We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Hive

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1052)
Room & Suite (231)
Dining (90)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 148 hotels in Washington DC
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Mixing smart design with the unexpected, Hotel Hive unites modern innovation with historic character. Our distinctive 125-250 square foot rooms are perfectly unique hives for on-the-go guests looking to truly connect with the city. From its prime location, Hotel Hive guests can buzz about the city and return to a unique and innovative hotel experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Rooftop bar
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
2,515Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,282
  • 176
  • 40
  • 15
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Martian S wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
This is a great hotel for location and style. Great vibe and super friendly staff. I also love a smaller space, so this is definitely the hotel for me. Anyone with minimalist preferences will appreciate the room. I was in front of the elevator and thought it would be noisy, but it was quiet and I slept well every night. Bed and pillows are super comfortable. Breakfast was good, though could use a few more options.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: If you prefer quiet, be sure to get a room away from the staircase as people use it to get to the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sarah C wrote a review Jan 2024
4 contributions5 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I moved to this hotel after a couple nights at a more expensive highly rated “trendy” hotel in Capitol Hill. I wish I’d been at Hive from day one. It was so comfortable there. I had a loft room which was more than big enough and had big windows and a good view. The bed was very comfortable. I loved the neighborhood of Foggy Bottom and felt safe walking around at all hours, and it’s really well located to everything. The pizza they serve is amazing especially the breakfast avacado pizza. Understand before you book that this is a micro hotel…services are less to help keep their costs down and your costs down. If you want your room turned over every day and a coffee maker in your room this is probably not the place for you. The coffee they serve in the lobby in the morning is good coffee and it’s free for guests…I just went down and got some. I will definitely stay here if I go back to DC. The staff were all very nice and I felt safe there as a solo female traveller.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Guillen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hive
Responded 1 Feb 2024
Hi Sarah, Thank you for writing us a 5-star review! We are extremely happy you gave our unique Hive a try and enjoyed it so much! Our beautiful loft rooms and amazing location tucked in Foggy Bottom make for the perfect stay. We are very glad you felt safe and welcomed during your visit as your comfort is a high priority for us! I love that you indulged in the delicious pizza and coffee too. While we are micro, we offer the best value stay in the city. We like to say that we have everything you need and nothing you don't. We are so excited to hear that you'll be back and look forward to seeing you next time! Best, Kara Wohlfahrt - Emerging Leader
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ktk wrote a review Yesterday
Quincy, Massachusetts1 contribution
Fabulous place to stay - especially if needing to be near George Washington University. Clean rooms, friendly staff, and convenient location. Parking is just 2 minutes away. Walkable to many restaurants and cafes. Already booked our second stay
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking nearby. Convenient 15 minute parking g right outside hotel to load/unload bags. Nice roof...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jason A wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Wonderful service--everyone was friendly and accommodating. It's a micro-hotel so don't expect spacious accommodations. That said, the bed was super comfortable and the room had all the necessities. Right next to our son's dorm and convenient to all of the sights of DC.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dream54114883421 wrote a review 11 Apr
1 contribution
Q and Fisher were incredibly helpful and friendly hosts! From the moment we arrived, their warmth and assistance made our stay truly enjoyable. My cat Penny and I loved the cozy accommodations, and the friendly and helpful hospitality provided was top-notch. Thank you immensely for the wonderful experience!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Guillen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hive
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Dream54114883421, Thank you so much for buzzing about us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed a comfortable and welcoming stay. I appreciate you giving Q and Fisher a shoutout for their outstanding help, they are the best of the best! We loved getting to meet Penny and hope you both come see us again soon for another 5-star stay! Best, Kara Wohlfahrt - Assistant Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
D. Gamble wrote a review 10 Apr
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Conveniently located near GW University, the National Mall, and the White House. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the accommodations were comfortable and cozy. The beehive theme brought together creative designs and puns in every aspect of the hotel, from the decor inside the elevator to the names of each space. Complimentary coffee and herbal tea in addition to for purchase breakfast pizza are not to be missed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Guillen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hive
Responded 2 days ago
