We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection
See the most recent reviews
Showing 227: English reviews
Hallowell, Maine
Reviewed 28 February 2015

Quiet and well appointed cottages overlooking Akaroa and the bay. A five minute drive from downtown Akaroa, with its opportunities for cruises on the bay, shopping and a variety of decent restaurants. The cottages are spacious, very comfortable, and full of light while providing a forest buffer from other cottages and the road. We awakened to bird calls and sunshine....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomwelch
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review

Hello Tomwelch, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, It's great to read that we ticked all the boxes for what you were wanting. We you will return. Take Megan

Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2015

We stayed in Rowan. This must be the most peaceful accommodation in New Zealand. Set in trees over looking the harbour. The facilities are excellent & very compact. We used the BBQ which actually hadn't been cleaned although it says an extra charge will be made if left dirty. The only negative would be the wi- fi most places we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison1722
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review

Hello Alison, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's great to hear you had a peaceful stay. Not sure whats happening with WiFi We offer 500mg per 24 hours. If you settings on your device are not set to auto login sometimes this effect connecting. Apple product also seem to be a problem aswell. We generally...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 February 2015

Stayed overnight recently on south island trip. Cottages whilst not 2015 vintage are modern enough with decent facilities (kitchen etc), great views and very quiet. The cottages sit nestled into the bush surroundings so expect to see some wildlife (which is nice). Only a short drive or 5 min walk to town. A very pleasant stay and if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg W
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review

Thank you Greg from Sydney for your review. As we are set in a country setting owners of the property want rustic country, not 2015 modern. We are probably a 15min walk unless you were running into town. We hope to see you back should you return to Akaroa in the future. Take Care Megan

Kaikoura, null, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 February 2015 via mobile

This facility is perfectly placed for those who want to get away. I spend a lot of time in hotels around the world so these cottages were a welcome relief. The management and Rick are lovely and very helpful. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ilikekaikoura2011har
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's great to hear that we are up there with the many hotels you spend time in all over the world. We aim to please and go the extra mile for everyone. Look forward to seeing you back. Take care Megan

Warren, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2015

Great view and a realy nice setting. The staff are friendly and professional. The 3 bedroom cottage was clean and the beds were comfortable. The cottage was in need of an update and showing the signs of use. The bbq was not as pictured.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Stuart J
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review

Hi Stuart, Thank you for the great review,it's great to see you were well looked after while on your stay at the cottages. I will pass on the remarks about the cottage to it's owner. Take care Megan

Ashburton, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed at landside seaview cottage. Loved everything about it. Private. An alrite view of the sea. Sky. Double spa bath. Fireplace with kindling ready to go! Free fudge. The driveway is a bit steep but they have a one way system going and this seems to work fine. My issue is with their service. I booked online on their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank builder4x4
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review

Hello Builder 4x4, It great to hear that you had a fabulous time while staying at the cottages and that the cottage and property was up to expectations. As previously emailed to you i haven't dealt with the under charging of your bill well and i'm really sorry for this and have learn't from my error. It is great to...

Brisbane
Reviewed 28 December 2014

From the time we entered through the beautiful gardens I knew we had found the perfect location to stay in Akaroa. Our checkin was welcoming with information about the area offered without any obligation. Our room (Woodside cabin) was lovely, clean and with wonderful views along the bay. It was also private with it's own garden and separated from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg K
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review

Hi Greg, Thank you for taking the time to review the property, It is great to read that you enjoyed your experience while staying with us. We look forward to seeing your friends and family and of course yourselves when you return to Akaroa for a break. Take care and good luck for 2015 Megan

USA
Reviewed 18 December 2014

Our stay to Akaroa Cottages got off to a bad start and never really recovered. After a beautiful drive to Akaroa from Christchurch, we got lost trying to find the property. It turns out that the sign “Akaroa Cottages” is only 4 inches tall and the main road sign stated “Country Cottages” which I thought was another property. After doubling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank qastudio3
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review

Dear qasstudio3, Sorry to hear you did not have the experience we offer. The problem with those country cottage signs is we do not own them and although we have looked into having the signage changed from the previous name 10 years ago the council will not just like they will not give us a footpath either. We only offer...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2014

The quality of accommodation and furnishings is excellent / very comfortable and commendable. Sadly it is let down by inconsistencies; lack of attention to detail; and one extremely annoying and unnecessary management policy (1). 1) WORST FEATUR : INTERNET POLICY: Offers 30 minutes / 500MB of free internet " ONCE A WEEK ! " After that demand for $35 for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnnytraveller777
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to review Akaroa Cottages, While i agree with some of your views and have just used them as feedback to the owners of the property i do wish it was better. As managers we do our best to have everything perfect, but at present are let down by the investors of this...

Stokenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2014

we stayed in Rowan, a well appointed unit with all you need to cater for yourself. The views were fantastic, certainly sleep with the curtains open. Very private and out of the tourist area. Had to be one of the best places we stayed in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Digory
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review

Thank you Digory for taking the time to write a positive review about our property. Rowan does have a fantastic view overlooking the harbour and not that i have stayed in there expect very nice to to wake up to. Thanks again and it is refreshing to hear you had a great stay. Take care Megan

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.8 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
36 reviews
0.8 km away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
196 reviews
1.2 km away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 26 in Akaroa
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
1.2 km away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.8 km away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#10 of 26 in Akaroa
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Akaroa Cottages is part of Heritage Hotels group (Heritage Hotels).We have recently upgraded most of our cottages with new curtains, carpet and paint with some new furnishings. Perfectly located just 1.5 kilometers from the historic and unique French settlement of Akaroa, this idyllic Heritage Collection resort offers luxurious self-contained accommodation in a truly magnificent setting. Capturing the charm of this special location, Akaroa Cottages are crafted from timber and stone and are surrounded by tranquil native bush. These Private spacious cottages are complemented by stunning views of the beautiful Akaroa Harbour and the undulating hills of Banks Peninsula. Most of the Cottages have Double Corner Spa baths, Log burners and Views and they are all privately set. We cater for groups, couples weddings and Families. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection

Address: 6888 Christchurch Akaroa Road | Banks Penninsula, Akaroa 7542, New Zealand (Formerly Loch-Hill Country Cottages)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Price Range: ₹ 10,257 - ₹ 19,882 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Boutique Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All looked great”
 of 5 bubbles Julie1958594, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Only saw our own cottage which was lovely and private from all the others.”
 of 5 bubbles glferrar, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a view of the harbour, it is worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles Jeneil40, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“has good 4G phone coverage for vodafone”
 of 5 bubbles Dunk893, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rowan, was the studio with a view, we stayed in”
 of 5 bubbles PJ254, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay