We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel

Show Prices
#28 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

980 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 463: English reviews
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here for a week in January. Couldn't really fault anything other than the rooms been a bit small, but they had everything you needed and were well maintained. Good location on the edge of the old town, friendly staff and good choice at breakfast. Our party prebooked the hotels minibus to pick us from the airport which cost us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rob M
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Arriving at the hotel, the first impression always made is by the reception staff, and our impression was that the ladies customer service was not very welcoming, quite tight and formal, and it did not feel like we were very welcome. We had booked a basic double room, the view was OK, the room was clean and it had all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beresford M
O S, Public Relations Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Beresford, Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay with us. Thank you for your comments as each opinion of the guest is very important. We would like to explain that already forwarded information to corresponding hotel departments. We hope that next time when staying with us, you would be able to see the difference....

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I came for three nights in the middle of the winter to old Riga. the write up about this hotel was nice and its average satisfaction was 8.6. I think it is slightly overrated. The room (single) can sleep two thin people but it leaves very little room to maneuver. The shower is so small that I was hoping not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ram C
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is not really nice as i expected from the pictures and descriptions provided on the web site. Bracfact is like in low cost hostel - just terrible. Despite the fare room size the interior is quite poor. To be honest beds are not king size (they re rather for little girls). Bathroom is ok but it seems like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ILYA B
DaceLea, Public Relations Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Illia, Thank you for your honest review, as constructive feedback is always welcome. We are sorry to hear you had mixed feelings about our service. While economy room offers better value, we always suggest that guests who look for a greater level of comfort try booking one of our Business or Superior suites, as they are more spacious and...

Pori, Finland
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The pretty good hotel reviews I had read earlier, didn't turn out to be true during our 3-night stay in this hotel. I cannot tell the price of the room, because we booked it via the Finnish travel agency - however, the deal was not cheap at all. Should have done it at least via bookings to get the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Javanainen
Stavanger
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Situated in the scruffy outskirts of the Old Town this hotel failed in several key points. My prepayment had not been registered, the key card functioned badly, the wifi inside the room was very poor. Used glasses in the room where not changed, only turned upside down with last nights contents stuck inside. The breakfast had free champagne but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandalsand
Tonsberg, Norway
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The hotel is ok for a week-end or maybe 3-4 days, but the nice location did not quite make up for the various irritating details: The room was poorly soundproofed, we could hear our neighbor turn in his bed! Our mattress was too hard. We had asked for 2 single beds but got a standard double. We tried dinner in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_H190483
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Spent 3 nights in this hotel. The location was good for exploring the Old Town. All staff we had dealings with were friendly and helpful. Food in the small restaurant very nice and enjoyed a few drinks in the bar. We booked an economy room including breakfast which was £42 per night, this is such great value for money. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GKovacs
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Fantastic reception, the lady on the reception was professional, helpful and very curious! The room was '' Compact'' but warm and friendly. But I am sorry to say the bar late evening was '' cold'' and tried to close when I was the last person at 23:30 and if I want '' company '' at the bar I will ask!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My mom and I went on a city trip to Riga. We booked the hotel via Ryanair and were very pleased with the hotel. The staff is very friendly, the room is tidy and the breakfastbuffet was sufficient. We had an economyroom, which was an attickroom. Though it was nice and spacious and with multiple windows. The location of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gwen s

637 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (295)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
0:32
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (131)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (313)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Economy Double Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Single Room (31)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Backyard View (28)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Bath (25)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Shower (33)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.4 km away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.2 km away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#30 of 109 in Riga
603 reviews
0.3 km away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.2 km away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
575 reviews
0.1 km away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is hidden from City Center hustle and bustle in the quiet Old Riga street. Hotel’s 6-storу Art Deco building offers 100 elegantly decorated and comfortable rooms that are perfect for romantic leisure as well as business. All hotel’s room decorated with classical furniture and antique items. The hotel has a capacity of hosting 200 guests. Due to its location, the hotel is a good choice for ones, who want to combine the relaxing stay and sightseeing of Old Town. Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is located in the very heart of Old Riga town and offers different services – lobby restaurant, wellness and SPA centre (solarium and gym not available till september), Nuga Best massage bed, sauna with whirlpool tub, conference room and banqueting facilities, car parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel

Address: 8/10 Minsterejas Street, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Price Range: ₹ 3,018 - ₹ 9,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Riga Palace Hotel Riga
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Riga
#23 Family Hotel in Riga
#28 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Either to back side of the hotel in April and Mai do to the construction on the opper side of the front of the hotel.”
kro90, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the backside are quiet.”
704tjibbeh, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose the modern rooms!”
Lucofran, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Designer rooms worth the extra cost, highly recommended.”
Bluefox47, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All very nice ask for a room away from the building work if you don't want to get woken up early in the morning...”
sidami, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5