Hi D. Gamble, Thank you for writing such a sweet review for us! We are so happy that our central location and energetic team members were so fun and welcoming. I love that you enjoyed our buzzing theme and unique design, as well as our best-in-class amenities and dining options. We hope to welcome you back again very soon for more 5-star memories! Best, Kara Wohlfahrt - Assistant Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Olivia B wrote a review 9 Apr
1 contribution
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay. The staff were super helpful and friendly and this is a great value for the location! Everything was clean and tidy and we enjoyed some drinks at the bar. It was our first time in DC and we would stay here again in a heartbeat!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Guillen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hive
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Olivia, Thank you very much for writing us a 5-star review about your recent stay! We are buzzing with joy knowing that our friendly team and central location made your visit so valuable. We greatly appreciate you highlighting our clean rooms and delicious drink menus. We cannot wait to welcome you back next time! Best, Kara Wohlfahrt - Assistant Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ashlie P wrote a review 8 Apr
1 contribution
The Hive was a perfect place to stay for a quick trip into DC for the weekend. I was visiting AU and GW with my school in search of a college and The Hive was perfectly situated in the middle of it all. We really enjoyed being able to walk to the mall and Metro stop. The staff and cleanliness of the hotel were perfect!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Guillen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hive
Responded 4 days ago
Hi Ashlie, Thank you for taking a moment to write us such a buzzing review! Our Hive away from Home is the perfect spot for a quick visit to our nation's capital and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that our convenient proximity to the universities and National Mall made for such a memorable visit. We also greatly appreciate you highlighting our fantastic front desk and housekeeping teams. We hope you come back and see us soon for another 5-star stay! Best, Kara Wohlfahrt - Assistant Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
S K wrote a review 8 Apr
1 contribution
+1
Checking in was so easy! I came in early to check if my room was ready and was greeted by this friendly man named Fisher. I got a drink at the bar while waiting for the room to be inspected. Of course, I'm not complaining since I'm checking in way earlier than the check-in time, and I got an awesome drink from the bar! The hotel itself has a welcoming atmosphere that I love. The room was very clean and bigger than what I expected. I had everything I needed, and Fisher made sure to check that I did. The location is within walking distance from the National Mall. I love going to the Lincoln Memorial, down to the Washington Monument, and of course, the museums around. If I'm in the area, I would definitely book here again! Thank you, Hotel Hive!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Parking is across the street. The elevator going up works but not when going down so I had to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Guillen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hive
Responded 4 days ago
Hi S K, Thank you so much for leaving us a 5-star review! It means a lot that your stay went so smoothly. Fisher is a rockstar and we appreciate you giving him some special recognition. We love hearing that you enjoyed our clean and cozy rooms and were able to enjoy a delicious drink as well. It sounds like our minimal and unique style was the perfect fit for you! We are very happy you had a great time exploring the nearby sights and museums. We cannot wait until the next time you buzz by! Best, Kara Wohlfahrt - Assistant Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
RCR wrote a review 7 Apr
1 contribution
The receptionist was exceptional and gave us very good recommendations for food. Everybody want to help us when we need it. The pizza ay the bar was very good, but the coffe for breakfast wasn't. The location is super convenient for those who don't know the city.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Guillen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hive
Responded 4 days ago
Hi RCR, Thank you very much for sharing such sweet comments about your recent stay! We appreciate hearing how our team's city insider tips and our prime location made your visit so exciting. It is also great to hear your feedback on our food and beverage options. Come see us again soon for another 5-star experience! Best, Kara Wohlfahrt - Assistant Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Washington DC area.
PRICE RANGE
₹17,783 - ₹26,048 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesDistrict of ColumbiaWashington DCFoggy Bottom - GWU - West End / Upper Northwest
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL HIVE (Washington DC) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Hive
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Hive?
Nearby attractions include The George Washington University Museum - The Textile Museum (0.3 km), Department of State (0.3 km), and George Washington University (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Hive?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Hive?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Hive?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Hive?
Conveniently located restaurants include CIRCA at Foggy Bottom, &pizza - Hotel Hive, and Whole Foods Market.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Hive?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Hive?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Hive?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Arlington National Cemetery (2.6 km), Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens (5.2 km), and Ford's Theatre (2.1 km).
Is Hotel Hive accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.