We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Onuku Farm Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 67: English reviews
Start your review of Onuku Farm Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our spot was cool once we made it there. Our hut was the farthest up the hill but it was far up the hill. The should tell you how far when you check in. Also the free wifi doesnt even work in common rooms. As a traveler its important when a hostel advertises they have wifi since its important for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingpenny01
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here. There was a potluck dinner the night we stayed which was fun and a great way to meet people. The wifi was horrible and I was barely able to connect but it is in a beautiful location. The dolphin tour was wonderful and well worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
Paris, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've slept two nights in the Top Hut dorm and I've found a piece of paradise. In a Farm, with its sheeps, goose and so on, at the top of an hill, everything is done in a simple way and it works ! Sol and his wife are lovely guests, was hard to leave Onuku I would recommend this place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Slnonclouds
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed with my friend in the Tonga Hut. Our whole stay was a delight, the atmosphere and setting of the whole hostel is so beautiful and picturesque. We really appreciated that the hut had us in a private, quiet corner of the camp while still having access to the more lively main building. The view of the harbor in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joe K
Bentonville, Arkansas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed our stay here . The night we were there they had a dinner pot lock which was fun to meet and eat with other travelers. Would absolutely recommend the dolphin tour. I was never able to connect to the wifi. It is about a ten minute drive out of town.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harpers0512
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We booked the Tonga Hut as it was described as "private". We knew the kitchen and bathrooms were in a separate building, so we brought flashlights. Tonga Hut is actually two rooms, side by side. Okay, semi-private--still a beautiful setting. We were not issued a key at reception and so I called to ask about it. I also asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Feenixwest
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

This is a party campsite of the highest order - music blasting right through the night from all angles, drugs and alcohol abundant everywhere. Not ideal if you have children! Nice setting however shame about the staff they are pretty rude and we saw one of the management physically attack one of the campers who apparently had been asked to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank BobbySandsHerald
OnukuHostel, General Manager at Onuku Farm Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Bobby, I am sad to hear that you were unlucky enough to arrive at our beautiful campground on such an unusual and unfortunate evening. We haven't had a noise complaint and/or alcohol abuse issues for over 3-4 years or more!!! The weekend to which you are referring to was Waitangi weekend and unfortunately we had some guests who were...

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

This farm is a great place to stay for several days! Every accommodation is special and made with lots of love. You can do several walks there, even if the weather is not the best (happens sometimes) you have amazing views!! The dolphin swimming tour was awesome and if the tides are good, you have to go "Paua Picking" with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Teresa B
OnukuHostel, General Manager at Onuku Farm Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you Teresa for staying with us for 4 nights! Glad to have been able to spend time with you and to get to know you! We will miss your friendly personality and adventure spirit! Hugs from all of us!

Sohar, Oman
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We loved the friendliness and personality of this hostel. The road to get there is quite winding, but it was really lovely. Akaroa is small and quaint, and Onuku Farm Hostel brings great humor and life to their property. It was fun to wander around meeting geese and sheep, and pointing out all the little details to each other. Really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank egrieb2017
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The perfect night spent here with my teenage daughter. The staff were all super friendly and couldnt have been more helpful. The hostel facilities were perfect and the grounds were immaculate. Stunning views across the bays, set in the bush, birdsong and even their very own "pets"! We stayed the night in one of their famous stargazers and were very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie G
OnukuHostel, General Manager at Onuku Farm Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie, Thank you so much for your kind words and your nice smiles! It was our pleasure to host you again and to meet your family! Hope to see you here again anytime!

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
4.0 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
59 reviews
4.7 km away
Bon Accord
Bon Accord
#21 of 24 in Akaroa
50 reviews
5.6 km away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
La Rive Akaroa Motel
La Rive Akaroa Motel
#6 of 6 in Akaroa
75 reviews
4.6 km away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
5.3 km away
Kokopu Estate
Kokopu Estate
#3 of 24 in Akaroa
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Open Oct-May: Cozy farm hostel with amazing coastal views & rustic original kiwi facilities: Stargazers, Farmhouse, girls only dorm, camping, vans, huts. Enjoy it all: sunrise to sunset & the most amazing stars in the sky at night plus No sandflies :) Hiking, mussel picking, BBQ. Guided dolphin swims & kayak trips directly from the farm. Internet & WiFi. Just 6 km from Akaroa. Free pick up @ 12.30 from Akaroa. Cash only! Phone for monthly specials. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Onuku Farm Hostel

Address: 89 Hamilton's Rd, Akaroa 7452, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Price Range: ₹ 1,380 - ₹ 1,610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Onuku Farm Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Onuku Farm Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The tonga hut is very cool, the only downside is it's outside the range of the wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles C2761ZWjoek, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“So many options, huts, camping, dorm or private rooms. You can't go wrong!”
 of 5 bubbles TillyMillican, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Great views!”
 of 5 bubbles menno4u, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the main house are great! Girls dorm has amazing view and en suite bathroom with shower and washing machine!”
 of 5 bubbles IngaLV, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The Kiwi stargazer is unique. A very basic 'wooden tent' but the views at night are great.”
 of 5 bubbles MaartenD447, 8 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5