Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Walking distance to Capital Building etc.
Traveller (707)
Panorama of the Capitol Suite at the Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill
360
Panoramas (7)
Our upscale Corner King rooms provide ample space to relax and unwind
Room & Suite (437)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#102 of 152 hotels in Washington DC
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all attractions of America's capital city from our ideal location steps to the iconic U.S. Capitol, and just three blocks to versatile Union Station. Walk to famous Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. And don't forget the newest National Museum of African American History and Culture and Museum of the Bible - both minutes from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Relax and indulge in seasonal flavors & signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Snack bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 92 out of 100
92
Ronald Reagan National Airport
Dulles Intl Airport
39.1 km
See all flights
Union Station
7 minWashington DC Metro
6,457Reviews88Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,601
  • 2,139
  • 1,083
  • 395
  • 240
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
McFerrid wrote a review Feb 2020
Omaha, Nebraska2,779 contributions712 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just a short distance from Capitol Hill. Do not drive a car here though because parking can cost $60 per night. Hotel rooms are smaller but the location is ideal for a lobbying efforts. Convention space can handle groups of 800 or more. The restaurant and room service is outstanding.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HyattWashington Social, Marketing at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Dear Dwane M, From our fantastic location to our beautiful conference center facilities, we strive to create the perfect D.C. experience for our guests. We appreciate your review and couldn’t be happier knowing you enjoyed a convenient and comfortable visit while lobbying on Capitol Hill. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Sincerely, Gail Smith-Howard General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SueKeo wrote a review Jan 2020
Limassol Cyprus143 contributions107 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
i chose the Hyatt Regency initially because the hotel I usually stay at was getting more and more expensive. This hotel has what they call a destination fee, but that too was a little less than the resort fee of my previous hotel.
i was not disappointed with my change. It is very well located for all the museums on the mall (such a pity that the Newseum has had to close). They provide a good clear map and it was easy to walk everywhere.
My room was very clean, well equipped and comfortable with a huge television. It was very quiet which I appreciated as a light sleeper and with the time zone change. My on-going flight had a time change and I very much appreciated reception allowing me to keep my room longer, it gave me a full morning visit and a lunch before leaving for the airport. There is a taxi rank outside the hotel and it was a very efficient service.
I will choose this hotel again on my next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HyattWashington, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Dear SueKeo, Thank you for taking a moment to leave us such an exceptional review. We’re so glad to hear that you took a chance on us during your most recent stay in D.C. Furthermore, we couldn’t be happier knowing that our quiet and well-equipped accommodations made you feel right at home. We can’t wait to raise the bar even higher during your next stay, and hope to welcome you again very soon! Sincerely, Gail Smith-Howard General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chrisduffy925 wrote a review Feb 2020
Annapolis, Maryland1 contribution2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
So I have a few things to say about this hotel, hopefully someone from their company actually reads these. 1) The staff is amazing! I cannot stress that enough. They truly were amazing and we didn't complain about anything to them since we figure this was way above their pay grade. 2) The bathrooms are need to be looked at for wiring in fans to keep moisture out while showing because being a military family we're well aware of mold and issues with it. Our bathroom had mold on the ceiling that had definitely been painted over. In fact, it was bubbling and discolored in certain areas. Vents would probably alleviate that issue. 3) The stairs and elevators! There was some kind of competition there this weekend (the hotel was full of kids) which is great BUT the elevator was backed up for over 45 minutes because these parents were holding the elevators searching for kids because of some pizza party. So the next thing I'd suggest is maybe opening up 2 of the first floor stairs exits for people to get out of the hotel (because if we had opened them the alarms would have gone off). So we were literally late for our uber and dinner reservations, which we had to cancel. 4) the mattress in our room was super lumpy and uncomfortable and our pillows were really flat. Maybe invest in some firm pillows for those who do prefer that. My final recommendation, and something I want to add here for others, if you drive to the hotel- YOU WILL PAY FOR PARKING! They charge $60 a day for valet parking. Which whatever, I guess we could have taken the train into the city but $60 a day! When we already pay $170+ for 1 night and stay multiple nights and have to pay $60 a day for parking it adds up. It's almost not even worth it. If anyone from this company needs info please feel free to reach out. I'd be happy to talk more. Thanks!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HyattWashington Social, Marketing at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Dear chrisduffy925, Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback with us, and for your compliments regarding our friendly and helpful team. Please know that we take your comments very seriously and have passed your helpful notes along to our colleagues to ensure we bring our services up to our usual high standards immediately. We are also concerned about some of the issues you described and want to ensure the situation is handled properly. Please feel free to contact us at any time by calling our front desk. We value your loyalty and hope you give us another opportunity to serve you again soon. Sincerely, Gail Smith-Howard General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ryu wrote a review Apr 2020
