We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel St. Lauren

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hotel St. Lauren
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

339 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. Lauren
See the most recent reviews
Showing 336: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 29 July 2016

This nicely renovated Victorian is a good place to stay while visiting the island. The employees were very nice. It's not right on the strip but it's literally a two minute walk down hill to the beach/main drag. Our room was decent enough, clean, and for what we needed, it fit the bill. HOWEVER, the one complaint I have is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank qbanoz
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased you thought the staff was nice. Please contact me at 310-510-2299 and inform/refresh my recollection of this event. Would like to earn a return visit from you.

Snohomish, Washington
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Horrible!!Ants!!! When we arrived on the Island we could see the pink hotel from the dock. An easy walk up the hill led to the cute older hotel. The lobby was nicely remodeled and the receptionist was friendly. When we arrived at the room it was dated and not nearly as nice as the lobby. We put that aside and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MTgirl5517
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

We apologize for this experience. It was unusually hot during this week and front desk personnel did what she was supposed to do. I actually had a few at my house which I never have. We did refund and it would be our hope that you might give us another try under better circumstances.

Ontario, California
Reviewed 30 June 2016

First time staying at this hotel and we were pleasantly surprised. We had read some bad reviews; however, we found the hotel affordable and nice. Pro's: great king bed, flat screen tv and great a/c. Great patio area. Con's: no mini fridge or microwave in standard room and no continental breakfast is offered.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kdheim
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Pleased you enjoyed the room. Will take recommendations under advisement. We hope to see you again in near future.

Riverside, California
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Returned to the St Lauren after dinner at about 10:00 P.M. On the second floor patio there was a group of about 10 people mingling about and cooking on a portable BBQ. We thought this was very odd as the patio closes at 8:00. When we got to our room it was thick with the smell of smoke from the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank SlooterMcGavn
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Greg, I sent you an email. Could you please respond as this is not allowed at all and I will deal with personnel accordingly. I apologize this happened during your stay and please give us a chance to rectify this problem.

Riverside, California
Reviewed 23 June 2016

We just stayed at the hotel June 19 to 21. We reserved a king bed & futon sleeper, with a slight ocean view. Photos from the website were much better than the actual facility. I did note before we went, as should everyone, that each and every room in the hotel does not have coffee makers, mini refrigerators or microwave...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gumshoe2000
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are constantly trying to improve the property and reviews like this help us out. I will look into your particular room and get the improvements done. Please give us another try. Being a resort with plenty to do we feel most people do not spend all that much time in...

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 15 June 2016

We did a last minute booking and ended up here. $331 for two nights booked room with sofa bed. We got a room with a king bed and a futon with a regular mattress on it no way to close it and it was placed at the foot of the king bed. no sitting in the room except for one...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank enlightexplore
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing hotel. If you had 4 adults I agree can be tight. Will take desk comment into consideration as it has been brought up couple other times. The patio has one of the best views in town therefore there are usually people there. Maybe try family room next time that has 2 queen beds and 2 separate...

Corona, California
Reviewed 10 June 2016

St. Lauren is affordable, but don't expect great service. The staff is friendly and professional, but I feel they could much better. If you're booking a room there, insist on upper levels as the lower level get too much noise from the street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmendieta2016
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property. Pleased to hear staff if friendly and professional and will always work on improving. Hope to see you again.

Fountain Valley, California
Reviewed 6 June 2016

We enjoyed the location of the hotel, super easy to find. Staff was very friendly and the room was clean. We were the first room on the street level floor so it was loud at times when the golf carts would drive by but still got a good night's sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashley B
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank your for the kind words regarding property and staff. I know which room you are talking about and it can get a bit loud. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.

Corona, California
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Stayed at the Hotel St. Lauren with my husband. I was a little worried because of some of the bad reviews but was very happy with the hotel once there. We were on the 3rd floor with our room facing the houses behind the hotel so now view. However, the view from the balcony on the 6th floor made up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JustMe123170
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give feedback on our hotel. We are looking into a little food and beverage up on patio as I read your review. Appreciate comments on staff and will pass them on. As far as the chair on 3rd floor will check that one as well as the other floors. Hope to see you soon

Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Great rooftop views. The towels on every chair on an empty patio were confusing--were they put there by the staff or "reserved?" Room was basic, clean, quiet despite being right by reception. Everything in working order and friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Those towels just go over cushions as a cleanliness issue. Nice to hear compliments on those rooms as can be bit noisy in lobby. Thank you for recognizing the staff and we look forward to seeing you again.

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
467 reviews
0.3 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,023 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
571 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
179 reviews
0.3 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#10 of 20 in Avalon
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel St. Lauren L.L.C., in Avalon, California, is one of Catalina Islands' finest romantic hotels. The hotel features 42 luxurious guest rooms overlooking Avalon Bay, CA. Some accommodations include a private balcony or a Whirlpool tub and all rooms are decorated elegantly with rosewood furniture. The hotel serves complimentary coffee each morning.This Catalina Island hotel is close to swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, fishing and kayaking. Rent your own boat and explore Avalon bay or rent a rod and reel for ocean fishing right off the Green Pier. Our Avalon vacation packages feature lodging combined with boating, helicopter rides, or tours of Santa Catalina Island. Our specials page offers some great value discounts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel St. Lauren

Address: 231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Price Range: ₹ 7,439 - ₹ 13,240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Lauren 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel St. Lauren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Lauren Avalon, Catalina Island, CA
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel St. Lauren staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Corona del Mar, California
over a year ago
Fresno, California
over a year ago
Fresno, California
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel St. Lauren staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front rooms have view but receive a lot of noise from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“2nd & 5th floor. No view, wasn't there to look out windows. No noise. Several patios to sit for views. Short walk to shops & food.”
 of 5 bubbles tinakmendoza, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor ocean view is great!”
 of 5 bubbles 443sidneyk, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you stay on the 6th floor you are on the same floor as the patio with a great view of the island.”
  • 6th floor patio
 of 5 bubbles AquaAng, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose an upper floor (5 or 6) if possible.”
  • loose bathroom hook
  • dirty wall-mount A/C unit with cracking pieces
  • loose part on shower fixture
  • room door danage (interior)
 of 5 bubbles D4105PCchristined, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay