We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
815 14th Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005
Lowest prices for your stay
$258
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com$258
Orbitz.com
travelup.com$285
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (456)
Room & Suite (235)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#71 of 154 hotels in Washington DC
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located in the vibrant heart of downtown Washington, DC, the 14-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown hotel delivers a refreshing blend of urban luxury and friendly hospitality. Spacious accommodations, a convenient downtown Washington, DC location, an array of lifestyle amenities and exceptional service make the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown hotel a relaxing oasis from a busy day at the office or touring the historic and inspiring sights of Washington, DC. Our downtown Hilton Garden Inn hotel is a welcoming retreat in the heart of our nation's capital, just a few blocks from the White House, Embassy Row, Dupont Circle and government and business venues.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Archery offsite
Kids pool
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Snack bar
Vending machine
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
3849Reviews72Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,842
  • 1,405
  • 394
  • 135
  • 73
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
LMK101 wrote a review 23 Jan
Virginia Beach, Virginia410 contributions77 helpful votes
They are a busy hotel. It does not have a lot of frills but it works. The valet and parking guys are good but one in particular was on the ball. The conference meeting rooms are located one floor down from street level. Their restrooms are down there as well. The foyer is small but effective. The bar and restaurant are to one side. The bar is small and gets crowded. Their wine list is not all that great though..if you want a glass. The staff is friendly. The breakfast is decent and service is quick and nice. The rooms are clean.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown
Responded 5 days ago
Dear LMK101, Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are glad to know you liked our ideal location, comfortable accommodations, devoted associates, and delicious breakfast we serve. However, we regret not meeting all of your expectations while here, and we have taken note of all your comments as we are continually striving for ways to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your patience and hope you will give us another opportunity to accommodate you in the future. Sincerely, Faiza Khan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bruce Lafleur wrote a review Aug 2021
Hyattsville, Maryland51 contributions197 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This is a review for a business meeting. We have had to cancel all of our in-person conferences for the past 18 months. We were looking for a hotel that would help us stick our toe back in the water with a small (30 person) board of directors event. I had worked with our Taylor Osbourne before at another property so I called him first. The Hilton Garden Inn was the perfect venue. The hotel was incredibly flexible with us. They did not hold a gun to our head on attrition and gave us generous cancelation terms. As it turned out, even with the increase in COVID restrictions, we ended up not needing either. I was continually surprised and delighted by the staff and especially the catering. The food was excellent. I just don't expect that from a big city hotel. Our catering manager Florian was exception (been doing this for 30 years, none better) The space was perfect for our group. We had several meetings and breakouts. The hotel helped us with A/V equipment. That saved a small fortune. The hotel's GM, Lee was super hands on. Well, done. We like this hotel so much we are going to figure out a way to use them when we get our larger group together next year. If you are an organizer and want to know how we managed covid restrictions, email me separately.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown
Responded 14 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share the detailed review. Everything we do is aimed at providing an excellent experience, and we are delighted you were 100% satisfied with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown. We are grateful to you for mentioning the various amenities we offer to business travelers, and we sincerely appreciate your dedication to staying with us again. We hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Lee Seiler General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tewari_S wrote a review 20 Jan
Dubai, United Arab Emirates92 contributions96 helpful votes
The hotel is overpriced for the value it provides. At best it offers basic 3-star facilities. I had booked for 3 nights but I checked out after one. One reason being the quality of room allocated to me but the bigger reason being the lacking empathy of staff when I raised my problems. The front office staff was quite arrogant and quite surprisingly not even minimal efforts were done to listen to me or retain me when I said I will rather leave and move to a another hotel if my room is not changed. Of course I did move to the Westin nearby which offered far greater value at a lower rate (I will review Westin separately). On another note the breakfast buffet at this hotel is very basic in terms of spread. The only silver lining was the person on the concierge desk who really helped us in the evening by guiding us on the local area. The location is good and possibly that is the only factor that keeps the business coming.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Tewari_S, Thank you for being our guest and for the feedback. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you faced with the room assigned, and you left us earlier than anticipated. We are also sorry for the behavior of our front desk associates, and we have shared your comments with the appropriate individuals to ensure this is not repeated. Moreover, we regret not meeting your expectations with the breakfast we serve. On a positive note, we are happy you liked our ideal location. We appreciate your patience and hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a seamless stay. Sincerely, Faiza Khan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marianne M wrote a review 18 Jan
