We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

CancelonUS$ 190*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 210*
US$ 190*
Great Deal
US$ 210*
US$ 210*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,750 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,657: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall the Fairfax is okay but very limited on service, no lunch, tiny lobby area, slow luggage pickup, had trouble getting room ready, breakfast very poor. On positive side, room is very nicely appointed and location is good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review

It is helpful to learn about the highlights of your recent stay as well as aspects that fell short for you. While it was wonderful to hear you found comfort in your guest room, we extend our apologies if your stay overall was not the exceptional experience you expected from our property. Thank you, Robert, for the feedback, we hope...

Powell, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel and staff were very nice. Bed was comfortable. We did eat breakfast there because it was pouring rain. They had a buffet which was 18$ and was self service. The breakfast selection was very limited and it was not worth it. Go one street over and there is Starbucks, panera and a wonderful bakery. Very expensive to park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review

While we were pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay, we wish we could have impressed you more at breakfast. Thank you for the feedback and compliments for our staff. We hope you will think of us again the next time your travels bring you to Washington DC.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spend about 50 nights a year in hotels, about 10 of those are in DC. My usual hotels were booked so I booked the fairfax on Expedia. I can understand why they had rooms. The so called view room had a view of the physical plant and a brick wall. The mattress was so soft and lumpy that I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mlleron
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review

It is disheartening to learn that our facilities fell short of your expectations, and yet we are appreciative for your candid feedback as it gives us the opportunity to assess and improve upon our services. We hope that one day you will reconsider giving our property another try in the future, we trust we can provide you with a more...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel looks and feels old. My room had old and dirty looking carpets with the occasional viscous stains. This and a $30 charge per day for the internet completes the impression of a run down old school place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peke20172017
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review

It was deeply disappointing to learn that we missed the mark on ensuring your complete satisfaction and we value the feedback you have shared. Complimentary WiFi is available in the public areas of the hotel, and there is a daily fee of $12.95 for access in your guest room. We encourage our guests to sign up for iPrefer membership to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights and the room was good. The bathroom was a bit small but had all the necessities. The location is good with plenty of restaurants, close to the subway and the hotel restaurant is good and we'll priced. Nice part of town!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review

It was a pleasure to welcome you, Chris, to The Fairfax at Embassy Row! We are grateful you have shared your feedback and was happy to hear you had everything you needed for a pleasant stay. We hope you will think of us again the next time your travels bring you to Washington, DC.

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here 3 nights in April at the beginning of a tour that led us through 9 Eastern + New England states. We arrived at Dulles from Brussels and went straight to the hotel. It took a while as we took a shuttle and due to the traffic. Better to take a taxi, probably quicker. We arrived around 15:30...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CR2015BXL
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review

Thank you for the sharing your comments along with your beautiful photos. We're thrilled that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel, enjoying our variety of amenities and spacious guest room. We are sorry you felt disappointed with our cutlery and appreciate your feedback. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and can't wait to welcome...

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed May 4th-7th. Excellent location close to Dupont Circle station. Staff is friendly. Only complain is the mattress in our room (443) was not comfortable at all. Had serious lumpy spots. Room outside of the mattress though? Phenomenal. Beautiful floors and walls in bathroom. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JpG1992
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review

How wonderful to hear what a great visit you had here with us at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. Thank you for taking the time to mention all the positive aspects of your stay as well as some feedback. We know bedding comfort can vary for each guest, but we wish you were more comfortable. We appreciate your recommendation and...

Eilat, Israel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hotel Looks at the level of 5 stars Large rooms Very clean There is a Starbucks attached to the hotel Metro within walking distance The White House is a quarter of an hour's walk Great internet The room requires some maintenance Some bathroom fittings are not comfortable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank שי ב
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review

We can't thank you enough for your high recommendation. We are happy you had such a great stay and found our location perfect for touring the area. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairfax at Embassy Row!

Vermont
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just got back from 5 days in D.C. We arrived earlier than expected on Wednesday (around 11) and had every expectation to drop our bags and have to wait till later in the afternoon to check in. We were welcomed by a smiling Quatina "Q" and she swiftly found us a room and made us and our little girl feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tali28
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review

We know that our staff is one of our greatest assets here and we are happy to learn you would agree! Thank you for your praise for Quatina and the rest of team’s great hospitality. We are thrilled you had a great visit and would love to welcome you back to The Fairfax at Embassy Row!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had high expectations for this hotel because it was rated so highly on Trip Advisor. Imagine my initial disappointment when we got into our room and there was a plumbing problem. Not only was the toilet not working and the water pressure loudly activated every 2 minutes (making the noise of the toilet flushing), but the shower took almost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerds2
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review

It is disappointing to learn that your time with us was less than ideal. The stay you described is not the guest experience that we strive to provide and do apologize for the shortcomings during your stay. Our management team values your feedback as we always work towards improving our guest experience. We hope you will consider a future stay...

599 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (357)
Viewed
Room/Suite (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Other (104)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (212)
Viewed
Amenities (57)
Viewed
Grand Deluxe King Room (50)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 140 in Washington DC
1,147 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
1,222 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
2,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
2,004 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#102 of 140 in Washington DC
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our intimate, upscale Washington, D.C. hotel offers approachable sophistication in a classic setting. Nestled among leafy avenues, world-class boutiques and exceptional dining, The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. is a haven of refinement. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2807 (Formerly The Fairfax at Embassy Row)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Price Range: ₹ 9,948 - ₹ 28,810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good.”
264billw, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“We overlooked the front of the hotel but it was quiet.”
Cypruslyn, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Good location - hotel in need of renovation”
peke20172017, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Tell them you want a room with view of Mass. Ave.”
ahur111, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best to find a different hotel with better policies toward customers.”
smooth2o, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$ 190* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 210
Booking.comUS$ 210
Preferred HotelsUS$ 210
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates