We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Avon Old Farms Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Avon Old Farms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Avon Old Farms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 304: English reviews
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 4 September 2016

In my years in college, this was the place to be! However years have gone by and no true renovations have been done. The rooms are tired and old with a musty smell to the whole place. The glory days have come and gone for this old place! What makes it worse in the weekend we stayed, a wedding occured....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gmw0713
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share you comments on your recent stay. All comments are encouraged, whether positive or constructive comments to improve our property and the guests' experience. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further to obtain more details of your stay. Please feel free to give me a call at the hotel at...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Had a Family Wedding at the hotel, and went for the higher class rooms, cute large, balcony rooms, which were very reasonable for this hotel as well as the perks, fantastic breakfasts, great swimming pool, and also complimentary pick up at airport both arrival and departure. There was also free wifi with two desks,computers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rose913
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Its always a pleasure to hear a guests' pleasant stay at our hotel....thank you for sharing your comments. We are always pleased when guests have the time to enjoy so many of the amentities that the hotel offers - especially the outdoor pool and transportation services. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to visit the area again and will choose...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 31 August 2016

I was disappointed... I thought this was an Inn but its more of a motor hotel. The first room someone clearly lodged a smoker because the smoke was in the air conditioner. The second room was clean, my issue was with the two dbl beds. Regardless of which bed i was in the bed tilted. Avon Old Farm please invest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rocket0001
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share you comments with us. We take all comments very serious and will definitely pass your remarks along to ownership. I apologize that the hotel didn't meet your expectations - as that is always our goal. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you in more detail. Please give me a call...

Pennsylvania
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I requested a room in a quiet area. The room I was assigned was next to a main entrance, two doors from the bar, and next to the housekeepers supply closet. It was noisy all night long, and in the morning, the housekeepers went in and out of their closet letting the door slam. (I called and the only other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jjbren
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Allow me to apologize for your unpleasant stay with us. All comments are shared with the staff in order to improve and correct any issues that may have occurred as a fault of improper follow thru. Your review will be discussed with housekeeping and front desk to avoid these problems happening again with future stays/guest. Thank you for sharing your...

New Jersey
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The hotel room was noisy due to the parking next to the door - car doors slamming and kids yelling at all hours, Bring earplugs. Bed mattress was worn, furniture and rug dated, but bathroom very clean. I loved the outdoor pool with food service including sandwiches and drinks. There was a person there to hand out towels and check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dogvet
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments with us in regards to your recent stay. The only way to improve is to listen to the comments from our guests. I apologize for the items that left you disappointed; which will definitely be addressed and corrected to the best of our ability. I am glad that you had an opportunity to enjoy...

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We had a clean, spacious room. The beds are very comfortable with plenty of pillows. We requested a refrigerator for our room and it was there upon check in. Plenty of parking. Very friendly staff. On-site restaurant is expensive but the food is delicious. Free breakfast is only Continental, and nothing special. There is a Dunkin' Donuts close by and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PJLaP
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on your recent visit. Its always a pleasure to hear such nice words on our hotel, facilities and especially the staff. The management and staff work very hard to ensure all guests leave with a positive feeling and hopefully the desire to return. With so many choices in the area, we are...

Hopewell, NJ
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Just returned from Ct after a long weekend with family at Avon Old Farms Hotel. The best part of the site is the huge shower in the handicapped room and the worst was the constant reminders of numerous dogs staying in your wing of the hotel. One Westie in particular barked the whole day for two days running. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PJS37
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us on your recent stay. All comments are shared with the staff so we can only improve in the areas that we faulted. We are a pet friendly hotel, however we also understand that there are may guests that are not. I apologize that you were placed in an...

UK
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

This was our second visit to Avon Old Farms Hotel. The positives - spacious rooms, attractive building, small restaurant on site. The staff in the bar / restaurant are charming - slowish service but very friendly. It is a bit more hit and miss on the reception desk. Some staff were extremely friendly and helpful - one particular member of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bellatravelscom
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your recent stay with us. I was pleased to hear about the hospitality given by the restaurant staff but rather disappointed to hear that the entire team within the hotel was as hospitable and came across rude. I can assure you that it will be reviewed and addressed. Please...

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We chose this hotel because it is pet friendly. Glad we did. There is plenty of walking for you and your pet. The hotel has a fenced pool and an onsite restaurant. We didn't use either while we were there because we were visiting family. There is even a shaded gazebo along one of the walking paths. There are plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maevie_52
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments from your recent stay at Avon Old Farms Hotel. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide the accommodations for your pet as well. Being an avid dog/cat owner, I truly understand the importance of being able to travel with our four-legged family members....

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Colonial-era furnishings and architecture. Old-fashioned lovely, but now is worn around the edges and in need of updating. Hallways and my room were uncomfortably chilly. Room is clean and spacious, however A/C is loud. Comfortable bed, but squeeky from age. Motel style rooms are different than Hotel style. You may want to check what type of room you are getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank myTelf
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay in Avon. All comments, either positive or negative are always welcome - as this is the only way to improve. All of the comments that you mentioned will be reviewed and brought to ownership to have the issues corrected. Any authorizations that were added to your...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
5.3 km away
The Simsbury Inn
The Simsbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Simsbury
178 reviews
1.6 km away
Residence Inn Hartford Avon
8.7 km away
Farmington Inn
Farmington Inn
#4 of 7 in Farmington
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
10.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
13.0 km away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Avon Old Farms Hotel - a luxury hotel in the suburbs of Greater Hartford, CT in the picturesque Farmington River Valley. In fact, Yankee Magazine has rated us a "Best of the Best" lodging property. The Avon Old Farms Hotel has also received a Mobil Three-Star Award and AAA Three Diamond Award.Our hotel began as a 24-unit motel in 1955 and through two expansions has grown into a 160-room luxury hotel in Avon, Connecticut resting on 20 acres of manicured landscape with all of the services and amenities desired by the modern corporate and leisure guest. As a guest of the Avon Old Farms Hotel, you can expect a distinctive ambiance representing luxury and charm including fine furnishings, down featherbeds, four-poster beds, antiques, and original watercolor paintings of the historic area in which we reside. Our classic approach to service means that guests will be pampered and appreciate our innovative attention to detail and willingness to accommodate. Additionally, our unique facilities - including the handsome, state-of-the-art conference facilities, stunning banquet space, and lush outdoor garden areas - make us a leading choice for meetings, corporate events, weddings, and social affairs in the Greater Hartford area.Guests of the Avon Old Farms Hotel enjoy the award-winning and stunning Seasons Restaurant and Tap Room serving inspired innovative American cuisine.We look forward to welcoming you to our luxurious country hotel in Avon, Connecticut just 10 minutes from downtown Hartford! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avon Old Farms Hotel

Address: 279 Avon Mountain Road, Avon, CT 06001
Region: United States > Connecticut > Avon
Price Range: ₹ 9,695 - ₹ 11,129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avon Old Farms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Avon Old Farms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Ct Hotel Avon Old Farms
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avon Old Farms Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Avon Old Farms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in "luxury" section are up the hill, away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles Ohiocean, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms might be better away from the bar as wedding parties end up there and it can be a bit loud.”
 of 5 bubbles solsenz, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed at the hotel not the motel part”
 of 5 bubbles nsadlow, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the main hotel are larger than the annex. Our room had 1 queen bed.”
 of 5 bubbles momdukes16, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The higher the floor the less reliable the wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles JSD53, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay