We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard Athens Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard Athens Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Athens Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 165: English reviews
Terryville, Connecticut
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a business trip. The staff was very nice. The hotel itself is a little date and is due for an upgrade compared to other Courtyards I've stayed at. Location is great. Walking distance to the downtown restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 550Jefro
CYAthensGM, General Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Athens. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

Chicago suburb
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Stayed for 2 nights while in Georgia for the Masters Tournament. We had a few rooms, and were all assigned interior rooms. Some of the rooms are accessed from out side (like a motel). The rooms were clean. But the building itself is oddly designed. Hallways turn and some rooms access from inside, others outside. All of the staff (housekeepers,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pkcarroll99
CYAthensGM, General Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and allowing us to serve as your host while in the Athens area. We look forward to welcoming you back

Annapolis, MD
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

I am a frequent Marriott customer and this property is tired. The smell of carpet freshener overwhelms the hallways. The rooms are older and run down. The lobby bar had three customers and were out of wine glasses but still charged $13 per glass. Customer service was friendly. The pool area, fitness room, and Lobby are nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1010Jen
CYAthensGM, General Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us, I do apologize for issue with not having wine glasses for your stay, I have made the correction in the Bistro to server all guest. Once again I do apologize.

Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Real basic. Any mid level chain anywhere. Did I mention it was $199 per night? Damn. And for $199 per night do ya think the amenities might have included body lotion? Double damn. 15 minute walk to UGA.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
CYAthensGM, General Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for telling about your experience with us, we do apologize for any issue you had during your stay with us

Seattle, WA
Reviewed 7 March 2016

I normally do not stay in chain hotels but a client has made the arrangement. The room was fine. Comfortable, well appointed. Great bed. It was a very enjoyable four nights. The only issue I had was at breakfast. Being there for four meals, I saw a wide variation in quality and attentiveness of staff. It was also confusing what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SunnynMark
CYAthensGM, General Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Athens. I am so sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations at breakfast; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Ames, Iowa
Reviewed 5 March 2016

For business reasons, I stayed here for a couple nights. Compared to the price they charge, the amenities are hardly worth it, especially by contrast to nearby hotels. not only is breakfast not included in the price, they don't even have "courtesy items" like a cookie, or a fruit, or coffee/tea at lobby. There is no microwave or fridge in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BBLC
CYAthensGM, Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts. We enjoying hearing feedback from our guests on their experiences at our hotel and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations of Marriott. Unfortunately, we do not have refrigerators and microwaves in every room, but we do have them by request based on availability. You are correct that...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

Hotel was clean but disappointing for a Marriott Courtyard. Hotel doesn't fit typical Courtyard profile. Many rooms have exterior first floor entrances. Exterior hotel looks more like a budget hotel and parking lot feels the same. The only thing here that resembles a Marriott Courtyard is the updated Lobby and breakfast area. Rooms are noisy. Can hear every every comment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cgroeschen
CYAthensGM, Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. We always appreciate getting feedback from our guests. We are a very unique Courtyard as one of, if not the only one, with exterior entrances and also a converted property which has been proudly serving Marriott guests since 1993. We apologize that you had noise issues, but hope that you will...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 19 February 2016

We travel a lot and it is great to stay at a hotel where it is exactly what you expect. We have been here before and always find this hotel to be very consistent. Starts off with a smile when we pick up the key to the clean rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonycp55
CYAthensGM, General Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your input and we hope to see you again soon at Courtyard by Marriott Athens.

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

Not the fanciest MARRIOTT you'll find, but clean with a nice staff. Concerned when we drove up and saw outside opening doors, but rooms are standard Courtyard quality and most still open to indoor halls. For the price, would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
CYAthensGM, General Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Athens. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay.

Kansas City, MO
Reviewed 11 December 2015

This is a renovated motel or an odd layout for some other reason. first floor rooms have doors from hallway and outside. A little odd, but generally convenient for me. Everything else is to current Courtyard standards.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Todd J
Stephen L, Owner at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Please come back and see us again We offer great guest service from our staff New ac units in all the rooms the latest update in bandwidth Come back and see the difference Stephen General Manager

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
1.0 km away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
2.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
4.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Courtyard Athens Downtown

Address: 166 North Finley Street, Athens, GA 30601 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Athens Downtown)
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Price Range: ₹ 8,224 - ₹ 14,841 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Athens Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Athens Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Athens Downtown Hotel Athens
Athens Courtyard
Athens Marriott
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Athens Downtown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Arnoldsville, Georgia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Athens Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I prefer the outside drive up parking just because I bring so much stuff with me. But I also love the room right in front of the pool.”
vickypudelski, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“find a different hotel”
Judy6963, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We like the 3rd floor rooms better, but the elevator is oddly situated.”
JasonGoes, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for inside access”
KimT165, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room is a great good. Just depend if you want a ground floor or upper room”
Missrx7, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5