We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Hungaria City Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Hungaria City Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,497 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hungaria City Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 724: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

The hotel is ok.. Old renovated building..service is ok..minibar was complimentary.. Breakfast was good.. Location is not very good.. A little shady at night.. But yes, the tariff isn't very high..so don't expect a five star accommodation..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abhinav P
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear Abhinav P! It is really kind of you that you shared all your thoughts here with the readers of the community! I was really glad as you mentioned that you were satisfied with our service and with the breakfast but on the other hand I was disappointed as you mentioned that you did not enjoy our location. We sincerely...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

This hotel was allocated as part of a three city tour and was the second city. The hotel is horrible, endless sepia dark corridors leading to the 1950s style rooms again drab and dark. Desperately in need of an update and decoration. Breakfast was what I can only describe as what I imagine a refugee camp food area to be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ann O
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear Ann O, Since we welcome every guest feedback and take every opinion very seriously, we are thankful that you shared your thoughts and experience with us regarding your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria. It is really hard to express how disappointed we are as we read through these lines. It is also very surprising that a city...

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Disappointing breakfast, try to avoid it, there are many places around where you can eat. The hotel was nice, but is near a big boulevard where every morning around 5 ambulances were passing by. Unable to do late check out

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear Alex F! Thank you so much for sharing all your thoughts and your honest opinion here with us and with the readers of the community. I strongly regret that you were not satisfied with our breakfast and that the ambulances influenced your stay a bit negatively. We are really sorry and can only hope that you will give as...

Beer Sheva
Reviewed 24 August 2015

We had a wonderful stay, the best clerks and service we could ask for! They helped us with everything we asked for, including adding a baby crib and finding us tickets for attractions. We enjoyed our stay very much!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank estisa2015
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear estisa2015! How kind of you that you shared such a lovely review here! First of all we would like to thank you that you choose us and that you wrote all your experiences here. As you highlighted our service ensured us that we are on the right way. The whole team would be pleased to hear that they could...

Bangalore
Reviewed 22 August 2015

The rooms are ok, breakfast ok but the problem is front desk. They don't guide the tourists properly, very slow checkin. Its better to stay some other hotel. Its away from all sightseeing, river. Its in Pest area, looks like in city centre but not actual city centre

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neete G
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear Neete G! First we would like to thank you that you spent time to share all your thoughts with us! We are really sorry that this time we could not meet your expectations and would like to offer our most sincere apologies because of the inconvenience you may suffer at us. Our dear staff is always doing their best...

Chicago, United States
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Basic hotel. Unlike the usual Best Westerns in the US, it offers no complimentary breakfast. The rooms are a bit outdated. The rooms were poorly insulated, we could hear everything outside as if we had no windows. Or so it seemed. The TV was a clunky, bulky CRT monitor, small. There was no alarm clock. The rooms and bathrooms were...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear Sophie B, Let us express our appreciation for choosing our hotel as well as taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are glad that all in all you were ok with your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria, however, it makes us disappointed to see we could not satisfy you in every aspect. Being centrally located...

Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

This is a huge hotel with more that 450 rooms, restaurants, shops, etc. Perfect location if you arrive by train to Keleti train station (the main station), but a bit outside the very heart of Budapest. The best things about the hotel are the comfy beds. Thumbs up also for the free wifi that works very good. The breakfast wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear Dan O, Allow us to express our heartfelt gratitude for choosing our hotel and for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. It is good to see you found the location perfect. The hotel’s position is one of our biggest strengths as we are situated on a main road that leads directly to the city center. Thousands of possibilities can be found...

Prague
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Hotel has a really great location and very friendly and helpful Staff. I really appreciate the room's tidiness, and well working air-conditioning (I was in Budapest during the fry-pan-temperature: it was about 40 Deg) Breakfast was ok- but here the hint- the earlier You go, the better. Food is disappearing quickly :) the bed was very comfortable! Many Thank, I...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ewelina Ś
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear Ewelina S, What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for sharing it with us and letting other readers know about our hotel. It seems to us that your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria was truly a pleasant experience. We are more than glad to know you visit was so enjoyable that you would return to us...

Belgrade
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Everything is OK, except the cleanliness of room. Dust everywhere, you could write on furniture with it. It would not be a problem, that we didn't have to wait until 14:30 to "prepare" our room. Food was OK, location is great, even it's by Keleti train station, it's were quietly

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gerblute
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear gerblute! Thank you so much that you choose us and spent time to share all your kind thoughts here. I was totally pleased as you mentioned that you were satisfied with us nearly in all aspects. Many thanks that you highlighted our dishes and our location. It is our hope that thanks to it you could discover all the...

Riedstadt
Reviewed 17 August 2015

old hotel it hardly needs some renovation. The service is horrible. Some of the staff still think that a guest is only distrurbing their life and a guest is anoying. I did not feel comfortable in this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank schulenburgs
DH_Quality_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review

Dear schulenburgs! First let us thank you that you shared all your thoughts here with us and with the readers of the community. I strongly regret that you were not satisfied with our service. Our staff is always doing their best so this is not the true reflection of our services we are proud of. Please forgive us. Our dear...

771 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (332)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (120)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (438)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Junior Suite (56)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (47)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (59)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (64)
Viewed
Suite (83)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Danubius Hotel Arena
#129 of 342 in Budapest
868 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#117 of 342 in Budapest
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Park Hotel
#239 of 342 in Budapest
1,229 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#60 of 342 in Budapest
239 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#79 of 342 in Budapest
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District VII / Jewish Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
District VII / Jewish Quarter
District VII is the very heart of Budapest and houses the city’s Jewish Quarter. Its streets are lively and colorful, its buildings narrate different histories in an assortment of architectural styles, and its cafes and bars are frequented and loved by the enthusiastic crowds. Grand and magnificent, the striking star of the district is the Great Synagogue, the largest in Europe and one of the biggest in the world. Distinctly Moorish in style, crowned by the twin onion shaped domes, the Synagogue is the very emblem of District VII and one of the main attractions in the capital.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Hungaria City Center – with an illustrious history stretching beyond 100 years – is renowned for the high standard of its services and its excellent location. The hotel is an ideal base both for tourists and business visitors, with Budapest’s main attractions within easy reach on the M2 and M4 metro lines or by bus from just outside the hotel, and Keleti train station just a few minutes’ walk away. With large and flexible meeting rooms, it is a popular conference venue, and regularly hosts events for up to several hundred guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Hungaria City Center

Address: Rakoczi ut 90, Budapest 1074, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Price Range: ₹ 3,461 - ₹ 21,897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hungaria City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Hungaria City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hungaria
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Hungaria City Center staff and other travellers.
37 questions
Ask a question
Scotland
over a year ago
Kildwick, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hungaria City Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“City View Rooms”
 of 5 bubbles KunalP833, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Spacious front facing room”
 of 5 bubbles 320jaynek, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No magic, reserve at the right moment, you might have very good deals.”
 of 5 bubbles 8340, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't ever accept room at floor no. 5 because there is no lift for that floor, you have to go to floor 4 then the steps to 5 :D”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Seriously consider staying here”
 of 5 bubbles davej480, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5