We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

University Inn Washington DC

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
Panoramas (31)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for University Inn Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,079: English reviews
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewed 17 June 2016

The hotel is very conveniently located. Three minutes walk to Foggy Bottom Metro and Fresh Fields grocery store. Walking distance to Georgetown and to State Departement or World Bank / IMF. And as the name indicates in the middle of George Washington University Rooms are very spacious with separate livng room and kitchenette.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StefanMarco
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello StefanMarco, We love being located in Historic Foggy Bottom and are very happy you had found it perfect for your stay in Washington DC. Great room tip; we love the view of Georgetown especially in the evenings. Thank you, Wil Laura

Ogden, Utah
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Loved it. Close to everything. Walked to Georgetown took cab to Union Station . Walked back to hotel form Lincoln Memorial, walked to Kennedy Center .Personnel was so friendly and accommodating. Would go back and stay in a heartbeat. An older facility but so much charm

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frankie M
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello FrankieM, We’re delighted you had such a wonderful stay with us and are truly excited to welcome you back the next time you’re in the area. Kindest Regards, Wil Laura

Plymouth, Wisconsin
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Very nice hotel, lots of charm, very clean. Would book again next time we travel to D.C. Staff was very friendly and the hotel was in a great location near Georgetown University. We were within walking distance to many food venues and the Subway to get us to many of the attractions.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jerdly
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Greetings jerdly, We're delighted you had a wonderful stay with us, found our Inn charming and our location super convenient during your trip to Washington DC. We can't wait to welcome you back the next time you are in DC. Thank you, Wil Laura

London
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Six of us friends wanted to stay for just one night in Washington. This was the cheapest hotel I found and didn't think much of it at the time of booking. But all we wanted was to just sleep for the night as we only had about 24 hours in Washington. Little did we realize that it would turn out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Prashant P
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello Prashant P, Thank you so much for staying with us. We’re thrilled you had such a wonderful stay and found everything to your liking. It was a pleasure meeting you and your group! You guys truly made an impact on our team. We can’t wait to welcome you back the next time you’re in Washington DC. Kindly, Wil Laura

Reviewed 14 June 2016

I booked this hotel based on reviews I had read on tripadvisor and overall it sounded great and figured I'd give it a try. My boyfriend and I stayed here in mid May during our 6 day/5 night trip to DC after our 2 day trip to Gettysburg. I was really impressed by the service, cleanliness and overall charm of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Candice W
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello Candice W, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your detailed experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! We’re thrilled you had such as wonderful time with us and found our large rooms perfect for your week long adventure in Washington DC. We can’t wait to welcome you back the next time you’re in the...

Pittsboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 14 June 2016

The rooms in this hotel are a bit dated, but it is well maintained and clean. The rooms are a little bit noisy, you can hear people moving in the halls and getting on and off elevator. I would ask for a room away from the elevator to limit the noise.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Penny S
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello Penny S, We’re very happy you had a good stay with us and found our location convenient during your visit to Washington DC. We apologize for the noise, being in a quiet residential area can highlight unexpected noise from inside the hotel. We hope this does not deter you from returning to us the next time you’re in DC....

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 14 June 2016

When I initially booked my reservation for this Hotel, I was kind of excited; as I read the History of the Hotel. As I liked the size of the room, I was VERY disappointed that: a) There was no Directory that lists any Restaurants, or In-Room Dining (As I had to physically request for a list of Restaurants --which included...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Destined67
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello Destined67, I’m very sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay with us. The team strives to ensure our guests have the absolute best experience while staying with us; this includes world class service as well as clean rooms. I’m truly sorry you felt we did not accomplish our goals. I would love to gain additional insight with...

Marlboro, New Jersey
Reviewed 13 June 2016

With lodging difficult in the Spring at my usual hotels, I stayed at the George Washington University Inn for the first time. The location is excellent...about a two minute walk from the Foggy Bottom metro. I was upgraded to a suite, which was large and had a kitchenette. It seems to me that this property was an apartment complex that...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 63Spyder
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello 63Spyder, We love being able to surprise our guests with complimentary upgrades and are delighted you enjoyed our one bedroom suite. You are correct, the hotel was an apartment building several decades ago which is a huge benefit because we have large apartment sized rooms which is ideal when exploring Washington DC. Please visit us again the next time...

Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 13 June 2016

This was a very nice hotel with spacious rooms, friendly staff and a good location. Located on a quaint little side street within walking distance of the Kennedy Center and all the National Monuments. ( although be prepared for a walk, it's bigger than it seems) my only complaints would be breakfast seating and noise in the driveway. We arrived...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 385kathryn
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello 385kathryn, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the community. We’re very happy you had a nice stay with us and found the Foggy Bottom neighborhood ideal for you stay. I’m sorry to see you had an unpleasant experience at our restaurant; we aim to please and am very sorry we failed in this respect. I have...

Cottageville, South Carolina
Reviewed 13 June 2016

One-bedroom suite was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Thermostat in the living room AND bedroom. Bathroom was dated, but very clean. Housekeeping was excellent. All staff were beyond helpful and courteous. The valet parking can be stressful since it is not guaranteed. I had to park on the street over the weekend (free on weekend), but thankfully there was a valet...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank erkron
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review

Hello erkron, We’re glad you had such a great stay with us, and plan to return the next time you are in Washington DC! I’m very sorry about the valet parking. On rare occasions, our garage does fill up but we recommend street parking or the garage at the University that is only two blocks away. Thank you for the...

333 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (186)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (120)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Other (63)
Viewed
One Bedroom King Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#13 of 140 in Washington DC
1,533 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#74 of 140 in Washington DC
646 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#30 of 140 in Washington DC
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#40 of 140 in Washington DC
1,596 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
1,369 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Price Range: ₹ 9,159 - ₹ 24,803 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from University Inn Washington DC staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question
Monterrey, Mexico
over a year ago
Lindenhurst, New York
2 months ago

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from University Inn Washington DC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I rarely sleep well when I travel, so it wasn't a demerit on the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles X4212YPkellyk, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room on a higher floor for a better view”
 of 5 bubbles Dr_PMoh, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Very nice. Bathroom could use an update but water pressure was strong which isn't always the case in hotels. Convenient to metro. Short walk. ”
 of 5 bubbles Bbare, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Overnight and weekend parking would be a lot cheaper if you used the parking meters in the surrounding area, especially towards George Washington University.”
 of 5 bubbles JACfromNJ, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The location is a bit tricky as this hotel is tucked away next to George Washington University -- plan to pay $47 per night for parking -- OR attempt street parking -- just beware of signs/permits and times if having your car on the street. We got lucky both nights and saved the $$.”
 of 5 bubbles Momster42, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5