We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Roof Inn

4975 Valley West Blvd, Arcata, CA 95521-4638
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Hammond Trail
    5.7 km
  • 2 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
An excellent stay
The management & their employees here at The red roof Inn Arcata... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 173: English reviews
United States
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First impression as you see this place is that it is much nicer than its price tag. It is not. Bed quality, scarceness of breakfast items, marijuana smell in the hallways.... it is what it is. Recognize that it is budget lodging at a budget price, despite first appearances.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy S
Kamlesh N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Sir, Thank you very much for your valuable time to give review. i would like to inform you that breakfast is complimentary. As per Red Roof Inn, it is not mandatory to provide the breakfast. But to offer something extra we are offering continental breakfast. It has Bagels, donuts, waffle, Bread, cereals, two type of juices, milk , coffee and...

Arcata, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The management & their employees here at The red roof Inn Arcata were very nice to me & my service animal. It made a big difference in our stay.I really appreciated the employees attentiveness to our needs. I would recommend The Red Roof Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IGGY714
Kamlesh N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Sir, I thank you very much for your valuable time to share your feelings during your stay. I will share your comment with all our team. Thanks & Regards

Florence, Oregon
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Located at both end of Arcata, just off US Highway 101, the motel has undergone recent upgrades. Rooms are spacious, clean and quiet. Ample parking exists both in front and back. Free, modest breakfast and WiFi are available. Very reasonably priced, and located across the street from several very good restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TopChef7
Kamlesh N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Sir, I thank you very much for sharing your experience during your stay. We are very happy to note that you have very pleasant stay. At this point I would like to inform you that we have very good indoor hot water swimming pool and SPA. Also, we are pet friendly. We have some special rooms for pet lovers. I...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Checked in a little before 6pm. Drove about 7 hours, was tired and ready for a clean and quiet room. Checked in and was greeted by a friendly staff. He tried his best to get me a room on the ground floor with easy access to the back door and to my vehicle which was parked close to the back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
Kamlesh N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Sir, I thank you very much for sharing the feelings. We definitely will investigate and take necessary action for employee smoking. Regarding other issues we are actively working on it. I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations. I promise you that during your next stay you will get pleasant experience. Thanks

Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Good room for that price. Clean and peaceful. Andrea from reception is very nice and helpful! I would like to give 4, but 3 point are enough because the breakfast is very miserable looking and the Jacuzzi was working just at the first day by two.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matteo A
Kamlesh N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Sir, Thank you very much for giving a valuable review. It may be noted that we have to empty the spa and refill the water when water is more dirty. The process of refilling and raising water temperature takes some time. As all other motels in our economy segment, we provide the breakfast. As per Red Roof breakfast is not...

Reno, NV
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Our stay at the Red Roof Inn was gained from only one night there. This is a rather tired old motel, just barely making it by servicing the lower end of motel customers. Locals avoid it, we found. The kitchen had recently been closed for unsanitary conditions. Still, our room was clean and tidy, and the bed was quite comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrJGG
Kamlesh N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Sir, I thank you very much for views during your stay. However, Your certain observations are not correct. Such as Locals do not come. I am sure that your source of information is not correct. Our 25 % business is from walk in guests. Regarding kitchen, we are not operating any restaurant. Kitchen is an additional asset. We are not...

Fresno
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

This was the lowest price for a three night stay over Thanksgiving. Bed is good 46 in TV. Bad breakfast. Great for budget kids and pets allowed. The towels are thin. The showers have a lot of hot water with great water pressure. Will stay again for the money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cbromme
Kamlesh N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Sir, I thank you very much for taking time to share your feelings during your stay with us. As rightly observed by you, we are one of the most competitive in our segment in Arcata. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. I assure you that during your next stay you will get the same services...

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

We paid $94 for the night plus taxes. NOT WORTH THE PRICE. 1. Bedding -the bedding, as you can see from my photos,are not the same as the ones on their website. Instead you get old stained, ripped, dirty sheets. I really believe they used photos from another Red Roof hotel. 2. Bad smell- As soon as we walked in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica P
Kamlesh N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Sir, I thank you very much for sharing your views for stay with Us. I am very sorry as we did not meet your expectations. We have noted your concern and will retrain our staff to give best services to each guest. We are taking all necessary steps to improve upon our guest satisfaction. Thanks & Regards

Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights at this hotel as we are following the scenic route on the Pacific coastal highway. The room is ok it was clean an we had a bed for the night. There aren't many hotels to choose from around here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roses_travelgram2016
Kamlesh N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Sir, I thank you very much for your review for your stay at Red Roof Inn Arcata. We have four other motels in our segment in nearby area. We are Pet friendly. We have some specific rooms assigned for pet lover customers. Thanks & Regards Kamlesh

Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Everything was ok. Its not our first time here and we always are happy here. Good quality/price relation Near to restaurants and laundry service. The unique problem is that is one hour by walk to town but with taxi is just 10minutes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miguel M
Kamlesh N, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Sir, I thank you very much for your valuable time to share your views during your stay. We are glad to know that you have very pleasant stay at Red Roof Inn Arcata. Our team is committed to give our best services to every guest. We are proud to have a valuable repeat guest like you. Thanks & Regard Kamlesh...

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 10 in Arcata
511 reviews
0.3 km away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
0.5 km away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#8 of 10 in Arcata
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
3.9 km away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
127 reviews
12.3 km away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn

Address: 4975 Valley West Blvd, Arcata, CA 95521-4638
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Price Range: ₹ 4,709 - ₹ 5,187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sacramento, California
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close to Mc D's, grocery store, a pizza place, a diner and gas station”
 of 5 bubbles annecZ4618PL, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a good breakfast at the Denny's in McKinleyville, close by.”
 of 5 bubbles DrJGG, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for the suits, ask the front desk for a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles monibaltodano, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Due to the noise, top floor is best.”
 of 5 bubbles childrensartist, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“WiFi doesn't work in the room - need to use it in the breakfast/front desk area.”
 of 5 bubbles jiml773, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5