and comfortable The room was perfectly WARM!The staff is very nice. Everything is very clean with the exception of the Fake grapes hanging on the walls...they were quite dusty....

1Thank Melissa E
Loretta L, Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Thank you Melissa for taking time out of your day to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We are going into a renovation stage pretty soon, I will let them know of your suggestion about the whirlpool rooms. Hope to see you soon.

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (12)
Bathroom (2)
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (2)
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (10)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Room/Suite (5)
Dining (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altoona
1.6 km away
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
0.5 km away
Prairie Meadows Hotel
Prairie Meadows Hotel
#1 of 8 in Altoona
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Adventureland Inn
Adventureland Inn
#4 of 8 in Altoona
254 reviews
24.7 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
255 reviews
6.8 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Hill
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated Hotel. We have 67 non-smoking rooms. Indoor heated pool, free wi-fi. Breakfast which includes scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit, yogury, toast , bagels, and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Altoona

Address: 2101 Adventureland Drive, Altoona, IA 50009 (Formerly Altoona Settle Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Price Range: ₹ 6,837 - ₹ 10,658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altoona Settle Hotel Altoona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Comfort Inn Altoona staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Iowa City, Iowa
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Inn Altoona staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our Tip for you is to stay across the Street at Adventureland Inn.”
  • Toilet build-up where water enters the toilet bowl at top of bowl. This is long-term buildup
  • Our Room Shower Shelf area. Distressed and in need of better investment and maintenance upkeep.
 of 5 bubbles rodeabel, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Just call they will accommodate you. Elevator also”
 of 5 bubbles 587peggys, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Wonderful king size rooms. Beds are great.”
 of 5 bubbles 71jazzys, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Leave and stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles lpic1, 11 Oct 2015 | Read review
“If you stay here don't stay in the single queen room, it is so small that I had to pick up my suitcase to get between the bed and TV table.”
 of 5 bubbles JackH150, 20 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5