We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 165: English reviews
Cresskill, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The location is great and the views are pretty, but for $100 a night it is way overpriced. There are ants all over the bathroom counter and no wifi in the rooms. I would certainly stay elsewhere. You can find the same quality for much cheaper.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisaze
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are very sorry to hear you did not have a good stay while visiting us... We are aware that our wifi does not work in several areas, and we are trying to fix this problem at the moment. We will take all of your comments into consideration, and would love if you could give...

Warburg, Germany
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed for 5 days in La Posada Don Rodrigo and we had an excellent stay! All staff, from reception, cleaning, restaurant and adminstration were just wonderful and we had an awesome time. Everyody gave you the feeling that you are very welcome. It is located very close to the beautiful Lake Atitan with a great lake view. I can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariaBoe
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to write your experience while staying with us, and at the same time we would like to thank you for your recommendation. We hope to serve you again in the near future. Kind regards, Management

USA
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here for several nights a few weeks ago on a Road Scholar trip. Staff, food, location, public areas excellent. Room...in need of a paint job! Walls were filthy. Soot from fireplace? This hotel is the sad step brother to the one in Antigua. The room had to be closed up because of privacy...no screens or shutters on window....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ronmarc
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We apologize rooms were not up to your standards, rest assure we are making some remodeling in several rooms to better serve you and other guests as well. All of you suggestions will be taken in consideration to improve. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again and to show you the improvements...

Guatemala city
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I love this hotel I had been there so many times we had a room with a lake view and breakfast is included. The staff is very friendly and helpful,the gardens are so colorful and immaculate. In the hallway there are so many colorful hammocks just to relax read a book or have a siesta. On the weekends at nitgh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lobetravel58
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to write your experience with us. It gives us great comfort to hear you had a great one with us!, we work very hard with our staff to being able to deliver the best to our clients and we are glad we were able to do so with you....

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here 1 night with my wife, brother and his girlfriend at the end of October. We had booked with Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel as we had stayed at their other property in Antigua Guatemala and would receive a hotel discount if we stayed at both locations. We had previously been to this property to have dinner, but never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JR_in_NYC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you again for your review! It´s very nice when our clients choose to stay at both hotels, same service and quality but completely different atmosphere... We also appreciate you taking the time to write 2 reviews, we feel honored. We hope to serve your again in the near future. Thank you once again! Kind Regards, Management

Boston
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A van from Antigua dropped us at the door of this beautiful, expensive hotel ($190 with taxes) Romantic rooms with skiding doors opening on plush zoyzia grass lawn, hairdryer but only a soap dispenser in bathroom and shower. Be careful with the shower curtain and the direction of the shower head as I inadvertently flooded the bathroom. View of volcanoes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ondine21
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, the breathtaking view of the lake with the volcanoes surrounding it is worth the whole stay. We appreciate all of your kind words, and hope to have the honor of serving you again in the near future. Kinds Regards,...

Guatemala Department, Guatemala
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Worst experience I've ever had at a hotel in Panajachel. Our organization routinely brings large groups to the area and we were willing to try the Don Rodrigo. However, we will not be using the hotel again. The staff told us that the rooms would be ready at 3pm, but by 4:15pm our group was still waiting, unable to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joonboom
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are very sorry to hear your dissapointment. We will definetely work with our staff to improve the time with the rooms to deliver them at the right time. In regards to the prices of the rooms, there is a % fee which is legally required by our government. 12% tax fee, and 10% INGUAT...

Willis, Texas
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Through an error by a booking agent who verbally assured us that our reservation was in Panajachel and not in Antigua as the confirmation showed, we arrived after a long ride on a crowded van to find that indeed we did not have a reservation in Pananjachel and, worse, the hotel was completely booked for the night on a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are very happy to hear that our staff handled the inconveniente very well... it´s very nice when clients acknowledge our hard work, we will let everyone in the hotel know your appreciation. We hope to serve you again in the near future... Kind Regards, Management

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Location: ideal Service: no complaints, very helpful Rooms: eh Fairly limited options in the area unless you are looking for a $20/night type of place. Have a feeling that the area is a day trip kind of town. Those staying overnight typically have a backpack and need a shave if you know what I mean. So for the extra $...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marcus S
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review! We apologize you felt our hotel wasn´t to your standards, however we appreciate all of your suggestions and will take them into consideration to improve our facilities. Your observations and suggestions are always welcome! Thank you once again for your time, and hope to have the chance to...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for several nights in January. We were a little worried it was too far from the action in town, but it is ideally located...you can easily walk all over town from here. And, being situated right on the lake, it had breath-taking views of the volcanoes. The price of the rooms are a bit higher than we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Schleuder
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience while staying with us! It is such a pleasure to hear all of the details of your stay, and know that you enjoyed it... Our customer satisfaction is our number one goal, and we feel honored to have such great reviews from you. Hope to serve again in the near...

285 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (268)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.2 km away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
397 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
711 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
190 reviews
0.1 km away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 30 in Panajachel
263 reviews
1.0 km away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#6 of 30 in Panajachel
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful, quiet, relaxing and unforgetable, these may be the best words to describe your stay at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel. Located one hour and 45 minutes from La Antigua Guatemala and to where we have taken a little piece of La Antigua. Your will sense the change of landscape, but the same atmosphere of cordiality and service that you experienced in La Antigua. With 28 standard rooms and 11 lake view rooms each with breathtaking views, unique and distinct details. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Address: Final Calle Santander, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Price Range: ₹ 8,357 - ₹ 12,635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada De Don Rodrigo Panajachel Lake Atitlan, Guatemala
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Auxerre, France
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Again, mid-range to expensive for Pana. Subjective and based on area in general.”
 of 5 bubbles cazcindy, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wifi unreliable in room. Wifi was better on the terrace”
 of 5 bubbles donnasZ9136QH, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Views of lake are available”
 of 5 bubbles rosss775, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Book a lake view!! You won't regret it!!”
  • View from boat as we arrived in Santiago Atitlan
  • Afternoon view from room
  • Morning view from room
  • Morning view from our room
 of 5 bubbles Be_as_you_are, 5 Feb 2016 | Read review
“There are cheaper rooms without immediate views. There are pricier rooms with direct views of lake. There is a terrace area for viewing.”
  • Humming bird gathering nectar outside my room
  • Humming bird gathering nectar
  • Morning view of Lake from garden outside my back sliding door
 of 5 bubbles GoTrvlWld0988, 12 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5