We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Willard InterContinental Washington

2.2 km from Washington DC centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,533 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Willard InterContinental Washington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,368: English reviews
Atlanta
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Willard is pricing itself and considers itself a top quality hotel. The decor and room size is up to those standards, but some smaller things are forgotten. First issue- incredibly overpriced room service. A bottle of wine that costs $10 at a grocery costs $65 when delivered to your room. Wifi is an extra charge. The bathroom has a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarahgC530ZD
GM_The-Willard, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at The Willard. We are disappointed to hear of the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and are deeply concerned to hear of items that were lost. The safety and security of our guests and their things while on property is of our utmost concern and highest...

United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

At almost $500 a night, this is one of the more expensive InterContinental Hotels in the United States, but one of the most unique, it has that "grand hotel" feel, much like the Mark Hopkins in San Francisco or the Barclay in New York, rooms could use some updating, but you cannot beat the location, the Hay Adams is slightly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike19782009
GM_The-Willard, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on you recent stay at The Willard. Steeped in nearly 200 years of history, The Willard has welcomed almost every U.S. president since 1853 and has been the site of many historic meetings over the years. The richness of our history is a unique characteristic that is unmatched here in the...

Yorktown, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful, historic, ornate hotel in perfect location for visiting Smithsonian museums and many other landmarks. Steps away from the White House. Lobby is incredibly ornate and luxurious. Staff was excellent, especially the bell-hop staff. Our room was a corner room with a sitting area (Rm 600). Furnishings were excellent, bed was super comfortable. Bathroom was spacious and all fixtures were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
GM_The-Willard, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Nothing pleases us more than to hear that a guest had a wonderful stay with us. We're delighted to learn you did. We're also pleased to know that you found our delicious breakfast buffet to be phenomenal. A good day starts with breakfast. A great day starts with breakfast at Cafe du Parc! I will...

Odenton, Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved the hospitality and the hotel decor. Friendly and helpful answers to any questions we may have had. I enjoyed the history hall whicheck brought the historic roots of this fine establishment to the guests

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brushfire65
GM_The-Willard, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Here at The Willard we pride ourselves on the history and uniqueness of our legendary property. We're pleased to hear you were able to spend some time in our History Gallery, located off of our F street entrance, and learn about the hotel's rich history which dates back to 1818! Regards, Patrick Birchall General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am an IHG gold member. And they did not have room ready when we arrived at 3:40. It is now 4:30 and they still don't have room. Bar is packed as they don't appear to have a room for anyone checking in today. Would not be a place I come back to - will use the Kimpton series for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It is a life time memory and an honor for any guest to stay in this historical and masterpiece beauty - where President Abraham Lincoln and lots of other Presidents and Vice Presidents stayed - in the neighbourhood of White House - service is par excellence - requested tea kettle and it was supplied in minutes - was upgraded being...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam_Mohsin
GM_The-Willard, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are greatly appreciative of your feedback and humbled by such kind words. For 200 years The Willard has maintained a legacy of luxury and excellence in service. Ensuring that the guest experience is perfect is our goal. Thus our staff work incredibly hard to achieve this day-in and day-out for each and every one...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for just one night, and had no real issues. Elegance exudes in the public spaces. The fitness center is just right, the staff is VERY attentive, and the room was spacious and well-appointed. Both mattresses in our junior double queen suite were REALLY soft, but it seems pathetic to point out this 'first world problem' in the context of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank testy24
GM_The-Willard, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at The Willard. It was a pleasure having you with us. Our staff work incredibly hard to ensure that the needs of our guests are met and that an enjoyable stay is had by all at our legendary hotel. I'm pleased to see we accomplished this for...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in February. Great location, very stylish and comfortable. Fitness center is small but well equipped. Rooms are spacious, comfortable bed and in-room coffee machine. Service is impeccable. Great for a business stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdagan
GM_The-Willard, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review

Thank you for the 5-star review. Here at the Willard we pride ourselves on the high level of service we provide to our guests, always striving to ensure our guests are well taken care of and have a memorable experience while with us. We're thrilled to hear our efforts did not go unnoticed and that you found our service to...

Jersey City / Metro NYC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had the opportunity for a three night to stay on property as part of a gala event a few weeks ago. The gala itself (food, facilities, service, etc.) was wonderful. I could not really find fault with our event and would likely recommend a return next year if possible. My main problem was with problem was with my hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dcinjc
GM_The-Willard, Front Office Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at The Willard. While we are pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself at the Gala you attended here at the hotel, we are disappointed to hear of the shortcomings you experienced while with us. I would like the opportunity to speak with you to learn more about...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second hotel on our honeymoon. We booked through Virtuoso. At check in, they thanked me for being a IHG member, which I thought was nice. Our room was a good size, and the hotel left a gorgeous plate of chocolate covered strawberries and bubbles. In our 5 weeks away, it was the most beautifully presented gift. One...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snowdome5
GM_The-Willard, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We understand you have many choices for accommodations here in the city and greatly appreciate your continued loyalty to the IHG brand. It was such a pleasure welcoming you to our historic property for your second honeymoon. We love celebrating our guests and are happy to hear you enjoyed the special dessert amenity we sent...

1,773 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1218)
Viewed
Bathroom (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (267)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (227)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (553)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (414)
Viewed
Amenities (93)
Viewed
Calvin Coolidge Suite (88)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (49)
Viewed
Dining (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (141)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
3,061 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
1,133 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
2,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
1,042 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
1,663 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Price Range: ₹ 19,454 - ₹ 48,603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Willard InterContinental Washington staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
over a year ago
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Birmingham, Alabama
6 months ago
Washington DC, District of Columbia

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Willard InterContinental Washington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Put your things away or they will be re arranged. Some rooms are very very large- if you want square footage, ask for it.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahgC530ZD, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a "premier view" room”
 of 5 bubbles Mike19782009, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 600 is a corner room with a sitting area, quiet, and decent views.”
  • Rm 600 bathroom
  • Rm 600 Bed
  • Rm 600 sitting area
  • Rm 600 bathroom
 of 5 bubbles G3059MDkatem, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to geta room overlooking Pennsylvania Avenue.t ”
 of 5 bubbles nyc1907, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we didn't stay overnight in the hotel, just went for the afternoon tea.”
 of 5 bubbles greg787jones, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5