Setagaya, Japan5,225 contributions530 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this hotel for business. The TV has many channels including the NHK World, but not the Golf Channel. There was a small empty refrigerator in the room. The digital key works only once in a while. The hotel is a little away from urban conveniences like a Metro station, convenience stores, and restaurants. The coffee maker is placed in a little inconspicuous place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Raymond Messina, Sales at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Responded 29 Jan 2021
Dear 175 Ryusuken, Sorry about our delayed reply amd we have been under a service suspension since April. Thank you for your feedback and choosing our property. We appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J0nes2021 wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Housekeeping did not understand the importance of wash cloths. No stairs could be used leaving the hundreds of guests waiting for elevators.

Breakfast was horrible! Rooms for extended stay like those that were used for the FCCLA conference should be equipped with microwaves for guests to be able to heat up their leftovers from lunch or to pop popcorn as a snack in their rooms instead of having to go wait in line for the microwave in the vending area.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GCC Property Reviews, Owner at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Responded 18 Nov 2021
Hi JOnes2021 Thank you very much for providing this feedback. We truly value your insights and will be sure to utilize this review to better our service. Aneshia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Derrick A wrote a review Jan 2020
Texas19 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was just ok compared to other Hyatts I have used. The lobby looks great but the rooms were a little bit out dated. They charge a "destination fee" of $20 per day. I didn't know about this until I checked in since I booked through a third party. Comforters must be pretty old because the material inside of it was in clumps. Though the rooms were cleaned daily they didnt't vaccum as part of the cleaning process,at least my room wasn't vacuumed during my 6 day stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HyattWashington, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear Derrick A, It is unfortunate to hear that your recent stay did not exceed your expectations. We do appreciate your feedback, however, and have shared your notes with our housekeeping and maintenance teams for review. We are also disappointed to learn that you were unaware of our destination fee. We do apologize for the confusion and would be happy to speak with you directly if you’d like to learn more details about this fee and what it includes. We hope you have a chance to return again in the near future, and look forward to impressing you the next time you’re here. Sincerely, Gail Smith-Howard General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heidi K wrote a review Feb 2020
Minneapolis, United States3 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the hotel for three days while attending meetings on the Hill. It was fine but no great value. The room was small with full sized beds. Iron in the room didn't work. No breakfast included. The location was convenient, but I've stayed in other area hotels for a comparable price that were much more spacious and included breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HyattWashington, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear Heidi K, We are pleased to hear you were satisfied with our hotel’s location on Capitol Hill. With that being said, we are sorry to hear you were unimpressed with the rest of your stay. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to create a more valuable experience for our guests going forward. If you plan on returning, please don’t hesitate to contact us beforehand so we can share any offers that might make your next experience with us a better one. Sincerely, Gail Smith-Howard General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
S S wrote a review Jan 2020
Birmingham, Alabama2 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Approximately 2 blocks from Union Station, very close to Capitol Hill, valet parking only (approximately $65/night), walking distance to restaurants. Professional staff. If using Uber, enter address to hotel as opposed to the location
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HyattWashington, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Dear Excursion29216617762, We’re so glad to hear you were satisfied with our amazing location and professional staff during your stay at our hotel in D.C. It was a pleasure to provide you with a comfortable and convenient spot to rest and relax while exploring our nation’s capital. We hope you’ll think of us again the next time you find yourself planning another trip to Washington, D.C. Until then, take care and we look forward to seeing you soon. Sincerely, Gail Smith-Howard General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MichaelTheThird wrote a review Mar 2020
Chicago, IL12 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Hyatt Regency Capitol Hill on a business trip to Washington. Our convention started with several meetings in the hotel's conference facilities. The conference facilities are very nice and well kept. The breakfast and lunch service provided by the hotel at the conference was well above what I normally get at conferences. I then had three days worth of meetings in the congressional and Senate offices. You cannot beat the location of the Hyatt for easily getting around the Capitol and Mall areas. Outstanding.

