We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 159: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Credit where credits due, the Marco Polo was warm and dry and appeared secure (you're made to leave your key at reception every time you leave, presumably so if you are mugged the building isn't at risk). But our overall experience was disappointing. The front desk staff, who the Marco Polo claim are able to book a variety of activities,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
Mellow M, Vezető at Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel, responded to this review

Dear Chris G, First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our hostel on your recent visit to Budapest, and for expressing your opinion on a public forum. Your feedback is very important for us. I was very sad that you were disappointed with your stay with us and that you did not feel...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights (30th Dec - 2nd Jan), we found it to be a perfect base to explore Budapest. We had a private room with a private bathroom, the room was clean, comfortable and very warm. The shower was a little basic, however the water was hot and it had a lot of power...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beth p
Mellow M, Vezető at Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel, responded to this review

Dear Beth P, It is so kind of you to take your valuable time to share this lovely feedback with us and with the TripAdvisor community! I am extremely glad you had such a great time at Marco Polo Top Hostel overall. The Front Desk and the Housekeeping teams will be very proud to hear about your good experience of...

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here. The layout of my dorm ensures that you keep the disruption to a minimum. Each room has its own toilets and showers. Breakfast was included with how much I paid and was therefore good value for money. It is a good location as there are quite a few bars and restaurants nearby. The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abdul k
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 2 December 2016

I've been in Budapest last year in June. My experience at Marco Polo Hostel was a great one. It was for the first time I decided to make a reservation at a hostel and I didn't expected so much. But honestly I was surprised when I saw the hostel and obviously the room. Nice, clean and more spacious that I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LorenaFelicia
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 10 November 2016

This hostel is really clean and stuff is extremely helpful. Unfortunately , there is no common room to chill out and meet new people. But if one is not in the mood for parties this place is really quiet to sleep

Review collected in partnership with Wizz Tours
 Report
Helpful?
Thank phritta
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

I can recommed this hostel to everyone. I was with my friends in this hostel in November 2016. Nice hostel staff, possibility to borrow a hairdryer and buy tickets for breakfast. Clean bathrooms and good location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandi W
Kaliningrad, Russia
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Rooms are clean, hostel is pretty close to metro station, and not far from supermarket Spar. Staff is also very helpful and cool! Bathroom is also OK. There are a lot of different cafés and restaurants nearby.

Review collected in partnership with Wizz Tours
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evgeniya N
Beijing, China
Reviewed 4 October 2016

The rooms were spacious and clean, the location was amazing and had all the amenities you would expect from a decent hostel. I would have to say that the guy who worked in reception was great; both knowledgeable, friendly and really added to making our stay enjoyable. I think his name was David (dude with a bandana). Check the hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

I guess everything goes well until a small problem ensues. Then you see how people really are: like the staff at the hostel. Be careful of your belongings and mind the cleaners, they do steal things from travellers. The hostel is dirtier than average and has no working WiFi in the rooms. There is no kitchen, but you can purchase...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foshwrites
Karlsruhe, Germany
Reviewed 22 September 2016

The service was pretty decent, we could arrive to check-in at any time and the staff is nice and kind. The price is adequate for what you get. Nice location with metro station near enough (Astoria). Sadly enough during our time there the internet service broke down, and took too long for them to fix it. Not a big deal,...

Review collected in partnership with Wizz Tours
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahtly89

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Casa De La Musica Hostel
#42 of 640 in Budapest
260 reviews
Gellert Hill
Bara Junior Hotel
Bara Junior Hotel
#449 of 640 in Budapest
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Full Moon Design Hostel Budapest
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#8 of 640 in Budapest
638 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#6 of 640 in Budapest
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District VII / Jewish Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
District VII / Jewish Quarter
District VII is the very heart of Budapest and houses the city’s Jewish Quarter. Its streets are lively and colorful, its buildings narrate different histories in an assortment of architectural styles, and its cafes and bars are frequented and loved by the enthusiastic crowds. Grand and magnificent, the striking star of the district is the Great Synagogue, the largest in Europe and one of the biggest in the world. Distinctly Moorish in style, crowned by the twin onion shaped domes, the Synagogue is the very emblem of District VII and one of the main attractions in the capital.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel in downtown Budapest, is open all year round. Located in the heart of the city, offering the services of a 2 star hotel with its en-suite double TWIN rooms and providing organised and tidy 12-bedded dormitory rooms.Marco Polo’s excellent city centre location provides great access to public transport. Famous Budapest sights and great nightspots are also nearby. Our twin and quad rooms are bright and comfortable and have telephone and TV, plus en-suite bathrooms.As for our dormitories, we’ve yet to find another anywhere that even comes close. Each 12-bedded room is divided into 2-bunk areas with their own lockers. Each dorm is next to HAS a dedicated bathroom with two sinks, showers and WC's. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel

Address: Nyar utca 6, Budapest 1072, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Price Range: ₹ 800 - ₹ 3,638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get the dorms”
 of 5 bubbles Rachelbabe, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not beside people being chased by gangs”
 of 5 bubbles fergusonsasha, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have more heat...”
 of 5 bubbles Jonathan_sss, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Lower floors are best in summer, top ones are too hot!”
 of 5 bubbles Pixbon, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I stayed on 4th floor and room was very quiet.”
  • Bottom bunk
  • 12 dorm
 of 5 bubbles jacarmy, 8 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay