We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,449 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,411: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 March 2016

I had a room located on the 4th floor but with no view. The room was clean and comfortable with no outside noise. Air conditioning was good as temperatures can get high in Fremantle. The facilities in this hotel were good, with 2 outdoor pools and 3 spas complete with tables, lounges and sun lounges. It is possible to order...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Guest Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your most recent stay; the air-con is a blessing when we days of 40 degrees, we’re glad you found the room comfortable. It also please us that you made use of the hotels facilities and those sun lounges by the pool in particular. It’s great that you were able to enjoy a lighter breakfast at...

Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

We spent four nights in total at the Esplanade and overall were very happy with our stay. The public areas looked great, and we enjoyed the fresh and varied buffet breakfast. However the corridors outside our third floor room were surprisingly drab and unloved! Not a big deal I guess but it felt out of keeping with the standard of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy R
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Guest Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Dear Mandy R, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay, glad to see that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and made the most of our location. We are continuously upgrading and improving the hotel, the corridors and carpets being one of our priorities for the coming year; your comments have been passed onto management...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 March 2016

I stayed here for a conference in November 2015. The hotel was fine, but it feels a bit dated in parts, particularly the pool areas. It is a good location, just across the road from the brewery and in the heart of town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happy K
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Guest Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. The hotel is currently undergoing improvements and a number have already been undertaken including LCD televisions, new paint, leather headboards and Rydges Dream Beds in all our rooms. Your feedback is appreciated and has been passed on to our management team for review. Regards Paul

Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

We drove a fair distance with a booking already made. A person in our group was injured and they were no help, didn't let us use the medical supplies then canceled our reservation and kicked us out. After driving 3 hours up, we had no where to stay and they put us on the street with no warning. Didn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell F
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

We are very concerned upon reading your comments, if you would like to discuss this further please email paul_adams@rydges.com

Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Fantastic location lovely rooms service very good shame about the car park at the rear of property pool area execellent but no bar service so you had to dial for room service so then they charge you which is wrong if you want a drink

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona13624
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Guest Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we agree that the view of the car park to the rear of the hotel is a shame, however the Hotel had little influence on it’s construction and placement; it does service a great number of people visiting Fremantle. We have passed your comments on the food and beverage manager...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Hotel was luxuriously appointed and very clean. Spa was awesome. Location is excellent with all you could want within walking distance. Beds were extremely comfy and the buffet breakfast that was included was amazing. Would go back again and again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Depelu
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Guest Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback; we are glad you made the most of our location and enjoyed the buffet breakfast so much. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Paul

Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location but otherwise there are few positives to report. Very expensive even for the business traveller and after paying $265 per night I couldn't believe they then charged an extra $30 each day for valet parking. Exorbitant to say the least. The hotel itself is tired and in desperate need of renovation. The carpet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Guest Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Our valet parking provides a secure and convenient option for guests and we believe that the price reflects this service. The hotel is under taking some maintenance and the carpets are on the list to be replaced so your feedback will be passed onto management. We apologise for the housekeeping...

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Verý expensive hotel that totally missed the mark as far as I am concerned. Right from the word go the poorly trained staff were in the frame. I pulled up outside and this teenager in a vest asked for my keys so he could park the car. Advised I might check in first and asked what the options for parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ammolite
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Guest Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay. We apologise that you were not happy with the service you received upon arrival. You are correct that there are a number of public car parks in the area, however they are not secure like our valet parking option is. All reception staff are trained to...

Huddinge, Sweden
Reviewed 8 March 2016

I stayed here for five night with my two daughters. We didn't have a car, so the location was absolutely excellent for walking and taking the free bus around Fremantle. You can walk everywhere from here; restaurants, parks, museums, beach, Rottnes Island ferry terminal. Breakfast was very, very good, although we had breakfast at various other places due to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia J
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Guest Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your most recent stay. We are glad you made the most of our location; hope to see you again soon. Regards Paul

Sydney
Reviewed 7 March 2016

This huge complex on Fremantle's Esplanade is run by the Rydges hotel group. It is rather tired, sadly, but in a prime position and in walking distance of the Fremantle CBD, wharves, museums and main attractions. If is a great place to stay, probably the best in Fremantle. The rooms are of good size, we had a king room facing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilthetravellerXI
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Guest Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a good night s sleep on our new Rydges Dream Bed. A significant investment has been made so far and is continuing to update and refurbish various aspects of the Hotel. This is an ongoing project and your comment regarding the carpet will be passed onto management for review. The...

606 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (248)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (105)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (310)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Dolphin Pool (9)
Viewed
Executive King Room (39)
Viewed
Parkview Room (37)
Viewed
Premier Spa Suite (50)
Viewed
Resort Pool (25)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Superior Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
177 reviews
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
384 reviews
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. You'll be spoilt with two restaurants - the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master featuring tapas, grill and local seafood - and two bars including Marine Lounge Bar and the Ball & Chain with craft beer on tap and great pub grub. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: 2015 Management Team Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards 2015 & 2014 Excellence in Hospitality - Fremantle Business Awards 2014 Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Price Range: ₹ 9,293 - ₹ 16,230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question
Albany, Australia
Melbourne, Australia
7 months ago

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Happy Hours are available in bar from 5 -6pm and at the pool from 6-7pm. Also in Ball & Chain bar next door.”
 of 5 bubbles Z3015NFmichaelk, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“views found at the front, quiet at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles kyms_11, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book direct and join the hotel scheme.”
 of 5 bubbles diannem193, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Facing the pool area. No noise at all and lovely views.”
 of 5 bubbles Linnell104, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check the bathroom first”
 of 5 bubbles DebbieL413, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5