We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Captain Morgan's Retreat

Save
Share
3.5 Miles North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye Belize
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$284
Hotels.com$284
Travelocity$284
eDreams$284
Priceline$284
CheapTickets$284
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (699)
360
Panoramas (25)
Room & Suite (509)

About

#35 of 60 hotels in Ambergris Caye
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
With a private 1,100-ft. beach, first-class accommodations, unforgettable tours, activities, and all the amenities you could ask for, Captain Morgan’s Retreat is a Belize resort worthy of consideration for your next Caribbean vacation. Located just a short boat ride north of San Pedro Town on the island of Ambergris Caye, Captain Morgan’s Retreat offers cozy thatched beach cabanas, spacious villas, and luxury condos, combining comfort perfectly with paradise.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Spa
Baggage storage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Casino and Gambling
Diving
Snorkelling
Fishing
Couples massage
Massage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
1025Reviews69Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 484
  • 294
  • 125
  • 60
  • 62
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
tim c wrote a review 10 Jan
Stoney Creek, Canada47 contributions47 helpful votes
This place was at one time very good, but don’t bother now. Staff are doing the best they can with from our view little guidance or help. The view from the road is just down right scary. If we saw this in the daylight before checking in we might have cancelled. The smell from the water toys launch area is in front of the main restaurant and pool is sickening. Personally we have trouble ordering a drink. It is pub type food at best unless you ask if they have something else, then they make a great meal. The front office staff just keep saying “ I am Sorry” The main manager is doing her best with what she has been given, run down is the best we can say. As a timeshare experience this is very disappointing. The new owners need to spend time and money if they they expect to continue. A once lovely place is just falling apart. Outside coverings just hanging off the building, grounds are struggling to look presentable. Has a casino but cannot open due to covid, second pool open but pool bar is not open and neglected. Overall look is just plane run down! Non existent activities within resort or cancelled at last minute. The place is empty and can easily see why. The large pool picture in brochure is of Oceans 23, part of the old resort segregated from the rest. This is for private owners. Everyone we told where we were staying said it was too bad new owners took over.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Jeff D wrote a review 7 Jan
1 contribution
I came here after getting out of the army a few years back and meant to do this a while ago. The hotel is beautiful and the food was amazing. Boni was my guy; he hooked me up with whatever I needed and told me about all the events going on. I am definitely planing a return trip to Belize and definitely planning on staying here. Highly recommend. Jeff
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
MS wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
We’re a family of four - booked a 1-bedroom villa, the description said it would sleep 4 people with an extra sofabed in the living room. Let me tell you what the sofabed really is - a health hazard. I tried sleeping in it the first night but it is so bad I couldn’t get a wink of sleep. It is my second night here, I was so tired and fell asleep on it for an hour. Now I have a full back ache and trying to sleep on the floor. FYI - I’m a perfectly healthy active person with no back issues. I asked the frontdesk if they could do something about it, they told me they could give extra blankets. I asked if they could give me a different suite, I was told they would work on it and haven’t heard from anyone so far. Paying ~400 USD per night, it is a disgrace I have to go through with this. This was supposed to be my vacation, looks like I have four more nights of sleeping on the floor. Captain Morgan’s, if you’d like to know… I’m in E2. You know where to find me.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Everything on the resort closes at 6pm! The kitchen at the restaurant/bat closes at 7:30pm.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Dale S wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
+1
First time traveling to Belize. Wonderful visit. Staff were awesome and very helpful. First class service. Accommodations were clean and comfortable. Facilities were immaculate. A tropical dream and must stay. No other place on San Pedro captures the Caribbean like it, thatch roofs and all. Welcome to Gilligan’s Island! Only negative were the mosquitoes.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Recommend travel during off months, Oct/Nov just before the rainy season. Bring plenty on...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
pamela m wrote a review Oct 2021
Spring Hill, Florida11 contributions10 helpful votes
I will be going back to Captain Morgans Retreat. Everyone was so nice and accommodating. The room was beautiful and very clean. The staff was amazing!!! I did not want to leave, lol. The only disappointment was that the casino was closed, but I will return in a post-covid world to check it out:)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Captain Morgan's Retreat
Responded 25 Oct 2021
We are so happy to read these wonderful words! It really is a pleasure to see when our efforts are recognized by our guests, so thank you for taking the time to write this review about your experience at Captain Morgan's. We sincerely hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$208 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
captain morgan`s retreat hotel san pedro, captain morgans retreat san pedro, captain morgans retreat hotel
LOCATION
BelizeBelize CayesAmbergris Caye
NUMBER OF ROOMS
78
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Captain Morgan's Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Captain Morgan's Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Shopaholics (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Captain Morgan's Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Captain Morgan's Retreat?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Captain Morgan's Retreat?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Captain Morgan's Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Captain Morgan's Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tipsy Grill, Aji Tapa Lounge & Restaurant, and CocoCabana Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Captain Morgan's Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Captain Morgan's Retreat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Does Captain Morgan's Retreat have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.