I was on a trip with my friends, when we got locked out of our room on our way to get snacks. We went downstairs and asked a kindly African American lady at the front desk if she could help. She was able to help me and my friends and was so sweet about it, even though it was midnight. I was so thankful to her and I will definitely come here again! Give her a raise!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Dear W1770PUmariannem, Thank you for being our guest at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown. We are pleased to know our front desk associate was able to help you and your friends, and we will surely share your compliments with her. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you all again. Sincerely, Faiza Khan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yaccova wrote a review 15 Jan
New York City, New York218 contributions204 helpful votes
Clean budget hotel very close to the White House. Good for families because they have connecting rooms that include a King Bed with 2 Queen beds. Bed and feather pillows were very comfortable. Check in was easy and the person at check-in was welcoming and friendly. Good selection of prepackaged food and beverages in the lobby for a reasonable price. There was also a valet in the hotel, which was helpful. Negatives: Unfortunately, the bar closed early. Additionally, parking was very expensive. We arrived late and were told that the fee was for a 24 hour period where we could bring our car in and out at for no extra fee. The following day we were told that it if we parked past noon, we would be charged another $50+. Was also told when we made a reservation, that because we are Hilton Honor members, we would not be charged an extra charge if we left the room by 4:59pm. At the hotel, we were told that it was not true.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Great hotel if you are visiting the White House as it is in walking distance.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Yaccova, Thank you for being a loyal Hilton Honors member. It was our pleasure accommodating you at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown. We appreciate you sharing your review with other travelers, and we are delighted you were thoroughly satisfied with our location, staff, service, and accommodations! However, we regret your disappointment with the parking fee. These fees are listed on our website, and we will share your comments appropriately. Thanks once more for choosing our hotel, and we look forward to your next visit with us. Sincerely, Faiza Khan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Breannlisa wrote a review 15 Jan
Buffalo, New York20 contributions21 helpful votes
We stayed for one night to see museums and monuments. We did a king suite with the pull out couch for kids. Our room was modern and very clean. The valet staff could not have been sweeter as was the front desk staff. Close to everything. Recommend checking out Hamilton for food as well as Elephant &Castle. No complaints for us, great trip and location was perfect for a DC visit. I've stayed here for business as well and it worked for both that and family visit. Though you can do self park, most garages don't allow overnight nearby so valet was priced pretty close to self park. Right by McPherson square metro too. Pretty good coffee for hotel coffee too.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: It's worth it to valet here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Breannlisa, We are delighted you returned to the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown because your previous visits were ideal! The best compliment we receive is having a guest return time after time! We are glad you and your family liked our accommodations, location, staff, and amenities. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Faiza Khan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mmayhew2023 wrote a review 12 Jan
1 contribution
I would not recommend this hotel there's several in the area to do your homework on before you make a decision to stay. The beds here are like a piece of plywood, the bathroom was disgusting, and the room had a bad smell maybe mold i have not felt good since staying there. The buffet breakfast was something I've never tasted before. i would not recommend staying @ this location
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear mmayhew2023, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We regret learning that our beds were not to your comfort and apologize for the concerns you had with the guest room. We will share your comments with our housekeeping team and take steps to ensure we are more diligent going forward. We hope to have the opportunity to make your next stay with us outstanding in every respect. Sincerely, Faiza Khan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MAinPA wrote a review 2 Jan
Wayne, Pennsylvania11 contributions4 helpful votes
