We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Mediterran

Hotels.comUS$ 103*
View Deal
#85 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

529 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 303: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Mediterran
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here Monday till Thursday. The hotel is on a busy road, which was very noisy all day and night. There is a nice restaurant just up the road which if you follow the road round will take you to the river Danube- 30 min walk (we did not know this until our transfer back to the airport!!) No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey D
Castleford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel with good service, guys on reception were very helpfull, brekfast very tasty with variety food to choose and different kinds of tea, room was clean, hotel near bus stop. I enjoy my stay there. Calm, silent without any wird adventures.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AniaKozik
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We visited the hotel in May and even though it is not in the centre of Budapest ; was within walking/ bus/tram ride into town. The room itself was basic, clean and fully functioning A/C. There was plenty of variety at breakfast and the food was hot. We used the jacuzzi and sauna which was heavenly and peaceful after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights, good room and very clean, had no trouble and despite being near a busy road, it was quiet, breakfast was simple but good. Excellent location for getting into the city centre and lovely reception staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne S
Strasbourg, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the only explanation for so many good reviews. My room was on the first floor, just facing the roads (four-lane avenue + tram + overpass). The traffic could be heard even with windows closed and earplugs until later than midnight and starting again at about 4 a.m. It was definitely not clean. The curtains and armchairs are soiled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmt195
HotelMediterran, Vezető at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this review

Dear Imt195, Thank you so much for giving us feedback on your stay! We are very sorry to read that you had a bad experience. We are keen on cleanliness and we aim to achieve a high standard, so in this case it was clearly an oversight from our side. We will definitely investigate what could happen and make sure...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good basic hotel with friendly helpful staff - kettle in room was welcome as not always the norm in Europe. Close to all transport stops. Unexpected treat was the sauna and jacuzzi in the basement which can be booked for your private use for £5 for 90 minutes- bargain!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cornish C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I wouldn't class it as a 4 star hotel more like a 3 star but don't get me wrong the place is lovely, clean and staff are very welcoming and helpful. Our room was rear facing so didn't have much noise from the main road in the front. And we had an nightly show from the local bats flying around...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tonijon
HotelMediterran, Manager at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this review

Dear tonijon, Thank you very much for rating us! We are happy to know that you were satisfied with our service and you spent a lovely time with us. Your feedback about the air conditioning system is very important. At the end of april we had to turn on the heating again due to cold temperature (2-3 celsius) during the...

Maribor, Slovenia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the hotel for 1 night and since it was conveniently located near the location I had to be in the morning I booked it. Indeed it was easy to find right by the highway entrance to Budapest and they also have a garage (10EUR/day) which is also nice. I was surprised to see clutter in one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ALiEN2108
HotelMediterran, General Manager at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this review

Dear ALiEN2018, We are sorry to read that you had such a bad experience. We care for our guests and their feedback is really important to us, so we appreciate that you made us aware of some aspects of our hotel that can be disturbing. What we can say is that we constantly working on providing a better service ....

Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Not quite a four star hotel in terms of the rooms, lobby and restaurant. The place feels more like a three star in comparison to the four stars, I have been in previously. However I would give 5/5 for the value for money and excellent customer service that was provided at this hotel. Buffet breakfast was quite good and there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex J
HotelMediterran, Manager at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this review

Dear Alex J, Thank you very much for your kind feedback! We are happy to know that you liked staying with us and thank you for recommending us! Many times we mention that we try to offer the best possible price and also provide a great service. From a feedback like yours we can see that we can manage that...

UK
Reviewed 14 April 2017

The concierge (Wolfy) was absolutely outstanding: his manner was always courteous; he welcomed us every time we returned to the hotel and he was a mine of useful information. All staff were helpful and friendly. We had emailed to ask for early access to our room on arrival if possible. The mailed response was warm and polite but, understandably, promised...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hpboap
HotelMediterran, Manager at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this review

Dear hpboap, Thank you for your kind review! Yes, Wolfi is a great receptionist and we are glad to have him in our team. You also mentioned others in our team and we can confidently say that they are doing a wonderful job. Usually we try to accommodate our lovely guests upon arrival, but sometimes when the room is not...

224 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (27)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (117)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)
Viewed
Triple Room (27)
Viewed
Twin Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
568 reviews
Hotel Pension Helios
#99 of 333 in Budapest
332 reviews
Gellert Hill
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine
#115 of 333 in Budapest
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Inn
#86 of 333 in Budapest
454 reviews
Golden Park Hotel
#234 of 333 in Budapest
1,279 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#90 of 333 in Budapest
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Gellert Hill

Neighbourhood Profile
Gellert Hill
If you want to treat your camera to some amazing scenery, Gellért Hill is a must on your itinerary. A funicular journey from the Chain Bridge along the hillsides provides a fast connection between Buda and Pest, hoisting visitors to panoramic vistas. Once on top of the hill, you’ll find the Citadel dominate the landscape with its imposing 19th century construction, a site that’s hard to keep your eyes on without being distracted by the phenomenal view over the Danube and the eight bridges crossing. Once on Gellért Hill however, one mustn’t miss the famous Gellért Baths. Budapest is renown for its thermal waters and its baths, and the Gellért Baths are housed in an impressive art nouveau structure. Its interior design, with its many mosaics, recalls the preceding relationships the city has had with healing springs and saunas, traditionally used within this neighborhood since the Ottoman Empire.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Mediterran is located in the centre of Buda and provides a real mediterranean atmosphere! The hotel is decorated in a tasteful, modern style and includes all of the amenities that guests have come to expect. You can enjoy the relaxing view on our garden or the Buda Hills through the soundproof windows of the rooms. We take the burden of city parking off your shoulders while you are exploring Budapest's world famous entertainment and tourist districts. The garage provides perfect security for our clients' cars. Drinkbar in the lobby on the ground floor is an intimate and charming meeting point. Our friendly and qualified staff will provide you personal care and extensive information to make your stay pleasant and really convenient! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterran

Address: Budaoersi ut 20 A., Budapest 1118, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Price Range: ₹ 2,603 - ₹ 11,859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterran 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Mediterran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterran Hotel Budapest
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Budapest
#62 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Mediterran staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mediterran staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Elevator is only to 4th floor I had room on 5th and it was good for me.”
AniaKozik, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms looking into main road if you like to sleep.”
ALiEN2108, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the hotel will be quieter as there is a main road at the front.”
Rawham, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had the front facing room on the third floor. Check the room and be happy on arrival.”
Frankie0_1_11, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Would definitley suggest a room at the back of the hotel, if bothered by traffic noise”
  • hotel front
bullysu, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 103* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$ 102
Booking.comUS$ 105
Expedia.comUS$ 102
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates