We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

HI Washington DC Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
HI Washington DC Hostel
HI Washington DC Hostel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

617 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for HI Washington DC Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 410: English reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a total of four nights. Clean rooms, restrooms and common areas. You'll be provided with sheets, a blanket, pillows as well a towel. Lookers are available, so bring a padlock. Breakfast is included; cereal, OJ, bagels, toast, muffin, jam, peanut butter, cream cheese etc. Location is excellent, walking distance to all the museums and memorials, but also the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linnéa J
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

Linnea J: Thank you for telling all of Trip Advisor's readers about your experience with us and so many of the "little things" that we do and offer to make the hostel a fun and enjoyable home base. I do apologize about the beds. I have seen a couple of comments like this, and we definitely need to fix the...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The room was quite dirty and the staff were generally busy in their own conversations to pay attention to the desk. No ramp to get your suitcase up the couple of stairs inside and a very small lift. This was my third HI and it was not anywhere near at the same standard as the other two. Women and men...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cupofteague
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

cupofteague: I'm so sorry that we disappointed you during your stay with us. We definitely need to up our game in many areas, particularly with our cleanliness and service. I will speak with the Housekeeping and Guest Service Teams to understand what happened. There are many amazing HI hostels in the US and around the world. We strive to be...

pembroke pines, fl
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

This was my 2nd time staying in a hostel and my 1st at this location. I was there the weekend of October 22. I had a private room. The hostel is in a great location in downtown DC and a short walking distance to area attractions, great restaurants, and public transportation. The room and bathroom facilities were well maintained and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amsPembrokePines_Fl
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

amsPembrokePines_Fl: Thank you for choosing us for your second hostel stay ever, and for the wonderful review and PERFECT SCORE! We hope that you continue on your hostelling adventure and stop by to see us next time you're in town. ~ Mark Schneider, HI DC General Manager

NW Ohio
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I checked the availability online and it said only one night of the weekend was available, but I called and sure enough, I was able to book a two night stay that weekend. So, always call to book. Though I'm not a HI member, I've been to many HI and this place is also great!! I would rate it my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FrugaliciousDiva
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

FrugaliciousDiva: Yippee! I agree with you that HI has amazing hostels around the world, and I'm pretty fond of HI DC, but I'm way more biased. :-) Thanks for highlighting so many wonderful aspects of your stay, and the PERFECT SCORE! Location, yummy breakfast, free amenities, convenience items for sale, super Staff (except for that bit with one member of...

Abuja, FCT, Nigeria
Reviewed 18 October 2016

From the very friendly faces at the frontdesk, to the warm service at breakfast, to the opportunity for cross-cultural networking and interaction, I find HI Washington to be very homely. It is a fine place to learn how to interact with the American Culture while you are around. Specific Mention: I love John, he is a great guy for HI...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeremiah A
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

Jeremiah A: Wow! I cannot imagine a better review! Everything you describe, particularly about the opportunity for cultural understanding, is the reason why we are here. I am almost without words. Thank you, thank you, thank you! That is our non-profit's mission, exactly. Wow, again! ~ Mark Schneider, HI DC General Manager

Knoxville, Iowa
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Great place to stay. I only stayed one night. It was pizza/game night. Room was very nice. Small but suited its purpose (4 bed room). Bathroom/shower was clean, large enough, breakfast was good, facility is old but I'm not expecting the Marriott! My only negatives were room was hot and I had a room facing the street which was noisy....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RamblingRonda
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

RamblingRonda: Lots of great experiences described in a very small space. Thanks for getting it all in there about our free events, comfortable rooms, cleanliness, and breakfast. Being in a great downtown location can come with a bit of street noise, but I hope that it did not affect your sleep. Thanks for everything, including the PERFECT SCORE! ~ Mark...

Porto, Portugal
Reviewed 13 October 2016

It's an hostel, we knew that, but the reality was completely different from the photos and comments. The rooms are old and not well clean (our room smelled bad and a dirty and torn towel was left on my bed). The air conditioning makes a lot of noise, you cant regulate the temperature and the air comes directly at your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariaGJacob
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

MariaGJacob: Thank you for your review and insights, and for your nice comments about the location, breakfast, and especially the service. I am so sorry that we did not deliver on your very reasonable other expectations. We do our best to present a fair and accurate view of our property and the stay experience, but it looks like what we...

South West
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Picked due to location, easy distance to Mall and White House. Close to good selection of bars and restaurants that cater for all budgets and tastes. Staff pleasant, but didn't have much interaction as we were out 16 hours each day. Free breakfast is worth using as a fuel stop for a long day of sight seeing. Room we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NomadForest78
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

NomadForest78: Thanks for the review, and giving a shout-out to the HI DC Team! We do try to provide the value you seek (DC is quite expensive), along with the location, comfort, and amenities that make for a great experience. Thank you for the note and for the helpful advice to readers (e.g., bring a lock for the lockers to...

Tilburg
Reviewed 7 October 2016

I stayed here for a week, central located, close to the White house and public transfer, even close to Starbucks, breakfast was good, and the guy who worked in that kitchen over there, was a funny one, he made me smile. Loved my stay here, very friendly people,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ivo468
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

Ivo468: So glad to have you for an entire week! Our location is a definite advantage, but it's the HI DC Team that makes the memories. John, our world famous Breakfast Host is truly a one-of-a-kind. We're extremely lucky to have him to greet and take care of hostellers in the morning. ~ Mark Schneider, HI DC General Manager

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Eventually got round to this nearly 4 years later! Check in was nice and simple Great guys on reception, rooms were large bring ear plugs if you opt for a dorm (there's always a snorer!) They offer tours which I went on around the capital building and pretty much everywhere I think for free or maybe a couple bucks.. not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andyburn91
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review

Andyburn91: Better late than never, especially for a PERFECT SCORE! Thanks for sending us your note! Great advice about always being aware of your surroundings in a big city. Thankfully, our guests and staff feel pretty safe in the area, especially being less than a 10 minute walk from the White House. So glad that the HI DC Team was...

301 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
4:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (71)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (147)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Private Room with Double Bed (16)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Ten Bed Economy Dorm (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#57 of 140 in Washington DC
1,415 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#70 of 140 in Washington DC
4,224 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#44 of 140 in Washington DC
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
HI-DC is the best value in DC! Our dorm-style and private rooms bring together international and domestic budget travelers in a safe, clean, and fun environment. We have a long list of FREE amenities and an unbeatable location - just 8 blocks to The White House and The National Mall (home to world-famous monuments, museums, and galleries), 4 blocks to China Town, and 3 blocks to the Metro. We're Gold Level Certified by Sustainable Travel International's STEP ("green") program, too! ... more   less 

Additional Information about HI Washington DC Hostel

Address: 1009 11th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4409
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Price Range: ₹ 2,346 - ₹ 8,982 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI Washington DC Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your HI Washington DC Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from HI Washington DC Hostel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from HI Washington DC Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The private room and 6 bed dorms are great.”
 of 5 bubbles 841abbieb, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I don't think you can choose, but the elevator is often busy so the closer to the lobby the better (there are 8 floors)”
 of 5 bubbles Danimost, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Frontdesk and staff are always very happy to help. Also go early for breakfast so you don't have to eat in a rush.”
 of 5 bubbles 908jeremiaha, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room off the street and choose a room with the least amount of beds for your budget”
 of 5 bubbles RamblingRonda, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“go for a room with less people in it”
 of 5 bubbles ToffeeCanary, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5