This is really great location. Starbucks right across the corner. Short walk to the White House. Very centrally located to easily walk to the monuments and all the museums. Lots of good restaurants are nearby. Metro is right across the street. The staff is very nice. They helped us with directions, made recommendations, Maurice was very helpful and super kind to my daughter. However this is a super basic hotel that is in need of a makeover. Popcorn ceilings, bathroom had cracks in the shower, old carpet, expect lots of noise, windows are not sound proof. For a short trip where just need a place to lay your head at night and don’t plan to spend much time in your room this will work.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking was $49 a day at the hotel, which isn’t bad for DC.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mlaintn, Thank you for your honest evaluation. We are glad our convenient location worked well for you and that you were pleased with our courteous hospitality. It will be our pleasure to share your kind compliments with Maurice. However, we regret you felt our accommodations needed updating. We are grateful for the feedback, and we will share these notes with the appropriate individuals for future modernization plans for our hotel. We hope to have another occasion to meet and even exceed your expectations. Thank you once more for your review. Sincerely, Faiza Khan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bonyNy wrote a review Dec 2022
NY79 contributions29 helpful votes
This is a more basic Hilton accommodation. It probably targets budget travelers. Room was in good shape and we had no issues. Location worked well for us. There is a nice park nearby. It is 5-10 min drive to National Mall. Parking is $50/night. A little higher than nearby parking garages charge for overnight parking. However you get valet (plus taxes and tip are not included). I think they would really offer better value if they could offer parking at same price or lower than nearby garages. Had minimal interaction with staff.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear bonyNy, Thank you for the review of the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown. We are pleased that you enjoyed our proximity to the National Mall and many other points of interest. We are glad you enjoyed the comfortable accommodations and had a relaxing stay. We have noted your concerns regarding the parking fees and appreciate your thoughts on the matter; we will relay them to the appropriate individual. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to revisit us. "Season's Greetings!" Regards, Faiza Khan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard K wrote a review Dec 2022
156 contributions97 helpful votes
We stayed here in April last year but can’t say I’ve been in a rush to review this hotel. The room was smart enough and the breakfast was half decent. The location was good and was an easy walk to the main attractions. The metro was across the road also. The reason why I rated this hotel as “average”, was the greeting we received when we arrived at check in. We was debating the Conrad and various other hotels before booking. The Garden Inn however had good reviews and as we just wanted somewhere comfortable to use as a base for 2 nights, we booked this hotel the moment we literally arrived into Washington DC. When we arrived I am not exaggerating when I say the conversation went like this “there’s your room key, take the lift over there, questions?”. When I tried to ask questions, it was pretty obvious the staff member didn’t want me to be there. Me and my wife both arrived at the room, completely underwhelmed, and wishing we booked somewhere else. Like I say, the room was sufficient for our stay and comfortable. When I later went to the bar in the evening to order one beer, I was completely ignored whilst someone else pushed straight in front of me and the bar man was more than happy to let her as she ordered half the bar. On check out, we had positive interactions with a different receptionist, and the concierge. They saved it tbh, as before any of that, I would have said the whole customer service experience in this hotel was dire. I’ll just finish this by saying, I’m far from fussy and I class myself as easy going, but I do think the hotel needs to look at some staff who are customer facing and quite evidently aren’t suited to that role.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Richard K, Thank you for staying with us again and posting your review. Please accept our apologies as well as every assurance that we will be working to address the concerns outlined in your review. Our staff typically does a terrific job responding to our guests’ needs, so we are sorry that did not happen in your instance. We appreciate your patience. On a positive note, we are glad our location was ideal for your visit and that some of our associated took good care of you. We value your feedback, and we hope you will return so we can provide you with the hospitality you deserve. Regards, Faiza Khan General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$171 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton garden inn washington, dc downtown hotel washington dc, hilton washington dc
LOCATION
United StatesDistrict of ColumbiaWashington DCUpper Northwest / Downtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
300
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HILTON GARDEN INN WASHINGTON DC DOWNTOWN - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Nightly Spirits (0.4 km), National Museum of Women in the Arts (0.2 km), and The Good Liar Brian Curry (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lafayette Restaurant, Old Ebbitt Grill, and Joe's Seafood Prime Steak & Stone Crab.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Arlington National Cemetery (4.0 km), Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens (5.1 km), and Georgetown University (3.5 km).