We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Akwaaba DC

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 438: English reviews
Start your review of Akwaaba DC
 Click to rate
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked 4 rooms for our daughter's graduation for three nights and one room for one night. We arrived to receive a most gracious welcome from Kim, the innkeeper. She happily accommodated a room change for a family member, and was extremely knowledgeable about the area. In planning our trip, I was disappointed not to find a house to rent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 261Wanderlust
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

This cool-gray room is not by any means a garret, though it’s on the fourth floor (former servants’ quarters) of this Victorian mansion, and even though it’s called the Poetry Room. Two spacious beds with perfect mattresses, views out the windows of roof tiles and street trees and sky, two sofas around a low table in a corner near the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElizaM7
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We love B&Bs and this one is fabulous! Nani was attentive and the house is beautiful. We stayed in the Langston Hughes room because I love a balcony. This one is a bit scary because of the age of the house (a little slanted and the enclosure is not 2000 code) but once we figured out the quirks it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lauren J
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at Akwaaba. The innkeeper, Nani, was incredibly welcoming, friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is quaint and lovely, and felt like being in a family member's home, with great food, board games, and a comfortable common space. The location is fantastic, and offered easy access to most major DC landmarks. Would highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarina H
Ramsey, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My fiance and I spent two nights at the Akwaaba and loved the historical and personal touches that this B&B has. We stayed in the romance suite which provided free wi-fi, a comfortable bed, AC and a flat screen TV. Only complaint with the room was poor water pressure in the shower, but this was not enough to tarnish the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank njtumi
Oakland, California
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My first Bed & Bath experience and it was a memorable one. The rooms were fantastic. I love that the furnishings blended with the era of the house. The innkeeper Kim was wonderful. She made you feel right at home and was very friendly. She was very easy to talk to and made you feel as if she was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c00kie2017
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Loved staying staying in the Poetry Room. It has recently been remolded & is very roomy. If you have lots of luggage or not physically able to climb 4 flights of stars I suggest you good one of the rooms on a lower floor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dlrsclay60
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Bed and breakfast was everything I could have asked or thought about. This was my 1st and Akwaaba was the best choice ever! When in DC area or any area with Akwaaba, my wife and I will be staying there. Much better than a traditional hotel, wonderful breakfast that accommodates all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaToya K
Fort Valley, Georgia
Reviewed 12 April 2017

I was there for 5 nights in the Poetry Room. Couldn't have asked for anything to be better. Staff friendly and helpful. The building was beautiful; full of history. Was able to peek into most of the other rooms; all decorated differently and themed after an African American author. Enjoyed DuPont Circle very much; there was a bus stop 2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank garnettl2015
Princeton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 7 April 2017

We booked short notice and was happy to find an inn in DuPont Circle. That's about it. The booking agent was friendly but explained there would be no innkeeper after 7pm. That was ok with us until we entered the inn and climbed 4 flights with our bags. Very old and not updated at all. No Fire Escape, broken toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia G
bnbaccomDC, General Manager at Akwaaba DC, responded to this review

We always appreciate hearing comments and concerns from all our guests. It was particularly unfortunate to read this review, as we feel we offer a great value in one of the best neighborhoods of Washington DC. Our guests enjoy a choice of 8 guest rooms, each with a private bath. The guest rooms are located on the 2nd, 3rd and...

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Other (27)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
1,074 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
1,198 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
1,384 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
2,959 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Akwaaba DC is located in Dupont Circle at the heart of the Nation's Capitol. This 1890's historic townhouse is within walking distance of the White House, and the many fine restaurants, and shops of Dupont Circle. Access to the Smithsonian and National Monuments is a short ride on the Metro just 4 blocks (less than a 10 minute walk). Choose from 7 guest rooms, each with private bath or an apartment with accommodations for 6. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Akwaaba DC

Address: 1708 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-3104
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Price Range: ₹ 11,470 - ₹ 18,468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Akwaaba Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Akwaaba DC staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York
3 months ago
Atlanta, Georgia
over a year ago
Michigan, USA

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Akwaaba DC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is a very "vertical" inn. The Poetry Room on the 4th floor is lovely but you have to be able to make the climb!”
261Wanderlust, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Be aware that this is an old building and there is no elevator.”
c00kie2017, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Contact the innkeeper or booking agent to discuss which room would fit your needs.”
dlrsclay60, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms nice, but four floors and no elevator, if you have issues with stairs.”
garnettl2015, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If climbing stairs is a problem, don't book rooms on the upper floors!”
DrMichelle2015, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Official Site
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates