We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Friends Hostel Budapest

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Friends Hostel Budapest
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Friends Hostel Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Showing 217: English reviews
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

One of the worst places I've ever stayed, staff were very unfriendly and trying to rip you off. Left after the first night and found somewhere much nicer and cheaper. Don't stay here if you want to have fun !! Great city, terrible hostel. Recommend Wombats hostel instead :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T_Lobb
streaman, Tulajdonos at Friends Hostel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Sir, you forgot to write that you were a stag/batchelor party Group (10 young man) drinking all day & night and disturbing other guests and hostel life. You did not leave our hostel, you were asked to leave, because your behavior did not meet human standards. You were clearly notified many times that we are not a party hostel....

Paris, France
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Friends is the best accommodation in Budapest in case you are looking for a cheap place where you can relax after a tiring sightseeing. Thanks to this hostel I could spend an extraordinary time in Budapest, we got everything we needed, absolutely clean and quiet hostel with a staff that provided us all the information about this magnificent city. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dorothyy123
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 15 February 2016

I slept in a double bedroom with my girlfriend, we had an amazing time there. Clean, quiet hostel, friendly and helpful staff, nice design and very close to the centre. I would totally recommend it to everyone!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Havajattila
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

Spent 5 nights at Friends Hostel whilst visiting Budapest, and it didn't disappoint. Our room was really lovely, and the kitchen/bathrooms were also very clean. I would recommend it to anyone who is only staying in the capital because it is so central and we walked everywhere! It isn't a party hostel so if you're looking for something to do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poppy M
Reviewed 11 December 2015

This hostel was gorgeous, newly renovated and warm. Each bed had its own under bed storage and the all female dorm room we were in had 2 couches and a table in the middle for lounging. The hostel was fairly empty when we stayed there, but with 2 bathrooms I can imagine how it could get frustrating. Still highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stressther
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2015

The location was great, at a walking distance of all the important places in Peste. We didn't had to use any public transportation once. The hostel was very clean and tidy and the rooms had a good size, given that there were 10 beds in the room we were staying. We just found a bit awkward that after 2100 you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ana B
Jakarta
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Located in the city centre with great access to public transportation. I love the spacious female dorm with its own "living room" in the middle. There are so many instructions of do's and don'ts put on the wall/door/window, but I guess that's how they keep the hostel nice and clean. A type of hostel that will make you feel at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YohanaKristanti
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 21 October 2015

The hostel has a very good location, very close to metro station. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Check out time was 10 am, but there was no problem to leave our luggage until 10.30 p.m. with no extra payment. Rooms, bathrooms and kitchen were clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena Ś
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Reviewed 21 October 2015

The room was not at the actual address provided for the hostel, but across the street. The location is very close to Pesta's city center and main attractions. A low light for our stay was the placement of the shower cabin (in the actual room) and the lack of assistance from to owner with parking advice for people traveling from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra A
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewed 9 October 2015

The hostel is very nice, made for young people. The staff was more than friendly and very helpful. The room was big, nice and clean. The common areas were very well organized. The location is very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mpenova

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#5 of 645 in Budapest
782 reviews
Avenue Hostel
#23 of 645 in Budapest
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
#26 of 645 in Budapest
162 reviews
Budapest Budget Hostel
#30 of 645 in Budapest
195 reviews
Casa De La Musica Hostel
#44 of 645 in Budapest
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Friends Hostel Budapest

Address: Terez koerut 4. | 2nd floor, Budapest 1066, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Price Range: ₹ 939 - ₹ 4,293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Friends Hostel Budapest 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Friends Hostel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Friends Hostel Budapest staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Friends Hostel Budapest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“amazing loft-room”
 of 5 bubbles martinapiemonti, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors for better view and quieter area”
 of 5 bubbles 256savannahk, 28 May 2015 | Read review
“The room you have is likely dependent on how many are in your party. The facilities were clean, the location is fabulous, that bathrooms, common area and kitchen are shared, but more than adequate... and they offer rental bikes on property, which is a very nice feature as Budapest is bicycle friendly... but the most important asset of this facility if the FRIENDLY HELPFUL STAFF!!”
 of 5 bubbles GainesvilleBeachBum, 28 May 2015 | Read review
“Private room is desirable.”
 of 5 bubbles Guestmohawk, 14 Oct 2014 | Read review
“We had the superior double room, which is much better considering the little price to pay.”
 of 5 bubbles jessc66, 21 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5