The room itself was very clean and had all of the standard amenities. Nothing was worn out or in poor repair. However, the mattress left something to be desired.

All in all, I'd stay again for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HyattWashington Social, Marketing at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Dear MichaelTheThird, From our state-of-the-art meeting rooms, to our convenient location near the U.S. Capitol Building and National Mall—we’re glad to know you had everything you needed for a comfortable and convenient business trip on Capitol Hill. That said, we are disappointed to hear your mattress was not up to our usual high standards in comfort. Your feedback is extremely important to us, and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are excited to hear you’d choose us again on your next travels to D.C., and can’t wait to ensure your next stay with us is truly outstanding. Sincerely, Gail Smith-Howard General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
298jfigueroa wrote a review Sept 2021
Tucson, Arizona1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived and greeted after taking a 2 year of not traveling. I have to say that this hotel's top priority was making sure that everyone and everything was clean and sanitized. We look forward to the breakfast every time we stay here and were a little concerned on how that going to be done considering with COVID regulations. To our surprise, they managed to pull it off. There were 2 hand sanitizing stands before you were able to enter the food section to serve yourself. Everything was severed on "to go" containers and if you wanted, you had the option to sit in the restaurant area to eat. Overall they did a great job and I was impressed when I compared it to another conference I attended at a different chain hotel. There was a huge difference on how they were keeping us clean and safe.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gail Smith Howard General Manager, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Responded 24 Sept 2021
Dear 298jfigueroa, It was so good to welcome you! Traveling these days can be unnerving and full of anticipation. So happy to hear that you found our safety and cleanliness measure to meet your expectations. Our staff will be thrilled to hear of your comments and experience! Pleas ecome back and se eus again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Robert D
United States27 contributions3 helpful votes
We used public transport, bus and train which was very easy.
Answer from Familytraveller31
Los Angeles, CA156 contributions187 helpful votes
I also did not see a pool.
Answer from Alice K
Bear, Delaware11 contributions20 helpful votes
We took the train to DC and walked the 3 blocks. Hassle free and someone else did the driving!! Parking at all hotels in all big cities is extremely expensive.
Kesi Y wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool gets crowded around lunch time and early afternoon so grab chairs!"
Read full review
Drew D wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find somewhere else to eat or drink anything. Service in their cafe was terrible."
Read full review
Michael Rizzitiello wrote a tip Apr 2024
College Place, Washington17 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A bit hard to check in if arriving in late evening after 10."
Read full review
James F wrote a tip Mar 2024
Cranbury, New Jersey237 contributions68 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The AC was really noisy. Just turn it off when you go to sleep."
Read full review
Bobbi C wrote a tip Oct 2023
Elkton, Virginia4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check your charges frequently."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Washington DC area.
PRICE RANGE
₹17,211 - ₹30,161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hyatt regency washington on capitol hill hotel washington dc, washington dc hyatt regency, hyatt washington dc
LOCATION
United StatesDistrict of ColumbiaWashington DCUpper Northwest
NUMBER OF ROOMS
838
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HYATT REGENCY WASHINGTON ON CAPITOL HILL (Washington DC) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Which popular attractions are close to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill?
Nearby attractions include National Postal Museum (0.4 km), Senate and House Office Buildings (0.5 km), and National Japanese American Memorial (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro Bis, Union Station, and Charlie Palmer Steak DC.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Washington DC.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens (6.4 km), Arlington National Cemetery (5.3 km), and Ford's Theatre (1.3 km).
Is Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Washington DC HotelsWashington DC Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Washington DCHotels near Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire