We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Amatique Bay Resort & Marina

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 55: English reviews
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited this resort on a day pass as a cruise ship excursion. If you are looking for a beach/swim day in the area this is probably the best choice. It was clean and interesting to explore. The beach was not that great though. The water in this area is just not clear and the sand is a bit rocky....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddobelhoff
AmatiqueBay, General Manager at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Good afternoon ddobelhoff, I want to thanks you for taking the time to share your experience at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina with me. I want to apologize for the inconvenience you found on your day trip. That very day we were informed of a power outage that was going to affect the entire region. Most unfortunately for us, we...

Guatemala
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 4 nights at the hotel. The hotel itself is around 15 minutes by car outside of Puerto Barrios. If you go at night, the street is without any light. The hotel has different small houses with around 70 rooms. Some of the rooms are already renovated, some others are in progress. You pay around 120$ or more for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petergerman2016
AmatiqueBay, General Manager at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Dear petergerman2016 Thank you very much for taking the time to share with me your experience at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina. It is very important for me to know your opinion in order to improve. I´m happy you found so many nice things in the hotel. However I´m concerned about the things we can do better. Indeed we are...

Guatemala
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Might have hit this in the off season but for 2 days we tried to get a boat ride to see the sites to no avail. The pool was nice but boring after 2 days. The beach is dirty although the staff cleans it constantly. Was surprised they would not check us out until someone went to our room to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bbovee1
AmatiqueBay, Director General at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Good Morning bbovee1, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina with me. It is very important for me to know your opinion in order to find areas of opportunity. I´d really appreciate if you could elaborate more regarding the boat ride, since we have a travel agency on...

Reviewed 26 August 2016

The overall acommodations are great. Beds are comfortable, rooms have A/C, the facilities are always clean, the recreational areas have everything kids & grown ups want and need. Great marina area. Has a secure private access to part of the Izabal Lake where aquatic ammenities may be enjoyed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jorge L
AEstrada, Director General at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Hello Jorge L. Thank you for taking the time to share with me your experience while staying at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed our service and facilities. We have worked hard to make our rooms comfortable and enjoyable. Also, our amenities when it comes to recreational activities in and outside the...

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We loved staying here the pool was amazing, staff was great! All the food was delicious! Its SAFE and it feels like you are in paradise. You will fall in love with Ingrid the restaurant manager and she and the staff are lovely to have around. Rooms are clean and they even have laundry service on site for very reasonable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew B
AmatiqueBay, Director General at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Dear Andrew B, I really appreciate your taking the time to let me know about your experience in Amatique Bay Resort & Marina. Your comment is very important for me and my staff. I have shared your comment with all my team and we are happy to see that you are satisfied with our service and facilities. We are most...

Reviewed 30 June 2016

The place look nice. The main office was getting renovated, but it still had a really nice charm to it. I think the place is very family orientated. The have a nice pool. While I was there they had a beach fire set up for the guest. There is a lookout tower and a rock path that leades out into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tron8
AEstrada, General Manager at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Dear Tron8, I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina. It is very important for me to have your feedback. I am very happy to know that you liked our facilities and the activities we set up for our visitors. I have shared this information with my staff and they feel...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 13 June 2016

small bungalows ,kitchenette,.since we stayed close to the main building,good wifi. very quiet.good walking grounds and a small marina and boat docks.good breakfast and ok dinner.rooms are big and good ac.overall good place.no other facilities within miles.very remote.very good service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samkumar777
AEstrada, Director General at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Good morning samkunar777, Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina. It is very important for me to know how we made you feel. I'm very happy to see that our service, rooms and facilities were up to your expectations and that you has a good time with us. I have shared your comment...

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 28 April 2016

I stayed at the Amatique Bay Resort & Marina for one night in April through a Gate 1 tour of Guatemala and Honduras. First, before I begin my review I will give an overview of the property. The resort is pretty large with various buildings spread throughout the property. The pool /beach area are very nice with waterslides at the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Arthur M
AmatiqueBay, Director General at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Arthur M. I want to thank you for taking the time to share with me your experience at the Resort. I want you to know that your comment is of outmost importance to me. I do work on everything my guests tell me, good or bad. In this case most regretfully, bad. I need you to know that...

Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 February 2016

Lodging in the area is very limited so our small group stayed here. There is much remodeling going on throughout the resort. The Spanish owners are certainly working hard to upgrade. The pool area is beautiful and staff couldn t be more helpful. The best part for us was the restaurant located on a small hill. The new food and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
AmatiqueBay, Director General at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Nick F. I want to thank you for the time you took to let me know about your experience at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina. I am very happy to see that we could make your stay a very good one and that you liked our food and beverage team. I also appreciate your noticing the extent of...

Nerja, Spain
Reviewed 5 December 2015

We arrived here by taxi from a cruise ship, because we just fancied relaxing by the sea in a resort hotel.The place looked like the Marie Celeste, the only people we saw initially were the THREE receptionists who charged us 35 dollars each just for the privilege of being there.The pool and grounds are truly amazing with water slides ,stone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
AmatiqueBay, Director General at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Good morning Mrs. Lynn A. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina. I am truly concerned about the food and beverage issues you had during your visit. I am sorry that my staff could not meet our goal of satisfaction and good service. The time it took your beverages...

230 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Barrios
5.8 km away
Hotel Puerto Libre
Hotel Puerto Libre
#2 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
33 reviews
24.2 km away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 9 in Livingston
315 reviews
20.2 km away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 9 in Livingston
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 km away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
91 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel Marbrissa
Hotel Marbrissa
#3 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
36 reviews
23.5 km away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#8 of 9 in Livingston
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Amatique Bay R & M: surrounded by natural beauty, personal service of the highest quality, delicious national and international dishes and a friendly atmosphere, invites you to live your best vacation experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amatique Bay Resort & Marina

Address: Calle Final, Finca Pichilingo 14, Puerto Barrios 18001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Puerto Barrios
Price Range: ₹ 4,264 - ₹ 32,961 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amatique Bay Resort & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Amatique Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Puerto Barrios
Amatique Bay Resort And Marina
Amatique Bay Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amatique Bay Resort & Marina staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Amatique Bay Resort & Marina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the room seem pretty nice”
 of 5 bubbles Tron8, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try to stay away from the geese pond.”
 of 5 bubbles AlexChapin, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Stay closer to check in station, rooms seem to be better there.”
 of 5 bubbles WantToSeeItAll, 16 Jan 2015 | Read review
“if you are close to the reception and restaurant, then you are far from the pool...close to the pool? far from the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles robp345, 9 Aug 2014 | Read review
“choose a magna room”
 of 5 bubbles fenixe2014, 30 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay