We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 164: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
 Click to rate
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our friends gave us a gift of two nights at Posada del Don Rodrigo and we were very excited to stay there. Unfortunately, our excitement was short- lived. We didn't get one of the lake-view rooms. Our room was spacious and clean and well appointed, but it was very dark and felt like a cave. Also, the water was only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurielizard
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ivy-covered wall and a well-manicured garden are the first things you notice when you arrive. Polite front desk team and hotel staff wear traditional clothing unique to Atitlan culture. Hammocks and lounge chairs are comfortably placed along the passageways leading to rooms. Local art, pottery and luscious plants line walkways as well. We had 2 rooms and each room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zajourney
Berkeley, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has lovely, extensive grounds with a beautiful view of Lake Atitlan. The rooms are clean, quiet, roomy and quaint. Ours had a lovely fireplace. The breakfasts were large and very tasty, with a nice choice. Don't miss the view from the upper terrace on top of the restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth T
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice hotel on the lake. Lovely staff. Only had a standard room but was fine. Beds a bit hard. Nice breakfast and service. Good view of lake from terrace and restaurant. Only had beakfast though. Easy access to lake and main street

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights in late December 2016 as part of a trip around Guatemala and Costa Rica. The level of accommodation (we were in the 'non-luxury' rooms)seemed fine to us. We'd paid Bed and Breakfast and ate our other meals out - so didn't really get an impression of expense regarding meals etc. The location is fine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maggyacrane
London
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The 2nd night was pleasant as we were able to pay to upgrade to a lake view room which was quiet, bright and spacious with a large bed. However, our 1st night in the room the hotel had allocated to us was awful and our worst anywhere in Guatemala. The room was very dark,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martina M
Cazenovia, New York
Reviewed 23 November 2016

This is the 2nd year we stayed here and when we go back to Pana, will try something else. Last year, the toilet didn't work properly. This year, we had no wifi in our room and when both my daughter and I took showers, we both had lukewarm to cold water. It's too bad because the room is spacious and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cazcindy
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

This location is good and has brilliant views, but restaurant prices are crazy - you'll pay around $30 for breakfast and basic drinks for quality you'd get anywhere else. Worth keeping in mind if eating or staying here

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Katherine T
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs (Ms.) Katherine, We appreciate the time you took to write your suggestions. You can be sure we always use the best products in our dishes and have different options and prices. Special packages including overnight and breakfast can be arrange for your convenience depending the season. Best regards.

Reviewed 20 September 2016

We stayed here 3 nights with two children (aged 6 and 10) and really enjoyed it. The room was comfortable and the shower was the best we had a Guatemala. The view of the lake was absolutely incredible, especially from the roof deck of the restaurant. We spent a little extra for one of the lake view rooms, and I'm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jillian S
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Jillian, Thank you for the time you took to write about your experience in our property. It will be always a pleasure to serve you and your family. Best regards.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I recently stayed at this hotel with my Wife. The hotel is fairly clean and maintained but could be much better. The pool was not well maintained as well. We wanted to relax in our room but the beds were very hard! Wanted to watch a movie or news but they only have Spanish channels!!! This hotel is not worth...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tomtatum12
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion about our instalations, It helps us to improve our service. You can be sure next time you will visit Panajachel it will be an extraordinary experience. Best regards.

283 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (266)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.2 km away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
396 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
710 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
190 reviews
0.1 km away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 30 in Panajachel
263 reviews
1.0 km away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#6 of 30 in Panajachel
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful, quiet, relaxing and unforgetable, these may be the best words to describe your stay at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel. Located one hour and 45 minutes from La Antigua Guatemala and to where we have taken a little piece of La Antigua. Your will sense the change of landscape, but the same atmosphere of cordiality and service that you experienced in La Antigua. With 28 standard rooms and 11 lake view rooms each with breathtaking views, unique and distinct details. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Address: Final Calle Santander, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Price Range: ₹ 8,379 - ₹ 12,669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada De Don Rodrigo Panajachel Lake Atitlan, Guatemala
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Auxerre, France
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Again, mid-range to expensive for Pana. Subjective and based on area in general.”
 of 5 bubbles cazcindy, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wifi unreliable in room. Wifi was better on the terrace”
 of 5 bubbles donnasZ9136QH, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Views of lake are available”
 of 5 bubbles rosss775, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Book a lake view!! You won't regret it!!”
  • View from boat as we arrived in Santiago Atitlan
  • Afternoon view from room
  • Morning view from room
  • Morning view from our room
 of 5 bubbles Be_as_you_are, 5 Feb 2016 | Read review
“There are cheaper rooms without immediate views. There are pricier rooms with direct views of lake. There is a terrace area for viewing.”
  • Humming bird gathering nectar outside my room
  • Humming bird gathering nectar
  • Morning view of Lake from garden outside my back sliding door
 of 5 bubbles GoTrvlWld0988, 12 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5